BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Golden Egg Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Truly a Classic

    This was my favorite book as a child. I loved the illustrations and the story. I passed it along to my son and am now passing along to my grandson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    favortie bedtime book

    This was my daughters favorite bedtime book when she was just about 3. She had us read it nightly until we wore the cover off! It contains a valuable lesson in friendship and acceptance.Today I am purchasing it for a gift to her for her baby shower. At age 26 she can still tell me the story work for word! I can't wait for her to share it with our first grandchild.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2000

    A classic to keep

    I too loved this book as a child and it is one of the few I kept tucked away for keeps. I thought it was long out of print, so was astounded to find a single copy of it in a bargain bin one day -- I bought it immediately for my daughter. She adores it and I never tire of reading it. The story is simple, funny, poignant -- and just the right length to read to a young child before bed. The illustrations are gorgeous, rich and colourful. A real treasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Great book for toddlers!

    I purchased this book as one of my daughter's Easter gifts based largely on the fact that Margaret Wise Brown (Goodnight Moon and Runaway Bunny) was the author. I was not disappointed. The story is quite cute and the illustrations are wonderful. My daughter has enjoyed reading it over and over again since Easter. I would highly recommend this book for parents with toddlers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Classic Golden Book Magic

    You just can't go wrong with a Golden Book classic. I bought this for my grandsons and they love it, and have to share it with their mother, who also loves it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    The Golden Egg Book

    Loved this book when I was young, Read it to my children and now bought this book for my grandchild.It is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    This is the dearest book!

    As a child in the early to mid 50's, I loved this book - but it then disappeared when my children were born. I kept my old copy, thank goodness - and now it is available again for the grandchildren.. The message is sweet but not cloying and the illustrations are so lovely. My original copy was largeer in size (this one is about 11x14 or so ) but still large enough to enjoy the delicate pictures and expressions of the characters. What a great find - I bought enough copies to give one to each of my 4 children and one step daughter, to have to read to their children. But the real pleasure will be reading the story again and again, with the proper verbal tones and expressions ,to the little ones, which hopefully will stay in their memory the way my Mom's did for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic

    My children (now 19 & 23) loved this book, even when they were much older than preschool age. It's a wonderful story to read aloud. I love the illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    One of the best reads for toddlers.

    The story is the same and oh so wonderful for children, but I miss the original illustrations. The new illustrations are not as warm and friendly to me. I would love to see the original republished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    an old favorite

    this book was a favorite of my children and now my grandchild could enjoy it. Nicely illustrated.The story entices you to each next page. Age for 2 to 3 year old although it stayed a favorite of ours to preschool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Masterful children's author

    Margaret Wise Brown was a master of children's book writing. Her sense of rhythm was superlative, especially. Her stories are not condescending, didactic or dully repetitive; they are written with the hint of a child's sense of mischief and with an understanding of children's perceived powerlessness. Unlike so many other children's book, they are a delight for an adult to read to a child because the words trip off the tongue easily, without any forced, off-key rhyming. So many children's books are frankly irritating in their condescension; hers are not whatsoever so. Her stories are whimsical and compelling.

    This one, The Golden Egg Book, is about a bunny who finds an egg and wonders what's inside it. The bunny tries hard to find out what's in there (throws tiny rocks at it, rolls it down a hill, etc.) until the bunny gets tired out and has to take a nap. While the bunny is napping, a duckling emerges from the egg--who then tries to wake the bunny up any way it can, throwing tiny rocks at it, rolling it down a hill, etc.

    Lushly and colorfully illustrated by Leonard Weisgard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1