Customer Reviews for

The Golden One (Amelia Peabody Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Another Peters' Can't Put it Down!

    Peters goes herself one better in the historical (and hysterical) settings of this one. She's spot-on with the WWI facts as well as the local flavor. The espionage sub-plot was my particular favorite, especially the descriptions of the disguises assumed by the family. I'm waiting with bated breath to see how she works T.E. Lawrence (subject of my dissertation) and Howard Carter's world-shaking find into the series! I read this one in one sitting - finishing at 5am.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    AN EAGERLY ANTICIPATED ADVENTURE

    Few tales are as eagerly awaited as another in the addictive Amelia Peabody mystery series. After all, what other heroine is intrepid, tastefully dressed, and secretes a sword in her parasol - just in case. When first introduced in the 1975 'Crocodile On The Sandbank,' Amelia Peabody was a stalwart spinster who determined to use her hefty inheritance in pursuit of her overriding interest - Egyptology. It was 1884, yet she set out for Egypt where she was to be confronted with a number of perplexing circumstances. With 'The Golden One' it is 1917, and Amelia is married to Radcliffe, the most famous archeologist in Egypt. Ramses, their son is a chip off the old blocks; he is an investigator wed to Nefret, who is, of course, beautiful. Choosing to overlook German submarines lurking in the waters, this encourage sets out for Egypt. Their plans for an anticipated excavation are interrupted with the appearance of Sethos, Radcliffe's ne'er-do-well brother. Matters are further complicated when they hear that royal tombs have been robbed, and a body is found. Those who have read the Amelia Peabody series in the past will be thrilled with this latest adventure. Those who have not have a treat in store.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2002

    Peter's does it again!

    As an avid reader of Elizabeth Peter's books, and in particular the Amelia Peabody series, I must say this has been one of her best. The Emersons are up to their usual adventures, and followers of the series will be thrilled to see more of Sethos, the romantic exchanges, and the incomparable wit of these novels. I have no intention of giving away the plot, but I must say I found it hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed this book! I liked all the twist and turns, which kept it
    a very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I have really enjoyed this series from Elizabeth Peters. Now, wa

    I have really enjoyed this series from Elizabeth Peters. Now, watching Downton Abbey I am seeing some of the period costumes Amelia mentions. Both from the same time period, very fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Recommended

    I've read most of the Amelia Peabody novels and enjoyed them all. Elizabeth Peters combines a little history with mystery and humor from the characters. A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Love this series!

    If you like mysteries, if you like archaeology, if you like well developed characters, this is the series for you. Every time I finish one, I'm eager to start the next. I dread the day in the next few weeks when I finish the series. I will feel as though I have lost an entire family. Love this entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    jolly good book

    If you enjoyed the previous Amelia Peabody books, you will love this one. There all the drama of rescues, misunderstandings, disguises, etc. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    This was the first book by Peters that I had ever read. After I finished, I started reading the series from the beginning and am completely enjoying the series. I have passed my enthusiasm on to my husband, mother, friends, and as many people as I can. We are now in a competition to see who can catch up to the newest book first. Unfortunately for me, my husband is one book ahead, but not for long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Engaging

    I love this,even though critics call it 'wordy'.It's great!I love all her books.Unfortunatly,I'm running out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Another Gem

    What else can I say? Elizabeth Peters just keeps us happy, book after book. The Emersons are up to their usual mischief again here, but it's more interesting because of the split plot. As with the previous reviewer, I have no intention of giving away the plot, but I can tell you to expect some delightful new twists. As Engaging as ever, THE GOLDEN ONE succeeds in the highest regard. Now, I can't wait for the next one, but I hope the author brings David and Lia back and writes Cyrus into 'the inner circle' in future installments (after all, they've only known him for almost 30 years). Please keep writing these wonderful mysteries, Ms. Peters! ( And I hope you have a whopper up your sleeve to coincide with Carter's discovery of Tut's Tomb, just a few books away, I hope : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Engaging historical mystery

    By the beginning of 1917, the Great War makes travel across the Mediterranean unsafe. Still, the archeologist Peabody-Emerson family journeys from England to Egypt to begin another season digging up ancient history. However, their arrival at Luxor is accompanied by the word that thieves attacked a royal tomb with one of the criminals left behind dead. <P>Before the matriarch Amelia Peabody Emerson can fully investigate the crime as she always does, British intelligence draft her son Ramses to work for them. They need Ramses to ascertain whether Ismail Pasha, an individual quickly rising to power in Gaza, is really Sethos his brother and a criminal. Unable to resist, the Peabody brood follows Ramses on his trek to keep him safe and to learn first hand if Sethos has surfaced. <P> Fans of this series will enjoy this mixing of a World War I espionage tale with a who-done-it. However, historical mystery readers will feel disappointed as the intel mission intrudes on the investigation, which is left dangling while completing the espionage assignment before the family returns to solve the murder. This leaves the audience with two distinct story lines that never merge and a feeling of a novella inset inside a historical amateur sleuth mystery. Elizabeth Peters provides a wonderful look into Egyptology during the encroachment of World War I that along with the fourteenth return of the clan will delight series fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2