Customer Reviews for

The Gold Coast (John Sutter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Gold Coast

Start with a witty, cynical attorney, if you can imagine such a person. Add his saucy, sultry wife. Mix in a generous helping of organized crime chieftan, sex, and murder, place on a hot flame, stir not so gently, and there you have it. The perfect recipe for a great...
Start with a witty, cynical attorney, if you can imagine such a person. Add his saucy, sultry wife. Mix in a generous helping of organized crime chieftan, sex, and murder, place on a hot flame, stir not so gently, and there you have it. The perfect recipe for a great book: master fiction writer Nelson DeMille's seminal work, "The Gold Coast." The tragic confluence of these ingredients might well have been dubbed "the perfect storm." But that more literal title was saved for a different book written years later by a different author. DeMille weaves a gripping tale with equal measures of humor, titillation, and dramatic tension in his captivating "page turner" style. From the story's early moments describing John and Susan Sutter "horsing around" in both the equine and physical sense, you won't want to put it down. Then, when you are finished and put it down you must, pick up DeMille's 2008 sequel written 18 years later in real time, and ten years later in story time. If you loved their first encounter, you will enjoy the twists and turns of John and Susan Sutter's tumultuous reunion with one another, and with the crime chieftan's kin, back on Long Island's Gold Coast in "The Gate House."

posted by DeeBookReviewer on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I won't read the sequel

I'm 200 pages in and still waiting for the story to start. The first 100+ pages are not a story. I feel like this is more of a history book with a few pages of titilation and story teasers thrown in. The way it is written I don't find the history interesting because ...
I'm 200 pages in and still waiting for the story to start. The first 100+ pages are not a story. I feel like this is more of a history book with a few pages of titilation and story teasers thrown in. The way it is written I don't find the history interesting because he just keep veering off in the middle of a story sequence to tell about something and it's irritatingly repetitive. I get the family dynamic already it doesn't need to be mentioned over and over again. The history isn't what I thought it was supposed to be about. If you say the word "Anyway" more that 22+ times in the first 60 pages it's because there is a constant need to get back to the story that was being told. It's very hard to get into the characters or the story with constant interuptions and a very slow progression.

posted by Stormylee on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    The Gold Coast

    Start with a witty, cynical attorney, if you can imagine such a person. Add his saucy, sultry wife. Mix in a generous helping of organized crime chieftan, sex, and murder, place on a hot flame, stir not so gently, and there you have it. The perfect recipe for a great book: master fiction writer Nelson DeMille's seminal work, "The Gold Coast." The tragic confluence of these ingredients might well have been dubbed "the perfect storm." But that more literal title was saved for a different book written years later by a different author. DeMille weaves a gripping tale with equal measures of humor, titillation, and dramatic tension in his captivating "page turner" style. From the story's early moments describing John and Susan Sutter "horsing around" in both the equine and physical sense, you won't want to put it down. Then, when you are finished and put it down you must, pick up DeMille's 2008 sequel written 18 years later in real time, and ten years later in story time. If you loved their first encounter, you will enjoy the twists and turns of John and Susan Sutter's tumultuous reunion with one another, and with the crime chieftan's kin, back on Long Island's Gold Coast in "The Gate House."

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite book of all time

    This is my favorite book of all time. I read it about 2 years ago and have read it agian since. John Sutter (like John Corey) is another DeMille protagonist that you can easily develop a "literary-crush" on.
    The story starts out very slow going through the history of the gold coast. if you can get through that, it is the most amazing story. If you read this, you must follow up with the sequel "The Gate House." It is not at all slow paced like The Gold Coast. It grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. I'm just hoping for a trilogy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DeMille's best

    I'm certain that many people agree - although *every* DeMille book is completely enjoyable and hard to put down - this is by far his best written. The characters are well drawn, letting you identify, love or hate them. Though I rarely laugh out loud while reading books, I did so often while reading this one. I love DeMille's sense of humor!
    I've read this book twice and will likely do so again in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great Literature

    John Sutter and his Mafia neighbor are FANTASTIC characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I won't read the sequel

