Customer Reviews for

GoldenGirl (Bradford Series)

Average Rating 3
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GoldenGirl: not very Golden...

    The book was definitley worth the 8 bucks I paid for it, but it wasn't THAT good. I've read better, for sure. It was pretty much the same as the Private series and similar to the It Girl series. The conflicts were different, which is why I liked it. I WILL be buying the second book, Fashonista, when it comes out because the series has me hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Not my favorite book

    I did not care for this book. I fact, I read only the first three chapters. It just did not hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh-ma-gawd Good!

    This book is really awesome. Its written in a blog format that's so easy to follow and makes it fun to read.Spencer's life gets so complicated, but she describes it ah-mazingly. Thank gawd she has great friends like Paige or does she? When Paige starts to act weird about the new girl, who Spencer and Madison actually like, they dig for dirt. Micol Ostow has done a great job with this book and I can't wait for Fashionista to come out. These girls have drama written all over them and it oh so juicy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    nothing special

    this book is just another addition to the little devious rich girls genre and it's not anything special. the one difference is the blog format. it definitely seems to be trying to hard to sound well written. kind of a headache to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I guess I actually do like "rich-girl books".

    This book helped me make a decision of whether or not I like books having to do with spoiled rich girls dealing with their dramatic lives. What the decision has come to is yes, I do like these kinds of books. If you very much hate the prissy preppy rich girl books, then obviously this book is not for you. I always thought that I hated these kinds of books too (considering I hate those types of girls) but the thing is, I never really gave them a fair shot.

    One of the things I liked most about this book was how it was written in blog format. The blog format definitely helped it from dragging on. I also think it keeps the readers interested because almost every teenager in America has a phone to text with, or a Blackberry or Sidekick (if you're lucky enough). Kudos to Ostow for using that incredible idea (whether he came up with it or not).

    Anyways, I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    As series' centered on the over-privileged and private school become even more popular, Micol Ostow creates her take on this popular genre for teens with her new series featuring Bradford Prep.

    The story features three main characters: Paige Andrews, the queen bee of the group; Madison Takahashi, the unique and most famous of the three; and Spencer Kelly, the narrator of this installment.

    Although she is the quiet one, Spencer still has a mind of her own.

    It's the beginning of a new year at Bradford and already it starts off extremely complicated. Strolling with her new boyfriend, Tyler, Spencer bumps into her ex, Jeremy. She may have thought that she was over him, but with this encounter all of her old feelings come rushing back.

    Of course Paige doesn't approve of Jeremy, and is quick to remind Spencer that she wouldn't even be dating Tyler if it wasn't for her. Despite this, however, Spencer understands that her feelings toward Jeremy are too strong to ignore, and it's impossible to even try when he is everywhere she turns.

    A new year comes with a new student. Regan Stanford has just transferred in to Bradford and already she's creating a ton of buzz. In no time, she befriends Spencer and Madison, who both find her a breath of fresh air. The only one to object to this is Paige. Everyone already knows a little of Regan's past, but no one knew that it included queen bee Paige... at least not just yet.

    Join these alpha girls in their new year at Bradford, as relationships are torn, sabotaging the enemy is the game, and where scandals and discovering who your real friends are is crucial. Spence has one long year ahead of her, and in the end it just has to be survival of the fittest.

    Let's just hope she can endure what fate has in store for her... it isn't pretty.

    The first series to be accompanied with its own website, GOLDENGIRL is written in a blog format. All That Glitters is the blog that belongs to Spencer, and most of the time the privacy setting is set at vault, which basically is just for Spence and the readers to get the full scoop. It is accompanied by The Bradford Blog, updated by one of the three girls, which is to let all of the students, even the lower class, to know what's hot and what's so not.

    Readers will find the BRADFORD series to be refreshing, as already the queen bee is taken down a notch, and the narrator does not entirely conform to all of her demands. GOLDENGIRL is a very promising start to a very unique and original series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1