Customer Reviews for

The Golem's Eye (Bartimaeus Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    The Golem's Eye - Face paced and exciting indeed

    This is the second in the series and I must say that I loved it even more than the original. I like how you got to know more about Kitty and Nathaniel. No wonder Jonathan Stroud said I think in an interview or something that he had fun writing it. It was fun to read and I couldn't help but read the next chapter not realizing what the time was afterwards. That's how good it is. It has action, adventure, suspense, and little romance. Nat sort of still gets on my nerves at times but still love Bartimaeus. Read it after you've read the first of course. There are three stories concerning Kitty (I liked hers better than Nat's to be honest), Nat and Bartimaeus (anything with him in it is awesome either way). Check this series out when you get a chance. Jonathan Stroud is now one of my fave writers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Boss

    This is yet another brilliant story written by Jonathan Stroud. Once again, he uses just the right amount of wittiness, adventure, and suspense inorder to create an amazing, complex tale. The author weaves a truly wonderful story by providing background information on the golems, and then building off of that provided background so that everything is tied up with each other, leaving no loose ends and creating a truly statisfying book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wonderful read, definitively highly recommended!!!

    The Golems's Eye by Jonathan Stroud- Book Two of the Bartimaeus Trilogy

    The second book starts where the first one ended. Nathaniel-now officially John Mandrake-after the demise of his incompetent master is now assigned to be the apprentice of the powerful Security Minister, Ms. Jessica Whitwell, and is promoted to be the youngest Assistant to the Head of Internals affairs, Mr., Julius Tallow, who inherited his old master's job.

    At only 14, Nathaniel is a rising star: a young magician who is rapidly climbing the ranks of the government. He's a bright future until he is asked to deal with the growing Resistant movement, which is disrupting magicians' lives with thefts and raids.

    No easy task, The ringleaders: Katherine Jones (Kitty), Frederick Weaver (Fred), and Stanly Hake (Stan), have a special talent: they are resilient to magic and under the guidance of Mr. T. E Pennyfeather, they are about to commit their greatest theft of all: rob the tomb pf the greatest magician who ever lived: Mr. Gladstone.

    As the pressure mounts, a new series of terrifying attacks are occurring in London. First attributed to the resistant, Nathaniel has no choice but to break his promise to Bartimaeus, the djinni who helped save the government in the first book. Bartimaeus discovers that the new destruction is being caused by a Golem-not seen since 1868 in the war with Prague. Nathaniel must make a desperate journey to the enemy city of Prague and uncover who's the traitor behind the summation of the Golem and at the same time deal with the Resistance.

    A thrilling sequel to the Amulet of Samarkan, The Golem's eye is a roller coaster ride of magic, adventure, and political skullduggery in which lessons and change of attitudes occur as the fates of Kitty, Bartimaeus, and Nathaniel explosively collide.

    This is a wonderful read, definitively highly recommended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Witty, exciting, better than the first one

    I really enjoyed The Golem's Eye (the second book in the Bartimaeus trilogy). It was exciting and fun, with the usual great wit of Bartimaeus. I would say that a really good reader at the age of 9 or 10 would enjoy it. But it would mostly be for readers who are a bit older and into their teens. (It is probably at the level of the late Percy Jacksons or mid-Harry Potters.) I am an adult, and I happily read the whole thing, and can't wait to start the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Very good sequel. You can tell the author had fun writing it. Th

    Very good sequel. You can tell the author had fun writing it. The pace, characters were even better. Found myself liking this more than the first. Even Nat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I really love the second book, even though i am only half way through it its just as good as the first one!!!!!!!!!!!###

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    A step back, but still great.

    I can't help but see that, while still a great story, the first in the series was probably superior in most ways. People should jusy take it fot what it is... the build up to the finale of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great Book!!

    I absolutely love this book and the first one, though I have yet to read the 3rd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great book!

    I had such a fun and exciting time reading the second book in this series. It really makes you stop and think " how could someone think if this? It seems so real!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great book

    A great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Great!

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    loved this book

    I just read The Golem's Eye by Jonathan Stroud. It is the second book in the Bartimaeus Trilogy. I really liked this book. It is a fictional book with lots of action.
    My favorite character was Bartimaeus. He is my favorite because he has a witty sense of humor and is sarcastic. I can relate to him to the most, too. He is funny and can see through many of the lies he is told. If I could change anything, I would change how many details there are. While the story is great and helpful with lots of details, sometimes Stroud over does it.
    I would recommend this book to anyone that likes an action book that is a little out there. Not everyone would like it because it requires a little imagination but most people would. I loved this book and can't wait to start the third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Not as Wonderful as I wanted

    Though I did give an okay rating, I really did not find it all that enjoyable. Though I do find it a lot more enjoyable than the Amulet of Samarkand, I found that I could slip in and out of the story without grasping every moment, while still having a good understanding of what happened in the story.

