Customer Reviews for

Golf is Not a Game of Perfect

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    golf psychology

    Partially, what I got from this book was to not get too down on myself when hitting a bad shot. The author does go into a lot of true stories of how helped professional golfers improve at golf. The book's intent is to show you how to be more confident at golf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great book

    For golfers who suffer from anxiety of performing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Good book

    Good insights to the mental game. I would also highly recommend Mentalrules for golf by Dr. Gregg Steinberg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Golf is not a game of Perfect

    I've been playing competative for about 3 years now and I have been trying to figure out a way thats gives me an edge over other players. This book was that edge. No matter what your hadicap or skill level, this book will help you. The mental game is so important in sports that you really need to have a good mind. I never thought in a good or positive attitude both on the golf course and in school, but now I am much better at that now. I strongly recommend this book to anyone that is serious at trying to get better at golf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Golf's Mental Side (the most important side)

    Dr. Bob Rotella is a sports psychologist, part of a modern genre of athletic coach much in demand now in the high-stakes world of professional golf. He's worked with top pros like Tom Kite, Nick Price, Seve Ballesteros, and Val Skinner. Rotella's book is geared primarily to the low-handicap player, but some of his advice works for golfers of all skill levels. He distinguishes between 'nervousness' and 'fear,' making the point that being nervous on the golf course can be an asset (the added adrenalin provides extra distance) but being fearful is always bad. 'Don't hit the ball in the water,' a negative swing thought, usually leads to a ball in the water. Why? Because the mind is devious, and will cause golfers to make the very mistakes they most dread making. He's right on the mark in urging players to keep positive swing thoughts uppermost at all times...hard as that is to do. Rotella's book would have been more helpful to weekend golfers if his anecdotes had been more inclusive of their peer group. He tells us what made Tom Kite and Nick Price into champions...but they were already successful pros before seeking his help. He might have cited middle-level amateurs who became scratch players under his guidance. The book is well written and can be read in a day. It's a worthwhile addition to the golfer's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Made me immediately play better

    I read this book as well as two other Rotella books ('Putting Out Of Your Mind' and 'Golf Is A Game Of Confidence') and immediately started playing better. I'd estimate that I've dropped from 6 to 8 strokes off my average score. Following what Rotella prescribes in this and his other books, the basic themes are: 1) practice smarter, concentrating on every shot as though you're on the course 2) when putting, believe you'll sink every putt regardless of length/difficulty 3) don't dawdle over every shot, just visualize the ball going where you want it to go, get set up, and hit the ball 4) leave the mechanical swing thoughts on the practice range. A lot of what he writes about is common sense, but the way he puts it seems to really make an immediate impact. I simply started playing smarter golf, not getting angry with poor shots, and that alone can take several shots off your score. I'd say this book is a must-read for any golfer serious about improving his/her game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    A wonderful place to start

    I've only been playing for a few years but must admit that this book helps with the all around mental approach I have for the game. I think many golfers can identify with the anger that comes with poor shots - reading this book helped me keep perspective and handle situations in a much more constructive manner. The result is a lower score - I went from high 90's to high 80's this season and I feel that this book helped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Perspective for the highly competitive player.

    This book helped me take a better perspective on my game. Like many others, I am highly competitive and this often leads to greater risk taking on the golf course. After reading this book I found some of the tools 'Doc' offers very effective in helping me manage my mistakes. My game has since improved by an average of 8 strokes after one year using 'Doc's' suggestions for practice and focusing on the task at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Sound advice, sensibly applied

    Rotella has cut to the basics in this easy read which provides a fun, motivating look at the most challenging and fun games around. By helping the reader develop a proper mental approach to the game, Rotella conveys a strong sense of confidence in everyone's ability to improve, simply by thinking differently about the game. One of his key recommendations regarding putting has stuck in my mind and proven most beneficial: Look at the hole, look at the ball, and let it go. An easy read that just may make a difference in your golf game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2