Customer Reviews for

Golfing with God: A Novel of Heaven and Earth

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    uplifting novel

    My heart actually skipped a beat at times when I read this novel. I recently experienced the sudden death of my husband, also a golfer, and this book was cathartic in helping me through this loss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Silliest Book Ever

    Knowing I am an avid golfer my wife picked this book up for me. Out of respect to her I plowed through it but it had to be the silliest book I have EVER read! It is hard to write good golf fiction and this is probably one of the worst. The author mixes religion and golf and he blends it like oil and vinegar. Save your time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    We should all live life as golf should be played!

    I enjoyed the author's vivid imagination discribing his perception of heaven, how we get there and life as it can be experienced. At times I laughed out loud but then found myself rapidly turning the pages anticipating the next encounter. Great read for those that enjoy the game and life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    A very enlightening story

    This is a wonderful story. If you are a golf fanatic (and have even a rudimentary imagination) you will find this book enjoyable. It is a story of one man's trials on earth and in heaven and has lessons for us all, lessons in life and in golf. The author¿s description of heaven and how the universes work is wildly original, interesting and at times funny. Imagine playing golf with God who one day is in the form of a man and another day in the form of a woman and hits massive drives yet suffers from the very human golf ailment, the yips. Golf is just a metaphor for how we live and how we act in this life, in lives past and future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A Christian Version of Breakfast with Buddha

    Much like Merullo's other book Breakfast with Buddha, this book deals with a somewhat selfish somewhat skeptical Middle-aged Male who has a spiritual journey forced upon him by circumstances beyond his control. This time the character dies and goes to heaven and is approached to fix God's Yips during his golf game. Is it a way to force a spiritual quest upon the character or is God really in need of Golf coaching? What happens is an examination of life, spirituality, religion, etc. brought on by the Golf coaching job. I liked the book. I liked the Breakfast with Buddha book. But in both I haven't liked the main character. My prejudice? Maybe. But in both books I found myself not liking the main character and being a little put off by how dense or insensitive they seemed to religious or spiritual matters. Maybe it's because neither character ever questioned their lives until God or Rinpoche forced them to. And they seem so self satisfied (smug almost) before and so spiritually aware after. But still in all I recommend both books. This one maybe a B+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    This is a must read if you play golf!

    If you are a golfer this is a must read! It is humerous, philosophical, and brilliantly written. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    A FUN-FILLED AND INSIGHTFUL BOOK

    Roland Merullo has created a fine book! I laughed aloud a number of times and was alway eager to see what was going to happen next. I would recommend this book to anyone who either likes golf, or else thinks they might experience the transition known as death sometime in their future. Falling into either catergory would be good. Both, of course, would be best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    8,187 golf courses in heaven and growing, Wow!

    Hey, where else can you play a round of golf with Jesus, Moses and Mary, beat the Devil by one stroke and save humanity while taking a road trip with God. My golf game just got less complicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1