BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Golden Hat: Talking Back to Autism

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

WOW--Love this book!!

I don't have any personal connections to autism, but this book really opened my eyes. I just had no idea that kids with really severe autism were paying attention. I took this book to lunch with my girl friends yesterday and they all wanted my copy. I'm going to buy one...
I don't have any personal connections to autism, but this book really opened my eyes. I just had no idea that kids with really severe autism were paying attention. I took this book to lunch with my girl friends yesterday and they all wanted my copy. I'm going to buy one for my mom and sisters. The pics of the celebrities are just stunning and way more real than what you'd normally see (they're not photoshopped or touched up).

Hat's off.. pun intended.. to Kate and the Golden Hat for opening my eyes to such an overlooked population of people.

btw, i saw on their website this golden wall where you can upload your photo with the gold hat and be a part of the book with the celebs. very cool!!!!!

posted by Sarah-Fitzgerald on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Goldclan Warrior Den

Goldclan

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    WOW--Love this book!!

    I don't have any personal connections to autism, but this book really opened my eyes. I just had no idea that kids with really severe autism were paying attention. I took this book to lunch with my girl friends yesterday and they all wanted my copy. I'm going to buy one for my mom and sisters. The pics of the celebrities are just stunning and way more real than what you'd normally see (they're not photoshopped or touched up).

    Hat's off.. pun intended.. to Kate and the Golden Hat for opening my eyes to such an overlooked population of people.

    btw, i saw on their website this golden wall where you can upload your photo with the gold hat and be a part of the book with the celebs. very cool!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    An incredibly touching book that will change your perspective

    This book will be gracing my coffee table for a long time. When I first got it, I couldn't put it down and flipped through every page and it just got better. I loved hearing the story of the Golden Hat and the sweet boy who inspired the heroin, Kate Winslet.

    The pictures were great and the quotes were even better.

    A MUST buy!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    This book will touch your heart like no other. The essays and c

    This book will touch your heart like no other. The essays and comments of the children in this book who each day must communicate in a nontraditional way are amazing. It truly speaks to every person who has ever known or come in contact with a person living with autism - "ASSUME COMPETENCE!" The thoughts and ideas expressed by the children in this book are wonderful, intelligent and humorous! A loving and thought provoking book. The comments and photographs of the celebrities in this book are fun to look at and read, but it is the children with autism that are the real stars in this book! What a wonderful project Ms. Winslet took under her hat.....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A book everyone will love

    I have a 17-year-old son with nonverbal autism and I'm so excited to finally find a book that appeals to the masses that may actually catch on with the general public.

    Kate Winslet did a great thing by getting all of these famous faces involved. It's a really beautiful book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Wish I thought of this idea..

    I saw Kate on GMA and went out and bought this book at B&N. I just think this idea was totally genius and can't imagine the time and effort it must've taken to track down all those famous people and get them to take a photo in the hat.

    So neat that hollywood is willing to take a candid pic and put their name behind this worthy cause. Such a cool story.

    Goo Kate Gooo!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Way to go Kate!!!

    Well, I knew that Kate was beautiful, but now that I know how kind her heart is, I am truly a fan! Forget Titanic, buy this book! My son has autism and has dealt with so much prejudice just because he can't talk, I am going to have to buy the store out just to give to all of the teachers he has ever had. John (my son) loved seeing his picture of him wearing the golden hat on their website too. Get this book, its a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Power of Love!

    This is one of the most inspirational books about autism I have ever bought, and I buy almost all of them! It is full of compassion and kindness between two moms, Kate Winslet and Ericsdottir (who has a son with autism) and the difference moms can make for the benefit of all children with autism.

    It helped me stay optimistic through my difficult days with my own two children with autism and empowered me, gave me hope and faith to keep on going. I would go so far as to say it is one of the best self- help books I have come across. It shows that all you need is love and a little bit of luck and you can make a difference in the lives of these children and their families.

    And then on top of everything else it is the coolest coffee table book I have ever owned! I was pleasantly surprised by all these famous people who supported autism by photographing themselves: Julia Roberts, Leonardo Di Caprio, Tom Hanks, Penelope Cruz, Oprah, George Clooney, Ben Stiller, Natalie Portman, Johnny Depp and so many more! What else could bring so much attention to the general public who knows nothing about autism? It’s pretty obvious to me that this star-power can really liberate children with autism just by acknowledging that they exist – that they are human beings like me and you. People in general ignore autism and those with autism; they feel it is not their problem. Hopefully this book will lure them in and bring attention to our special kids. I am really grateful to Kate Winslet and all the famous people in the book for taking time to help my children and others like them.

    This book is so much more than pictures of celebrities; I have finally found a book which has lifted my spirits and shown me once and for all that through love and generosity everything is possible. I am going to keep that message close to my heart and The Golden Hat book by my side. I would recommend it to everyone, especially since they say the proceeds are going to the charity Kate Winslet founded to help people with autism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A charitable outstanding book on autism

    Cant imagine kids or adults with severe autism who could not speak until now by using letter boards and new technology that helps give them a voice they never thought they had. A humbling read and thankful for a healthy child but happy to support those less fortunate. Support autism by reading today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Celebs yes, but the story is the reason to buy!

    There may be 100 celebrities in this book, but to me the most heart wrenching was the poetry by Keli. He is such an inspiration! I hope he does another book someday. I read his poems to my son, I could tell it meant a lot to him. Please Kate, keep up the good work and may The Golden Hat Foundation continue to get the word out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    Very cool book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Not only is this book visually captivating, (with the celebritie

    Not only is this book visually captivating, (with the celebrities taking self-portraits wearing Kate Winslet's "golden hat") but the email communication between Kate and Margret is emotionally stirring. To see the willingness of someone totally unconnected to autism, such as Kate, join forces with Margret to help the plight of those with autism is so refreshing. The real show-stopper, however, are the quotes and photos from the children with non-verbal autism. Incredible. This is a great gift I have shared with several teachers, and image we'd all feel good giving this to others. Thanks @ Sarah for the review and the mentioning of the Golden Wall and uploading a picture and donate to the Golden Hat Foundation. Very cool indeed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Autism

    Well this book was amazing my son has autism and this book will make you laugh and cry. Its very hard to have a son or daughter with autism if you have a friend that you know who has a son or daughter with autism tell them about this book or you might have a son or daughter with autism pick up this book and read it its fantastic!!!!! If you have a son or a daughter with autism or even a sibling of a disability its a blessing there are angles from heaven gid gave us them for a good reason so pick up this book try it its breath taking!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Excellent book!

    The celeb pics are terrific, the story of Keli is inspiring, his poems are outstanding, and the emails between Kate and Margret give great insight to how it all got started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Foxheart

    Sleeps

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2