Customer Reviews for

The Gold Coast (John Sutter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Gold Coast

Start with a witty, cynical attorney, if you can imagine such a person. Add his saucy, sultry wife. Mix in a generous helping of organized crime chieftan, sex, and murder, place on a hot flame, stir not so gently, and there you have it. The perfect recipe for a great...
Start with a witty, cynical attorney, if you can imagine such a person. Add his saucy, sultry wife. Mix in a generous helping of organized crime chieftan, sex, and murder, place on a hot flame, stir not so gently, and there you have it. The perfect recipe for a great book: master fiction writer Nelson DeMille's seminal work, "The Gold Coast." The tragic confluence of these ingredients might well have been dubbed "the perfect storm." But that more literal title was saved for a different book written years later by a different author. DeMille weaves a gripping tale with equal measures of humor, titillation, and dramatic tension in his captivating "page turner" style. From the story's early moments describing John and Susan Sutter "horsing around" in both the equine and physical sense, you won't want to put it down. Then, when you are finished and put it down you must, pick up DeMille's 2008 sequel written 18 years later in real time, and ten years later in story time. If you loved their first encounter, you will enjoy the twists and turns of John and Susan Sutter's tumultuous reunion with one another, and with the crime chieftan's kin, back on Long Island's Gold Coast in "The Gate House."

posted by DeeBookReviewer on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I won't read the sequel

I'm 200 pages in and still waiting for the story to start. The first 100+ pages are not a story. I feel like this is more of a history book with a few pages of titilation and story teasers thrown in. The way it is written I don't find the history interesting because ...
I'm 200 pages in and still waiting for the story to start. The first 100+ pages are not a story. I feel like this is more of a history book with a few pages of titilation and story teasers thrown in. The way it is written I don't find the history interesting because he just keep veering off in the middle of a story sequence to tell about something and it's irritatingly repetitive. I get the family dynamic already it doesn't need to be mentioned over and over again. The history isn't what I thought it was supposed to be about. If you say the word "Anyway" more that 22+ times in the first 60 pages it's because there is a constant need to get back to the story that was being told. It's very hard to get into the characters or the story with constant interuptions and a very slow progression.

posted by Stormylee on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great book by an Amazing Writer

    Love this book. Have read every Demille book. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Really good book

    Once again DeMille comes through in spades! This book was so funny, his tongue-in-cheek humor just makes me laugh out loud in many places. While stuck in northbound traffic on I-95 in Georgia after Christmas, I started reading the book out loud in the car. Everyone else was laughing too. It is about a Mafia boss and his blueblood lawyer next-door neighbor, and the relationship that develops between the two men and their wives. I'm ready now to read the follow-up The Gate House. Maybe I'll go get it today...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Waiting

    Always among the most intellectual and introspective of 'who done it's' author's. Just started reading him last yr and now just waiting for his next. Bought one then went back and bought all the rest and that was the first month.

    Type faster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Another world

    Love his writing style, very engaging, characters are believable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    A Book Worth Re-Reading

    When I ordered this book, it was so that I could re-read it before reading the new one, "The Gate House". And it is well worth it. This book really has all the elements of a great American story. And the writing is superb. Nelson DeMille tells a story like no one else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Still waiting for the Sequel to The Lion's Game

    I actually thought this was the sequel.... I agree with everything Dr.B. Shenk wrote. There is no other author, I await so pantingly for the book to arrive, as Nelson De Mille, but please ...sequel to The Lion's Game has left me gasping..what's next??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Provacative must read for bookclubs

    Some books are a great read...you finish them and you move on. Not this one....you finish this one and you will be compelled to reread parts like a jury reexamining evidence after a trial because the characters' behavior are open to interpretation. The genius of DeMille is that while he paints vivid pictures of the Sutters and the Bellarosas he leaves enough to the imagination to make you wonder....is this reality and yet you know you have lived or observed this if your from the Gold Coast. In the other Demille books you may love the story but you know you could never be one of the characters. In this book you know you could be or better still you are. As a Vietnam Vet and as a resident who lived on the Gold Coast of Long Island I have again met some of my patients who were in fact these characters but with Demille's verbal paint brush, his genius for a story line and his outrageous sense of humor. This is the book that makes my meeting of Nelson DeMille in person a must....Dr Bertrand Schenk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Funny as hell!

    A great read. I loved the characters. Susan was a big flirt and she kinda turned me on... Whew! Way to go Nelson. Love your writnig style. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Best of DeMille

    I've read most of Demille's books, and this is my very favorite by far. I laughed until my sides hurt. What a main character! Kept me guessing. I'd like to read more books as interesting and funny as this one was. Makes you wonder how he can work humor into this type of theme. He's the master. Wish I could give this book 12 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    An Avid Reader

    I read lots of books (and lots of different kinds of books) and this book is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES. Great story, great characters and the humor of the main character will have you laughing out loud. Wish DeMille would write more of this type of book instead of his usual espionage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    The Gold Coast merits 6 stars!

    As a long-time fan of Nelson de Mille, I am no doubt more than a little biased. That said, I believe this to be about as fine a novel as I have ever read. I don't care if you're a fan of Huxley, Harding or Hemingway. If you even remotely enjoy reading fiction - READ THIS BOOK! It's honesty, humanity and wit will capture you from the opening pages. Nelson hit a home run of Ruthian proportions with this one! A daunting achievement. My only regret is having lent out my hardcover copy. I'm having a devil of a time replacing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Great story!!

    I went on to read several more of DeMille's books after reading this one. Although they are all very good- this one is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    G8 BK

    My mother kept telling me I had to read this one. She was right. Now my husband cannot put it down. It is defintely one I will recommend to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Witty and sublime

    The wit and humor of De Mille's protagonist, John Sutter, utterly seduces the reader, just as the protagonist is seduced by the mafia king, Frank Bellarosa. You won't be able to put this book down. The characters are so interesting and complete. I will never give this book away because I loved it that much! I was sad to have the book end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Old Money - Mafia Mix

    This was an excellent story mixing the benefits of and downsides to the notion of what old money brings to a relationship. An interesting twist evolves with a Mafia don moving in next door and the FBI investigations that are inherent to that lifestyle. Excellent reading . . .I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    One Of The Best Books I've Ever Read!

    I had never read Nelson DeMille before The Gold Coast. From the first page I couldn't put it down - - the character development and intelligent humor are among the best I've ever read. I laughed out loud and didn't want the book to end. As soon as I finished, I went out and bought other Nelson DeMille books. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5