Customer Reviews for

The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 966 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(642)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Perhaps one of the finest bits of fantasy i have read

First off, yes this is sold as a young adult novel. It really isnt though. It is actually a novel... young and old alike will like it.

Second... where do i begin in saying how good it is? The world feels fully formed and the writing is breathtakingly good. The characte...
First off, yes this is sold as a young adult novel. It really isnt though. It is actually a novel... young and old alike will like it.

Second... where do i begin in saying how good it is? The world feels fully formed and the writing is breathtakingly good. The character are all well thought out and are multi dimensional. The plot has just the right amount of twists. And the story is incredible.

Yes this book was written as "an atheist response to narnia"... but it goes so far beyond that as to become a fully fledged fantasy classic on its own merits. Give it a read - you will not regret it.

posted by wookietim on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The Golden Compass

The Golden Compass is a tangled web that has many problems that make you feel that this book should not have been a Fantasy book for children, but overall Philip Pullman was able to make a book that is able to shine through the problems that it has.

The Golden Compas...
The Golden Compass is a tangled web that has many problems that make you feel that this book should not have been a Fantasy book for children, but overall Philip Pullman was able to make a book that is able to shine through the problems that it has.

The Golden Compass is about a young girl named Lyra and her Daemon Pan, (daemons are animals that are born with there human and there appearances are judged by the persons personality), but because Lyra is so young, Pan has no full form yet. Lyra is a young brunet haired girl who is content to cause problems for the scholars and servants, Lyra lives in a world were churches and scholars rule most of Europe and every person has a Daemon. I can relate to Lyra because she feels that she does not know her own past. Lyra also has a so called uncle called Lord Asriel (a powerful scholar who Lyra fears and respects) Lord Asriel is a powerful man who has many ties with Jordan college. Lord Asriel daemon is a snow lion, Lyra meets a young women named Mrs. Coutler who is a proud scornful women. Her daemon is a golden monkey who also has a short temper.

The Golden Compass takes place in a parallel Europe, were the countries are controlled by churches and scholars. People in this world all have animals that are called daemons that are a part of them. This is very important! This story centers around Lyra who is very hyper and begins her quest to save her friend Hennery and find the truth.

Unfortunately the author made a mistake with this book that was meant for children. In a later interview Philip Pullman stated that with this book he had killed God, and claims that the gobblers in this story are actually churches in the real world. This did make enjoy the book a little less when I learned of this. Still this book was made to be about truth, love, and courage I also learned from this book that everyone has his/her own problems and must fix them, the conclusion of this book leaves many things open to for the next story.

posted by Patfs on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolute, Royal Crap

    People with daemons, secret experiments in the North, talking Polar Bears, and celestial particles called Dust makes this book a horrible read. Rebellious little girl (more annoying-rebellious that you wish she just dies which brings the story to a thankful premature end), snooty scholars, unappealing talking animals (daemons included) make up a boring cast of characters. I should have known that this was a dumb story since the crux of the it is about Dust and the controversy surrounding it (sigh, really Dust).

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Had to give it 1 star

    In this book God is the villan and Satan is the hero.
    Come on people!! Go back to your bibles and read in Gennises!! God created the heavens and the earth!! Not Satan. If God had not created this earth we would not be on this earth right now. Im just warning all of you christians this is not a book i would recomend.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Really sacriligiois or howeveru spell it

    It says in the book God is evil and the fallen angels are our protectors if your christians dont look this up

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Thrilling & Excellent Writing it's a perfect disguise for the author's own agenda

    AWESOME! I saw a trailer for this movie, which will come out in Dec. I had never heard of the series, so I decided I had better read it before New Line Cinema makes all the decisions for me (instead of my imagination having to work hard). This is being marketed as a LOTR-like trilogy. This book is phenomenal. The first page starts out with mystery and tension, and it doesn't let up until the end of the book. Lyra is an orphan being raised at Oxford, looked after mostly by the scholars. She lives in a world where people have a personal daemon (an animal manifestation who is bound to them). Her powerful and aloof Uncle Asreal's visits are rare, unexpected, and uncomfortable. When Lyra thwarts an assassination attempt, and she is taken from Oxford by a beautiful, enigmatic woman, her life takes a turn down dangerous and unknown paths. This story has it all: armored polar bears, a truth-telling compass, fierce gyptians, and shadowy 'gobblers.' Read it before the movie comes out. **That being said: I have become aware of the author's devout atheism (if such a pairing of words is possible). Although I thought his portrayal of the Church was a bit harsh (Church seen as controlling, blind, misled), I didn't see much to be concerned about. Lots of people have a dislike of organized religion. Well, I have discovered that his later two books in the series get quite a bit darker and he really expresses his atheism more clearly and forcefully. I'm sorry the author has such a dark agenda and he's aiming at our kids, who are so impressionable. I thought I would love to read more of his work, because his writing is excellent and his imagination is stunning, but I don't need to support anyone who so blatantly pushes his atheism down the throats of readers.**

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Cyrus

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I understand that this series ends when the ain character kills god.... why does anybody read this?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Is it good?

    Just because i never read this book i will rate it 1 star. But someone tell me if it is good and i will rate it what i really think of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Wanna read

    Iwanna read this book or see the movie but i cant find or buy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Boring, predictable

    The characters were shallow and of course he HAD to bring up religion which shows a lack of originality by jumping on the athiest writer bandwagon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    ;/&')?+:,@(""-!

    Nxdgjhxnxdmkn?/?/?/)/",&:--xjdygfjcjmcjjdjc

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Tap

    Amsome

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    To whoever said something about closeminded Christians

    I know that we're all entitled to an opinion, but yours is just rude. This book may be creative, but it's also really insulting to us Christians. I'm not being close-minded when I say that, either. I'm guessing from your comment that you're an atheist, but even you should respect our religion, just for the sake of common decency. I'm only 13 (an adolesent!) and yet even I recognize that. I'm not gonna go all "REPENT OR BE DAMNED FOR ETERNITY!" (even though it's true), but you should really learn some manners.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Terrible

    THIS BOOK INSULTS THE RELIGION OF CHRISTIANITY AND THIS AUTHOR IS JUST PLAIN RUDE!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Huh?

    What the heck?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Worst book ever!!!

    He tried to put his athieast belief in his series and make peaple think god isnt real

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    good writing

    aweful endline

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    worst book ever

    i hate this book not a goodread and the author is trying to tell everone that god isnt real!!! the authors an athiest and he is putting his stupid atheism belief in this book series! i wouldnt recommend this book at all and the movie is even WORSE!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Boring

    Poorly written, cookie-cutter characters, obvious plot. I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    A must-read?

    I didn't like this book at all. First, it is confusing in many parts of the story; why are there talking bears in it?? Also, It's creepy. I understood it but didn't like it at all. Why did they even publish it OR make it into a movie?? Very boring, I stopped reading it about halfway in because I couldn't STAND reading it. Don't read this book!! Not so great for younger kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    I thought they said that this was GOOD?

    I expected much better...how does Lyra speak so badly when she grew up in a University? It was slow and didn't make much sense at ALL.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2