Customer Reviews for

Golden Buddha (Oregon Files Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book

You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in ...
You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in subsquent books (just like tv series'). So don't trash a good author over one book, when almost everything he's written has been a great success. Judging by some of the posts below, you morons wouldn't know a good book if it danced in front of you naked.

posted by 10667593 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Some of the other Oregon Stories are much better

We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the ...
We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the other books.

posted by 1647102 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Book

    You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in subsquent books (just like tv series'). So don't trash a good author over one book, when almost everything he's written has been a great success. Judging by some of the posts below, you morons wouldn't know a good book if it danced in front of you naked.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of the other Oregon Stories are much better

    We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the other books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    U idiots

    Yes i agree with revewer #8. ALL THE BOOKS ARE GOOD. But for some reason people are draw towards crappy books like the twilight series. Now i dont read to often ( but i read a hole though good books) but if it says its a good book and it had some big fancy newspaper on the cover. I SAY IT IS GOOD ENOUGH TO TRY IT!!!! Good books reqire fine tuning. Take dirk pitt for example . He slaped a lady in the first book. But he has improved to the point were he has a wife and enough sense to protect her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I liked it

    I personally liked it it was ia bit hard to keep up with all the charcter names and who they were but it was a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly recommend it.

    It is my first Oregon, I am very happy to have chosen the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Not one of Cussler's Best

    I have read Every Dirk Pitt book, and was hesitant about the new Kurt Austin, but was more drawn to him in his first book, than to Juan in Golden Buddha. There is no tie to the main character no wonder what will happen next, nor have any desire to read the next page. I wonder if I'll even get the next one in the series of Juan. I would try this at the library before purchasing, no intricate plot to wonder how things were achieved, and the chapters are short, but notu enough to make the book go fast.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    No, it ain't Dirk Pitt, or even Kurt Austin, but......

    After reading all the poor reviews I decided to try to give this a fair and unbiased reading - hell, if Cussler can't write a great adventure story, who can. On the minus side is that there is not, as in his other novels, one manly man central hero. The crew of an entire ship is the 'hero'. Most people don't like this, they like to have one central character to identify with - sort of like having your Alice in your Wonderland. Also, in suddenly introducing a large cast of characters it can be hard to keep track of all the players - to deal with this the authors have included a cast of characters at the beginning of the book, something usually only done in the most mind-numbing of British murder mysteries. On the plus side is the simple fact that this may be the most complex switcheroo of a plot I have ever read. The plot is so complex it actually seems to mutate while you read it. You can say many things about this book, but not that it has a boring plot. I think that as readers get used to this new story format it will be come more accepted. I will certainly buy the next 'Oregon File' story - I have got to see how anyone can top this story for sheer mad inventiveness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    GREAT NEW SERIES FOR CUSSLER FANS

    I loved this book! If you like an intricate, well-developed plot and a fast pace, this is the book for you! The use of a set time frame for completion of the mission is very effective in creating the tension necessary to make this a page turner. There is a large cast of characters that only enhance the plot twists. There is a handy list of characters at the front of the book, although I rarely found it necessary to refer to it. The technology and gadgets are fabulous. As a long time Clive Cussler fan, I found this book to be welcome change from the Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin series. Cussler fans will not be disappointed! In fact, this new series takes the Cussler fanchise to a new level. Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin, can you keep up???? I eagerly await the next installment in this new series. Fasten your seat belt and settle in for a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    EXCELLENT - MANY, MANY MORE PLEASE!

    I first discovered Juan Cabrillo and The Oregon in one of the Dirk Pitt books. It was a short encouter that left a BIG impression on me. I am ECSTATIC that they have their own series! I hope the series has a long, long run!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good overall

    I love Cussler books. This was the first Oregon book i read and it bounced around more than I'm used to. But I really did enjoy it and plan on reading more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    If Cussler wrote it, it's worth the time to read it.

    Love all the different sets of characters. Each character has their own set of life circumstances. Love the plot lines. Love the exploration, treasure, archaeology, etc. involved in Cussler's works. The Oregon files are a little more on the action side and less on the archaeology, but still enough history, treasure hunting, etc. to keep my reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Oustanding

    Very good book. Look out Dirk Pitt fans, another GREAT series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Really, really great!!!