    I'm 200 pages in and still waiting for the story to start. The first 100+ pages are not a story. I feel like this is more of a history book with a few pages of titilation and story teasers thrown in. The way it is written I don't find the history interesting because he just keep veering off in the middle of a story sequence to tell about something and it's irritatingly repetitive. I get the family dynamic already it doesn't need to be mentioned over and over again. The history isn't what I thought it was supposed to be about. If you say the word "Anyway" more that 22+ times in the first 60 pages it's because there is a constant need to get back to the story that was being told. It's very hard to get into the characters or the story with constant interuptions and a very slow progression.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Great mental imagery

    I read this after reading THE GATE HOUSE which was given to me. Even though I knew the ending and basic story before I picked up the book I did make a goal-oriented trip for purchase. The writing style creates a clear imagery of our country's rich, famous, and infamous. The attitudes, behaviors, perceptions and even the isolation of the rich is believable. Not being rich or famous, I have to assume the portraits are realistic and objective. I loved this book but definitely recommend reading GOLD COAST first. THE GATE HOUSE picks up where the GOLD COAST ended obviously. When reading THE GATE HOUSE the writing style (first person silent thoughts, etc.)was a distraction: a bit wordy and ardurous. (After acceptance of the writing style, it was smooth sailing!) GOLD COAST absolutely required this writing style and would be a "comfortable" fit in THE GATE HOUSE if the books were read in order. Read both books in correct order. I'm on my way for another DeMille book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Probably DeMille's Best Book

    The Gold Coast is an awesome read. Nelson DeMille is indisputably a fantatic writer whose books grab the reader and just won't let go, but this might be his very best. You won't want to put it down once you start reading, and you'll wish there was more when you finish. Lucky you - he just wrote a sequal, nearly 20 years after the publication of The Gold Coast - entitled The Gate House. <BR/><BR/>Read everything by DeMille - he's great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Jaysoar

    It is alright. My character is ready though. Wolfheart! Wolfheart!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Outstanding! TM November 23, 2012

    Once again Nelson DeMille has devoloped characters so real and unique you will miss them when you conclude your reading. You will be transported to a time and a place that is the perfect backdrop for the drama so wonderfully revealed. From the country club to little Italty to the ruins of forelorn estates you will be saddened when it all ends. People will be reading this book 100 years from now!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    One of my favorite DeMille books

    This book is certainly different from some of the Author's other work, but definitely one of my favorite books. I regularly re-read this book and its sequel, "The Gate House."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great book

    At first it was a little slow too discriptive for me; I wanted to read about the mafia don and mr. John sutter and wife Susan, but it got there and i found i could not put it down.
    The interaction between the don and mr. Sutter and susan kept you turning page after page until you realized you were almost finished.(
    I would highly recommend this book .
    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A book that is worth buying in hardback for rereading. Well wri

    A book that is worth buying in hardback for rereading. Well written, memorable characters, great storyline. While I love all DeMille's books, Gold Coast and Up Country are standouts, worth reading and rereading. He sets the standard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    A new favorite for me!

    This was my first Nelson DeMille book and I'm hooked!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious

    One of DeMille's best as sets up a clash of cultures on Long Island Gold <BR/>Coast. His most humorous of all as he places a Mafioso as a newcomer next door to an WASP upper crust lawyer in this wealty enclave - hilarity ensues!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Excellent read!

    I fell in love with this story and the characters. I couldn't put it down wanting to find what happened next. The characters were well developed and complex, the scenery well placed. I highly recommend this book, well worth the cost and time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Enjoyed but a little slow at times!

    This book was more dialog than action but I enjoyed Heroin John Sutter's witty thoughts and remarks. He was funny, thoughtful, courageous and certainly didn't go along with the "crowd." In fact most of the time he went against the flow...It is amazing that DeMille could write a book with 500+ pages and keep my interest, but he accomplished just that. Charm School is still my favorite, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    HUNTING AND PATROLING

    GOLDCLAN ONLY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Highly Recomend

    I have read several of Nelson DeMille's book, and always enjoy them, in fact I have a hard time putting them down once I start one. So I went back the first John Sutter Series and caught up on what his story line was. It was very interesting and I learned in part why he hates Ted Nash so much. It's an oldy, but a goody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Willowsong

    The best!a new chapter of my story comes out soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Love love love this series!!!

    I came across the 2nd book by accident but fell in love so now I am reading the series in order!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9