Customer Reviews for

Golden Fool (Tawny Man Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

Robin Hobb is by far one of the greatest writers I have ever read. This installment of the Farseer saga is definitely the best so far; it was almost physical agony to put it down! From the beginning, in Assassin's Apprentice, I was drawn in by Hobb's portrayal of her ...
Robin Hobb is by far one of the greatest writers I have ever read. This installment of the Farseer saga is definitely the best so far; it was almost physical agony to put it down! From the beginning, in Assassin's Apprentice, I was drawn in by Hobb's portrayal of her characters; they are so real, so human...I genuinely feel affection for and a deep connection with Fitz and the rest of the cast (I didn't feel as strongly about the Liveship characters, perhaps because they were experienced through the third person perspective). It was heart-wrenching watching Fitz as he became distanced from those whom he loves most; the fight with the Fool nearly brought tears to my eyes! But that is part of what makes these novels so enchanting...Hobb's characters are far from perfect and make mistakes just like you and me. And if deeply detailed, complex characters aren't enough for you, the plot has enough twists and turns to keep your attention riveted for hours on end. I definitely recommend reading the Farseer and Liveship Trader trilogies before starting the Tawny Man series, as Golden Fool loses a lot of its impact otherwise. I was clearly too enraptured with the plot and inter-person relationships of the book to catch the slip made with Malta; she is Althea's niece, not her sister. However, considering that everything else about this book is perfect, I do not think that the mistake warrants a two-star deduction. I have already started reading the next book, Fool's Fate. Normally, I wait for the paperback edition, but there was no way I wouldn't have been able to wait a few hours to follow my friends on their adventure, much less the many months before the paperback was released. But, I digress...the point I want to convey is that this book, this author, is as magnificent as they come. You absolutely MUST read these novels; you will not be disappointed!

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sombody wake me up

As in many trilogies, book two is just filler between the beginning and the end. So is the case here. I was hoping to at least resolve the issue as to wheather the Fool is a woman, (dissapointing), or a man. As much as I like Robin Hobb's work, I found myself saying, "j...
As in many trilogies, book two is just filler between the beginning and the end. So is the case here. I was hoping to at least resolve the issue as to wheather the Fool is a woman, (dissapointing), or a man. As much as I like Robin Hobb's work, I found myself saying, "just what the heck was that chapter about?". The character plots meander all over the place, the story line seems to bog down with too many loose ends, awaiting book three. I managed to finish it, because of my devotion to Hobb, and anticipate satisfying endings to all the issues in book three. Having said that, If you like Hobb, you will find enough to make this a satisfying, if skimpy meal.

posted by Grandpa on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic in the Making!

    Hobb is my ultimate fall-back author. If ever I find myself in need of a guaranteed good read, I pick up a FitzChivalry novel. I love that the story evolves and that I every time I read it, I am immediately immersed right back into the world. I think these should be on the must-read list for any sci-fi / fantasy lover. Great characters, great story, and overall: extremely memorable! If you liked this book, I bet you will also like the "Magician" series by Raymond E. Feist (Particularly from book 3 on...) as well as his "Conclave of Shadows" series. I also think you would like "Dragon Weather" by Lawrence Watt-Evans, "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. McKenna.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sombody wake me up

    As in many trilogies, book two is just filler between the beginning and the end. So is the case here. I was hoping to at least resolve the issue as to wheather the Fool is a woman, (dissapointing), or a man. As much as I like Robin Hobb's work, I found myself saying, "just what the heck was that chapter about?". The character plots meander all over the place, the story line seems to bog down with too many loose ends, awaiting book three. I managed to finish it, because of my devotion to Hobb, and anticipate satisfying endings to all the issues in book three. Having said that, If you like Hobb, you will find enough to make this a satisfying, if skimpy meal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

    Robin Hobb is by far one of the greatest writers I have ever read. This installment of the Farseer saga is definitely the best so far; it was almost physical agony to put it down! From the beginning, in Assassin's Apprentice, I was drawn in by Hobb's portrayal of her characters; they are so real, so human...I genuinely feel affection for and a deep connection with Fitz and the rest of the cast (I didn't feel as strongly about the Liveship characters, perhaps because they were experienced through the third person perspective). It was heart-wrenching watching Fitz as he became distanced from those whom he loves most; the fight with the Fool nearly brought tears to my eyes! But that is part of what makes these novels so enchanting...Hobb's characters are far from perfect and make mistakes just like you and me. And if deeply detailed, complex characters aren't enough for you, the plot has enough twists and turns to keep your attention riveted for hours on end. I definitely recommend reading the Farseer and Liveship Trader trilogies before starting the Tawny Man series, as Golden Fool loses a lot of its impact otherwise. I was clearly too enraptured with the plot and inter-person relationships of the book to catch the slip made with Malta; she is Althea's niece, not her sister. However, considering that everything else about this book is perfect, I do not think that the mistake warrants a two-star deduction. I have already started reading the next book, Fool's Fate. Normally, I wait for the paperback edition, but there was no way I wouldn't have been able to wait a few hours to follow my friends on their adventure, much less the many months before the paperback was released. But, I digress...the point I want to convey is that this book, this author, is as magnificent as they come. You absolutely MUST read these novels; you will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    THIS SERIES IS GOLDEN !!!!

    ONE OF ROBIN'S BEST SERIES YET!!!!! THEY ARE ALL WONDERFUL BUT THIS SERIES IS ONE OF A KIND. THIS SERIES WRAP'S THEM ALL TOGETHER, WHAT A GIFT SHE HAS GIVEN US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Better than Game of Thrones

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Captivating

    Robin Hobb, a breath of fresh air that you cannot get enough of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    VERY GOOD!