    The Oregon File series is great. They are all nail biters. Once I get started on the books, I can't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Don't waste your time and money on this book

    I find the plot terrible, the characters are without charcter. I agree with the previous reviews. I should have read them before I bought the book. I've read about half of the book, hoping it would come to light. When I realized that I didn't care how it ended, it went into the trash. I have found when a book has a best-seller's name in big letters and then another name indicating the writer, they are usually a waste of time to read.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    What a shame

    When good writers are not even trying anymore! Like many reviewers I've read most of CC's books especially the Dirk Pitt ones. I actually took my wife to see Sahara to introduce her to CC's books, well you can guess how that ended up.. Anyway, the book is simply awful. As many reviewers said the ship and the crew are invincible, and its no match. The author(s) spend more time in details that are simply non-relevant e.g. the Macau sewage system, and less time developing any decent story line e.g. the actual return of the Dalai Lama. Don't waste your time, or money..

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Dirk Pitt where did you go!!!!

    After reading all of the other reviews I will have to say ditto. I've always looked forward to any of Clive Cussler's book with Dirk Pitt. The last one I read 'Black Wind,' with his son Dirk Cussler was right on the mark. The Oregon Files has too many characters and none of them are DIRK PITT OR AL GIORDANO!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    He left out what makes the Pitt books good.

    In retrospect I can see what is wrong, at least for me, with this book - character devopment; first, there are no real central characters for you to get involved with, like Dirk, and second, lacking well-developed characters the book takes a plot driven approach, sort of like the old Fu Manchu stories. It's a clever plot, but still less satisfying than a character-driven story. Clive, if you're going to stick with this series give greater weight to one or two central characters so that we can care about them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Definetly not a Dirk Pitt, but ok nevertheless.

    I enjoyed the cool plots that the main characters in this story design. Even though it's not as good as Cussler's other books, it was still exciting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Interesting

    I have finished reading this book. I have read every book Cussler has published and would not miss any of his book, however, this one was well worth reading it does not measure up to his previous books. I look forward to another one about the Oregon and hopefully it will be some what better. This is a must read for fans of Cussler. It will keep your attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Fun -- but REALLY choppy action/adventure tale...

    As an avid -- make that REALLY avid fan of Clive Cussler, I look forward to his books like a junkie looks forward to his next fix. When I saw 'Golden Buddha' I was absolutely CONVINCED it was going to be spectacular. I had read Craig Dirgo's 'Einstein Papers' and found it to be a fairly fun story, and figured with the guiding hand of Clive, this team just could do NO wrong. I was only partially right. 'Golden Buddha' picks up more rapidly than pretty much anything else in Clive's massive repetoire of adventure tales. Unfortunately I felt as though I came into a movie theater 20 minutes after it had already started. There was little ground-work laid for the reader, other than a quick note at the beginning reminding us where the characters of the Oregon came from, namely Clive's 'Flood Tide' from several years ago. If you haven't read that particular tale, I recommend you do before attempting to tackle 'GB'. You certainly don't HAVE to, but I think it will help. There are quite a few chapters in the story to make it a quick read, but within each chapter is VERY short segments, sometimes just 1 or 2 paragraphs long, which make for reading a very choppy story. Some of the segments just didn't flow all that well, and there ARE quite a few characters to keep track of, and even with a master list of ALL the major characters at the front of the book I found it sometimes difficult to remember who was who. The clever job of stealing the Golden Buddha WAS entertaining, I have to admit...unfortunately the story jumped about sooo often it became a chore to stop reading and then figure out where I was after I picked up the story an hour later, and was a REAL task to do after waiting a whole day before reading again. I have HIGH hopes for the Oregon Files to pick up and be as all-out fun to read as the Kurt Austin NUMA Files tales, but unlike that series which started off with a great story in 'Serpent', 'Golden Buddha' left me a little flat. I STILL enjoyed the story, however. A half-baked Cussler tale is still better than most other authors BEST works, so I would encourage the die-hard fans of Clive to give this a shot, but just be aware of what you are getting into before you begin. Now if you are like me, you couldn't help but notice the obvious similarities between Dirk Pitt & Kurt Austin, right? Well there just ISN'T that kind of cut-and-paste formula story-line in 'Golden Buddha'. The main character of Juan Cabrillo and his Corporation of hired patriotic mercenaries and how the plot is laid out is unlike anything Clive has written before, so because of that alone, I give this more like 3 1/2 stars. All in all, not a bad way to treat yourself to some brain candy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9