    It is a good book though because it has good details and is a good kickoff for future avid readers. The suspense parts and the action parts can keep a child entertained and be a change from children's fiction into young adult fiction. The vocabulary is probably really challenging for nine year olds, but everyone needs a challenge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not exactly what I was hoping for

    I know that this trilogy is regarded as among the best in the business as far as young adult magic books are concerned, and I will admit that it is fairly unique and creates an interesting magical world, albeit closer to true Wiccan or demonic magic than the lighter Harry Potter or Septimus Heap are willing to take on. However, I find myself having an incredibly difficult time getting through the thick prose (and even the clever and fun subnotes written at the bottom) in order to get to the real meat of the story. Barteimaeus and Nathaniel are both great characters, and Bartimeaus is especially fun because even though he's not the biggest or most powerful demon, he's certainly clever, and reminds me a lot of Aladdin, which is a character type we could use more of, especially lately since most of our modern heroes seem to be reluctant at best, and are usually petulant and whiney. How boring is that?

    Anyway, all that said, the trilogy lives up to all the hype, but I don't find myself enjoying the read as much as I would anticipate. I recommend this trilogy, but with the caveat that you may find yourself in the same position, wading through the prose in the attempt of getting lost in a fun story.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Good Follow-up Novel to first in series

    The Golem's Eye is as well-written and engaging as the first story in this trilogy. I especially enjoyed the continuation of
    Bartimaeus' irreverent and sarcastic asides, written as footnotes to the ongoing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Wonderful finale

    Interesting, complex story, very good character development and realization, outstanding ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bartimaeus trilogy book 2 review

    The Bartimaeus Trilogy - The Golem's Eye (Book 2) is a very interesting book that I absolutley love.This awesome book is very adventurous, exciting,humorous,mysterious,thrilling,extraordanary,entertaining,fun,and very addictive to read if you love the book.its a book that you'll wanna share with the world!It has a very good illustration,book cover,story, interesting characters,writing,and many more great qualities!I recommend you read this book!Its one of the best books I've read in my entire life,so far,and is amazing.the author did a great job with all three books and i loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    This book is great!

    All three books of this trilogy are great. They contain humor, fantasy, wit and suspense. I loved the story being seen from various people's (and Bartimaeus's) viewpoints. It makes it interesting and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

    He's rude. He's surly. He won't hesitate to tell you when your haircut looks stupid. And in over 5000 years, he's seen some bad haircuts. I'm talking about my favorite djinni, Bartimaeus, back in book two of his young adult fantasy trilogy. <BR/><BR/>THE GOLEM'S EYE is an excellent sequel to the first book in the series, THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND. In the first book, we meet Bartimaeus, an ancient creature of enormous power that can best be described as a type of demon. Unfortunately, he and all of his kind hate the word demon. He classifies himself as a djinni, so we'll just go with that for the purposes of this review. Why annoy anyone who can shoot magical firebolts at you, right? Anyway, Bartimaeus, and other creatures like him, are summoned by human magicians to do their bidding. Needless to say, this forced servitude, or slavery, is not popular with the servants, so they do their best to turn the tables on their human masters whenever possible. <BR/><BR/>Enter Nathaniel, a boy who is in training to become a powerful magician. In book one of the series, he summons Bartimaeus from the netherworld and an involuntary partnership begins. In THE GOLEM'S EYE, young Nathaniel again finds himself in need of the djinni's aid, so he again turns to reluctant Bartimaeus. This time, a revolutionary group is blowing things up in London, which may or may not be related to a series of unusual occurrences that have the police stumped. Nathaniel feels that his career would take off if he can solve these crimes. But the stakes are high because he knows that his career, and possibly his life, are in jeopardy if he fails. <BR/><BR/>A key part of THE GOLEM'S EYE storyline centers on the activities of a London resistance group that is fighting to overthrow the magicians' government. Nathaniel's inability to track down these criminals is part of the reason he needs Bartimaeus's help. Of course, the djinni has little interest in helping magicians maintain their dominance. After all, they're the ones who continually force him and his kind into servitude. This conflict of interest makes for some entertaining scenes and conversations. <BR/><BR/>If you have not read THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND, I strongly recommend you pick that one up before diving into THE GOLEM'S EYE. Technically, you don't have to read the first one, but there is an awful lot of background you will miss if you don't. Plus, it's really fun. <BR/><BR/>Normally I find myself disappointed in sequels. Somehow they never seem to live up the expectations established by the original. But in this case, I was pleasantly surprised. This book is full of excitement, political intrigue, and humor. Bartimaeus is back with all of his cheeky comments, and there are plenty of thrills to go around. Overall, a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Reviewer

    It answered a lot of unanswered questions from the first book. It explained who Kitty and the Resistance was. It has a lot of fantasy, mystery, and action. It¿s a hard book to put down, and it always wants you wanting more. Some parts are very confusing if you don¿t read the first of the trilogy, The Amulet of Samarkand. I really liked how Stroud added another point of view, Kitty. With her telling some of the story it answered a lot of my questions about the resistance and what they do. Kitty¿s points of view were a lot better then I thought. I still have questions about this book and I hope that they¿ll be answered in the next of the trilogy. It was a lot better then the first. It has a great story line which tempts you too keep reading. It has a great story line which tempts you too keep reading. I highly recommend this to anybody that likes fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9