BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Golden Ratio: The Story of Phi, the World's Most Astonishing Number

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Interested in the number, not religion

    As an aspiring mathematician, I've been reading pretty much any book I can grab at the book store that has to do with mathematics. Phi is a number that has caught my attention before, and I was looking for a thorough look at different places where the number crops up. I was not, however, looking for any sort of religious discussion. I wish I had known before I bought the book that the word 'God' frequently cropped up in the book. If I had known, I probably would not have bought it. I was looking for a book of mathematics, not speculation into whether god is a mathematician. If that sort of discussion interests you, perhaps you'd like the book. However, if you are like me, hopefully you will not waste your money on it get it from the library or find another book about phi.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew a book about a number could be so interesting?

    In this book, Mario Livio writing on a popular level explores the history of the so-called golden ratio (also known as "the divine proportion" or "phi"). This ratio is alleged to appears frequently in both nature and art. Livio has obviously done a lot a research and does not approach the subject with the almost fanatical attitude that many "golden numbrists" have. While the golden ratio may not be quite as widespread as some enthusiasts would have you believe, it is certainly a fascinating number that almost seems to be part of God's fingerprint on the universe. Who knew a book about a number could be so interesting?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    GREAT BOOK

    This was the best math book I have every read. It explains in detail the history of the golden ratio and the people that contributed in discovering this powerful number, some not even knowing of their contributions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Prett Interesting read but it is mostly Livio's opinion. There a

    Prett Interesting read but it is mostly Livio's opinion. There are some factual evidence but for the most part, he takes away credit of many early civilizations such as the pyramids, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    This absolutely one of the best math books I've ever read.  Easy

    This absolutely one of the best math books I've ever read.  Easy to read, even my 6th grader & 11th grader enjoyed it.  Long before the political polarization between the art & science, spiritual & scientific, pragmatic & theoretical extremist communities we so often witness today, math was considered synonymous, at least inter-related with philosophical & "real-world" practices and this book provides the reader with a very informative walk through that history, in this case centered around one of the most important numbers in our physical, and even quantum-physical, world.  This is not a book about religion, aetheism, science, art, or math exclusively...but it does demonstrate that to more fully appreciate the wonder of phi in our world that you must consider how it is related to all those other areas.  Otherwise, you become relegated to the short-sighted ignorance that prevents extremists from all those "exclusive" camps from seeing the beauty, historical knowledge, and pragmatic usage possibilities of the number itself.

    This is a fast, engaging "hard to put the book down" read.  As an advanced student of math long ago (due to its importance & application in analog electronics engineering), I somehow missed much of the relevance of phi to my work & studies (which are scientfic based), thus I gained ideas for scientific applications from reading this book.  Just as important, I gained interesting knowledge & enjoyment re the history behind the discovery and application of phi to wide variety not-as-"practical" things in our lives, eg art, dance, music, spirituality, and more.  Whenever the human mind discovers aspects of our physical world, it helps us better understand and admire its beauty, which in turn helps us discover more about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Very good read. Easy to understand.

    Excellent read, easy to understand. More than enough to understand what PHI is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Golden Ratio - Calling all Math Connoisseurs

    I read Mario Livio's "Is God a Mathematician?" and I absolutely loved it. Given, I'm a Math lover and I actually have a stomach for things like differential equations... But that didn't matter. It was just plain GOOD.

    Mario Livio's Golden Ratio was no worse. It deals with the magical number Phi (not Pi) which was defined by Euclid as a line divided into extreme and mean ratio.

    Livio details some phenomanally interesting geometrical implications of the Golden Ratio and sets out to dispell common misconceptions of the Golden Ratio appearing in great works like the Pyramids and the Parthenon.

    What is interesting to me is that so many people in history have spent time trying to understand Phi. From Euclid to the Pythagoreans and beyond, this magical number has perplexed us. Mario gives us a splendid account of Phi's evolution in time.

    Livio doesn't write in a dry Math textbook way. He captivates the reader with colorful bits and pieces of history which keep you flipping the pages.

    I highly recommend this book to any Math enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2