Customer Reviews for

Gold of Kings

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    HISTORY COMES TO LIFE IN A THRILLER!!

    GOLD OF KINGS by Davis Bunn is an historical treasure hunt thriller. Gold and treasures from the Second temple in Jerusalem are the center of the hunt. A threesome of a bereaved daughter who was given information about a treasure from her recently deceased grandfather; a treasure hunter who was mysteriously released from a Barbados prison where he was imprisoned without cause; and a US Treasure and Interpol Agent travel in search of answers and the treasure. The treasure hunt centers around the Copper Scroll in Quran as told about by the ancient Jewish Historian, Josephus, and treasures that had been in the Second Temple.

    The history of the Jews, the first Christian Jews, and the Romans in the first few centuries AD is fascinating. The interaction between those in search of the treasure keeps changing and makes the reader want to be in the action - faster and faster. There are twists and turns between those who honestly want to find historical artifacts and those who just want to get rich quick.

    This book is for all readers who enjoy a great fast passed adventure. My only complaint is that is the first in a trilogy and I want to read parts two and three NOW!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    A must read

    Another excellent book from Davis Bunn. The research and delivery with a few chuckles thrown in with a dump truck made a perfect read. Well done Mr. Dunn, you did it again. Keep up the wonderful writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this captivating treasure hunt novel, Davis Bunn causes reade

    In this captivating treasure hunt novel, Davis Bunn causes readers to consider priorities, legacy, and loyalty. Bunn's writing is refreshing and restrained. While reading Gold of Kings, I often paused to consider artful structure, masterful phrases, and strong word choice. Both scenes and characters are vivid and memorable, and the story is not overly emotional, dramatic, or cliche. I also appreciated the characters' imperfections and the novel's ending, which was satisfying yet not too tidy. 

    I recommend Gold of Kings to readers searching for a fresh, mature, fast-paced novel written by a Christian who tastefully communicates important themes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is an excellent book. Great thriller. Love the team of Harry Bennett and Emma Webb. Started reading and could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Would recommend

    Good read, ending was a bit predictable but overall well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    Good Book!

    I really liked this book. It wasn't an 'edge of your seat' book but it was very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I would recommend for anyone who likes treasure hunting tales. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure and Treasure

    Now this was a fun book! "Gold of Kings" is quite adventurous and easily can be visualized as an action film much like National Treasure or the Da Vinci Code films in theory. The reading of this book gives off a similar vibe to Matt Bronleewe's August Adams series, although it is not quite as cool in my opinion as I just loved those books, but really like this one.



    There are really three main characters that you are following through out the book in their physical, mental, and spiritual battles. The adventure is laid out for the reader to enjoy right along with the characters. The only flaw points that draw me back are the parts where a character figures something out, but it is hidden from the reader. That makes me feel like an outsider, and I love the stories that are as if you are right along side them, and not viewing from a window, you know?



    One of the best parts about this book are the historical facts and images that are brought to life and explained through out. As the characters are learning some historical pieces of the puzzle the explanations are given to the reader as well in an intriguing manner. Maybe it is because I have a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies and this is just my thing, but over all I was thoroughly impressed and plan to look for more titles like this from Davis Bunn in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Thriller sends readers on global quest for treasure

    Gold of Kings by Davis Bunn is a fast-paced suspenseful thriller about the quest for an ancient treasure. Storm Syrrell's world has fallen apart. Her grandfather Sean fired her from the family business of selling rare and high priced pieces of art just before dying of a heart attack. To make things worse, she's not even mentioned in the will. Harry Bennett has spent the last three years of his life wasting away in a jail cell in Barbados for a crime he didn't commit. Sean's actions in his last days will bring them together, along with federal agent Emma Webb on a search for treasures from the Second Temple in Jerusalem that sends that traveling across the globe and fighting for their very lives. In the growing genre of treasure hunting books, Gold of Kings is unique in its various subplots of family betrayal and international money laundering. Harry and Emma are a interesting, romantic couple who seem to have too many differences to ever overcome their chemistry, and Storm is the emotional touchstone of the book with her grief over Sean's death and her struggle to understand his life. There's a lot of suspense, double-crosses, and treasure, and it would make a fantastic movie. My one quibble with the book, is that I never felt emotionally connected with the characters. I didn't feel Storm's grief or the romantic sparks between Emma and Harry. Even the nail-biting scenes were a bit removed. I'm not sure why I didn't connect with this book, but if Bunn writes a sequel (as the ending seems to imply), I'll definitely check it out to give the characters who have so much potential another chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy joining the global treasure hunt for the Temple's gold.

    In Palm Beach Sean Syrrell owner of Syrrell's Galleries knows that killers are after him; this is why he suddenly fires his beloved granddaughter Storm. He proves right the hard way when someone snuck into his basement of Steinway's and sprayed him with a toxin that killed him. Shortly after his death, events he anticipated and planned for resulted in the release from a Barbados prison of treasure hunter Harry Bennett. His instructions include protecting Storm, who has found some interesting odd items in her grandfather's safe deposit box. Combined with what Harry knows, they conclude Sean has sent them treasure clues from the grave. -------------

    When ancient Jewish historian Josephus' Copper Scroll of Qumron is found in Israel; it includes a list of Temple treasures not previously seen on Titus' Roman arch. They are joined by US Treasury agent and INTERPOL agent Emma Webb on a quest to find the GOLD OF KINGS even as governments, religious groups, and others try to prevent their success any way they can including assassination if need be.-----------

    GOLD OF KINGS is a seat of your pants thriller mindful of Indiana Jones; filled with false leads and non stop action, readers will enjoy the escapades of the lead trio as survival is not enough any longer with each having a touch of biblical gold fever. Since the threesome quickly learns friends prove false, they trust no one except the "guiding" spirit of Sean who each feels is with them somehow as everyone else has an agenda. That agenda is a key ingredient to the plot with some wanting to claim the treasure and others wanting it destroyed before it becomes publicly known. Fans will enjoy joining the global treasure hunt for the Temple's gold.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2