Customer Reviews for

Golden Buddha (Oregon Files Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book

You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in ...
You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in subsquent books (just like tv series'). So don't trash a good author over one book, when almost everything he's written has been a great success. Judging by some of the posts below, you morons wouldn't know a good book if it danced in front of you naked.

posted by 10667593 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Some of the other Oregon Stories are much better

We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the ...
We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the other books.

posted by 1647102 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Book

    You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in subsquent books (just like tv series'). So don't trash a good author over one book, when almost everything he's written has been a great success. Judging by some of the posts below, you morons wouldn't know a good book if it danced in front of you naked.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I liked it

    I personally liked it it was ia bit hard to keep up with all the charcter names and who they were but it was a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly recommend it.

    It is my first Oregon, I am very happy to have chosen the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    No, it ain't Dirk Pitt, or even Kurt Austin, but......

    After reading all the poor reviews I decided to try to give this a fair and unbiased reading - hell, if Cussler can't write a great adventure story, who can. On the minus side is that there is not, as in his other novels, one manly man central hero. The crew of an entire ship is the 'hero'. Most people don't like this, they like to have one central character to identify with - sort of like having your Alice in your Wonderland. Also, in suddenly introducing a large cast of characters it can be hard to keep track of all the players - to deal with this the authors have included a cast of characters at the beginning of the book, something usually only done in the most mind-numbing of British murder mysteries. On the plus side is the simple fact that this may be the most complex switcheroo of a plot I have ever read. The plot is so complex it actually seems to mutate while you read it. You can say many things about this book, but not that it has a boring plot. I think that as readers get used to this new story format it will be come more accepted. I will certainly buy the next 'Oregon File' story - I have got to see how anyone can top this story for sheer mad inventiveness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good overall

    I love Cussler books. This was the first Oregon book i read and it bounced around more than I'm used to. But I really did enjoy it and plan on reading more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Oustanding

    Very good book. Look out Dirk Pitt fans, another GREAT series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Interesting

    I have finished reading this book. I have read every book Cussler has published and would not miss any of his book, however, this one was well worth reading it does not measure up to his previous books. I look forward to another one about the Oregon and hopefully it will be some what better. This is a must read for fans of Cussler. It will keep your attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    The Beginning!

    This is the 1st in a wonderful series and it reads at a good pace. And like a lot of CC books it is highly improbable but he weaves a tail that says " Yes this could happen "!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3