    Anyone who can pursuade me to buy a book while it is still in hardback is a GREAT author indeed(for I am very cheap). The story was awesome...and uh, I thought that Malta WAS Althea's little sister(she was such a brat before she became an elderling girly)...Im pretty sure Robin didn't make any mistakes... I can't wait for the next one to come out!! I really cannot wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Absolutely Astonished

    I would just like to say that Robin Hobb is one of my very favorite authors of all time. With every story that she writes, she manages to mesmerize me with her excellent plot and touch my heart with her wonderful characters. Ms. Hobb is truly one of a kind, and it will be a sad, sad day when she publishes her last book in the world of the Farseers. I HIGHLY recommend reading the first three Farseer books and then the Liveship Traders books before reading the Tawny Man books; they are all strongly interwoven and much can be gained from reading them in order. It's been a joy reading these magnificent stories, and I can't wait for more! If you like to read at all (regardless of what genre), Ms. Hobb's stories will capture your imagination and leave you with unforgettable memories, I promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    A exciting and wonderful ride

    I have been reading Robin Hobb for some years now, starting with the Farseer Trilogy. I have yet to be dissappointed. The twining of her two series in this, her third, works wonderfully to further the stories of both. The only caveat here is that the enjoyment factor for this new trilogy rises exponentially with the pre-requisite reading of the Farseer Trilogy and the Liveship Traders Trilogy. I am sure people could jump in and read the new series but the breadth of character and emotion would be lost. One more thing in answer to a critical post in this thread complaining that Robin Hobb can't keep track of her characters because she mistakenly referred to Malta as Althea's sister. Well.. the fact is that Malta Vestrit IS Althea Vestrits sister, as anyone who has read the Liveship Trader series will tell you. So the criticism is without any merit at all. Just wanted to clarify that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Can't wait for the next book

    Ms. Hobb's greatest strength is her ability to create great characters. In science fiction and fantasy, characters are usually interesting, but Ms. Hobb makes them REAL. I am eagerly awaiting the next volume because I want very much to see what happens to Fitz, the Fool, and everyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    Brilliant

    I have never come across a better author then Mrs. Robin Hobb. I extremely enjoyed this book and eagerly awaiting the next (Fool's fate). I love the fool and fitz and the whole of Six duchies and the plot is so brilliantly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    Recommended but not as good as

    others i've read recently, namely kingdom alliance which is why i give this 3 stars. mostly i would have rather read that book again than read this but in the end i think 'golden fool' is okay but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Excellant

    Although I'm not sure why someone would dock Hobb two stars because she may have goofed up a name... I suppose that person doesn't realize that in the UK edition, this book was missing an entire chapter, so mistakes do happen, but its not entirely the author's fault. But besides all that, Robin Hobb did an excellant job, although I cann't see how she'll be able to finish this series in just three books... I'm hoping for a fourth! Robin Hobb is one of the best writers I have ever come across, and her style and flare is unique and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Incredible Author=Awsome Books

    I bought this book from the UK, I was so anxious to read it--the hardest part of reading is the waiting, and, in this case, it was just too painful, so I went ahead and paid the few extra shipping costs. And it was worth it, every cent. Robin Hobb is amazing, absolutely... brilliant, just PURE GENIUS. I have no idea how she manages to come up with all the plots and twists throughout her trilogies, especially the subtle undercurrents and hints that one sees in the earlier books and finds playing a large part in the latter ones. If it weren't for the clarity of Fitz's memory, from whose perspective she writes/wrote the Tawny Man and Farseer trilogies (and for the obvious fantasy) I could find myself believing that it did all happen. The only complaint I can make is that Fitz's life can seem terribly depressing--partly because it is so realistic, but a lot of stuff does just turn out badly for him. And, from GF's hints, will continue to do so, or will reach a climax and then, maybe, give him a Happily-Ever-After, or as close to it as any real person has a right to expect. My vote is on the latter... I'm hoplessly in love with the guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Great story but she made a MAJOR blunder...

    that makes me question the book. In the Golden Fool, she brings up some characters from her previeous trilogy, Ship of Destiny. Here, she mistakenly identifies Malta as Althea's sister. What kind of author screws up the identies of her main characters from a book she written less than two years ago??? I wonder...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable fantasy

    It has been many years since FitzChivalry Farseer has been in Buckkeep or had anything to do with his legitimate relatives but when the Piebalds kidnap Prince Dutiful, Fitz mounts a successful rescue operation. Now he is permanently ensconced in the keep, posing as a bodyguard to a man with more personas then fingers, acting as a spy to his former mentor, Chade the Assassin. Fitz uses the alias Tom Badgerlock because if his real name and identity became known, many people will want him executed for crimes and actions he never committed. Tom has many difficult tasks to perform including teaching the Prince how to use Wit and Skill (forms of magic) when he is only learning how to use it himself. He must also keep himself and his Prince safe from the Piebalds, open practitioners of magic who think they should be the ones residing in the seats of power. The prince and Fitz must also be prepared for a quest that might cost them their lives if they complete it. The hero of GOLDEN FOOL is one of the most likable protagonists to grace a fantasy novel. Unlike most heroes, Fitz isn¿t very heroic but that doesn¿t stop him from trying to do the right thing even if he occasionally makes errors. His concern for the well being of his Farseer relatives is another reason that readers will gather him into their hearts. The next installment in this exciting trilogy will take place on the island where the Prince must undertake a quest if he is to stay engaged to the girl who he hopes win one day be his wife so stay tuned to this series. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7