Customer Reviews for

Golden Buddha (Oregon Files Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book

You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in ...
You guys do realize this book is the pilot for a new series. How many pilots can you name that were really good? Obviously you've never bothered to read any of the sequels. It usually takes a book or two for an author to fine tune characters that will play a part in subsquent books (just like tv series'). So don't trash a good author over one book, when almost everything he's written has been a great success. Judging by some of the posts below, you morons wouldn't know a good book if it danced in front of you naked.

posted by 10667593 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Some of the other Oregon Stories are much better

We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the ...
We listen to audio books in the car and we loved the 3rd in the Oregon series so we went back to the first one. The reader is not even close to the one who's doing it now and the story line is simplistic. Not worth going back for info on the ship, it's explained in the other books.

posted by 1647102 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    U idiots

    Yes i agree with revewer #8. ALL THE BOOKS ARE GOOD. But for some reason people are draw towards crappy books like the twilight series. Now i dont read to often ( but i read a hole though good books) but if it says its a good book and it had some big fancy newspaper on the cover. I SAY IT IS GOOD ENOUGH TO TRY IT!!!! Good books reqire fine tuning. Take dirk pitt for example . He slaped a lady in the first book. But he has improved to the point were he has a wife and enough sense to protect her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    GREAT NEW SERIES FOR CUSSLER FANS

    I loved this book! If you like an intricate, well-developed plot and a fast pace, this is the book for you! The use of a set time frame for completion of the mission is very effective in creating the tension necessary to make this a page turner. There is a large cast of characters that only enhance the plot twists. There is a handy list of characters at the front of the book, although I rarely found it necessary to refer to it. The technology and gadgets are fabulous. As a long time Clive Cussler fan, I found this book to be welcome change from the Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin series. Cussler fans will not be disappointed! In fact, this new series takes the Cussler fanchise to a new level. Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin, can you keep up???? I eagerly await the next installment in this new series. Fasten your seat belt and settle in for a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    EXCELLENT - MANY, MANY MORE PLEASE!

    I first discovered Juan Cabrillo and The Oregon in one of the Dirk Pitt books. It was a short encouter that left a BIG impression on me. I am ECSTATIC that they have their own series! I hope the series has a long, long run!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    If Cussler wrote it, it's worth the time to read it.

    Love all the different sets of characters. Each character has their own set of life circumstances. Love the plot lines. Love the exploration, treasure, archaeology, etc. involved in Cussler's works. The Oregon files are a little more on the action side and less on the archaeology, but still enough history, treasure hunting, etc. to keep my reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Really, really great!!!

    The Oregon File series is great. They are all nail biters. Once I get started on the books, I can't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Excellent

    It's a great change of pace for Cussler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Entertaining and Fancifull !

    Although I am not a big fiction reader and unaquainted with the Dirk Pitt / Kurt Austin legacy of Clive Cussler, I trusted in the solid reputation of Cussler as I chose some fun reading this past weekend. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED! Thankfully I did not ascribe to some of the non-professional reviews, because when the action occured, (and there was plenty of action) I found myself riveted to the scene awaiting the outcome. In particular, the spiked punch-musically challenged-fog filled extrication of the Golden Buddha from a decadent Good Friday celebration was just wonderful as it unfolded. Surely some where along the line there will be a literary 'copy cat' version of this fictional crime. The ultra high tech 'Oregon', its most capable crew and the international principles behind the mayhem added to the overall mystique. Without doubt, as this series continues to unfold we can look for more capable writing from the team of Cussler and Dirgo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Great book !

    Read it if you like adventure and Good Vs evil a little humor and some he likes her she likes him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Longtail

    Do you like kittypets. Jupiters a kittypet. Kittypets always a kittypet. Too soft not warrior type. Lets not like him like tigerclaw and dustpelt and longtail in the warriors books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Good read, always!

    I have not had any bad reads with Clive Cussler books. Hard to put it down sometimes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Cussler is OUTSTANDING

    Juan Cabrillo way better than dirk pitt.. Please write more on the Oregon Files... Thanks for a GREAT series...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3