Customer Reviews for

Golem

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Review

    David Wisniewski was both a storyteller and an illustrator. He was born in England, and lived in Germany, Nebraska, Texas, and Maryland. He spent some time as a circus clown, and performed in his own puppet theater troupe. He later moved to Monrovia, Maryland, where he lived with his wife and children. On September 11, 2002, he passed away after a brief illness at the age of 49. Wisniewski won the Caldecott Medal in 1997 for Golem. Rabbi Loew has a dream that a clay giant would rescue the Jews. After awakening, he spoke with a couple of other people about building the giant at night. The giants name was Golem, but the rabbi said that he would call him Joseph. The Golem asked, ¿How long shall I live?¿, the rabbi¿s reply was until the Jews are no longer in danger. Golem grew in size, and also grew to appreciate nature. Immediately Golem began to protect the Jews, and their jails were full. One night after an extremely destructive battle, Golem had to be turned back to clay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Golem

    Golem is a 1997 Caldecott award winning book. This book would be good for 4th graders. It is a very informational book that can help students learn more about different religions such as Jewish. This is a Jewish story. I found this book to be a great story and also sad. The part where he turns the the rabbie and says 'Father please let me live' is sad. However the Rabbi dismisses this statement by saying that' He is not truly a man'. Because he was made out of clay and made to defeand the jews!Wiesner, David. Golem. New York, NY: Haughton Mifflin Co., 1996.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My Review

    The Jewish legend of Golem has been around for centuries. It is the tale of a rabbi who constructs a giant from clay to protect the Jewish people. When Golem asks the rabbi, ¿How long shall I live?¿ the rabbi replies ¿Until the Jews are no longer in danger. Then you will return to the earth from whence you came.¿ Golem soon learns that the world is a beautiful place and appreciates every sunrise and sunset. He grows into a great giant who towers over the city to protect the Jews, but he longs to stay alive. Will Golem protect the Jews and be returned to clay or will he be able to live forever?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Traditional literature at its best through a simple legend

    Golem, retold and illustrated by David Wisniewski, is a Jewish legend where the theme is centered around the consequences of power beyond human control. In the land of Prague in 1580, the chief rabbi, Judah Loew ben Bezalel, watched his fellow Jews suffer great cruelty due to the 'Blood Lie' The author described the 'Blood Lie' by saying. ' Enemies accused them of mxing the blood of Christian children with the flour and water of matzoh, the unleavened Passover bread.' Due to the 'Blood Lie', Rabbi Loew created Golem from clay, a Cabala spell,and iron struck by lightning which then enter the ground. Golem was created to protect the Jews from danger, and punish those who tried to harm them. After time, Golem also called Joseph began to see the beauty of the earth, but was soon reminded of his mission. People began to see the truth and became furious. They formed a mob to attack the Jews, but one thing stood in their way. Looking at the cover of the book, I really didn't expept to enjoy the book. However, after reading it, I was amazing. I had never heard this legend before, and the illustrations were vibrant and colorful. They really seemed to jump off the page. I also enjoyed reading the history behind the legend in the back of the book. Once again, I am giving information that I didn't know. I love books that bring new information to life, even when it is over a thousand years old. I would recommend this book to grades 4th up due. David Wisniewski used cut out illustrations to bring depth and texture to his pictures. His illustration seemed more like a cartoons than drawings. It was his illustrations that earned him the Caldecott Medal in 1997. David trained for art by attending the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Clown College. After traveling the roads as a clown, David returned to his hometown, Washington, D.C where he married Donna Harris and had two children. David passed away on September 11, 2002, he was 49 years old. Wisniewski, David. Golem. New York: Clarion Books, 1996.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Great Story!

    This book a theme is a story from four hundred years ago according to legend. The story goes that a scholar and Jewish teacher shaped a giant man of clay making him a golem. The task of the golem was to vanquish the people who persecuted the Jew of Prague. But the monster performed his duties a little to well. This story is a dramatic tale of supernatural forces to save the people and learn out human control. This book would be good for every child that likes mystery and who understands not to be afraid of the genre of picture book. The author of this book David Wisniewski is a storyteller and an illustrator and he spent three years as a circus clown. On September 11, 2002, he passed away after a brief illness at the age of 49, but his book Golem won the 1997 Caldecott Award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1