Customer Reviews for

Golf's Sacred Journey: Seven Days at the Links of Utopia

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    This profound book is not really about golf; it is about life.

    I purchased this book and read it at the suggestion of a good friend, despite knowing absolutely nothing about golf. It reads surprisingly like an autobiography, yet it is a novel whose author had a very poignant agenda in writing. The story unfolds by a pro-golfer who earns the distinction of the hightest score in a professional tournament. Needing to refocus his game and skills he take a week out to do so at a small golf course in Utopia, Texas. There he meets a coach that helped him find his game again, probably better than before his embarrassing tragedy. Each day was full of completely different experience that helps him transform not only his golf game but his priorities and life. I could not put this short book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Great Read...What is the purpose of life?

    The first interest in this book was some of the chapter themes on golfing, fishing, painting, flying. It was more than just a collection of stories of doing "guy" stuff or things that help one escape from the mundane activities of life. It is a story of soul searching...coming to the end of one's rope and knowing there has to be more to life than what I do. What will be the significance of the life I have lived? Is it a list of accomplishments, awards, recognition or will it be pouring into another person's life so they can do the same for another. If you are just looking for some golf tips then this may not be the book for you, but if you are seeking to find a purpose or vision then start the journey to Utopia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    JoJo

    This was an excellent book which I would recommend to anyone.
    Even thought it is about Golf, the life lessons are for everyone. I will recommend this book to all of my friends and family. Can't wait to see the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome book

    Really good read. Very inspirational. Husband does not read and he liked this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Life lessons!

    Amazing book! A good read for the golfer or anyone needing a better outlook on life! A MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    SFT

    Great book, i actually live in utopia...yes it is a real place. And it has a great meaning to it. Wonderful life story. Well worth the buy. Plus there is a movie on it too that is well worth seeing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Faith & Golf Go Hand-in-Hand

    Saw the movie and ordered the book - Both were instructional and inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    This book was given to me by a relative,even if you know nothing

    This book was given to me by a relative,even if you know nothing about golf it is a great book about lessons in life and must read for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    God is the biggest part of it

    I fell that god is the biggest part of this book and that is how luke learns to cope with his feelings that is why david cook wrote this bok in the first place and

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Slightly Recommended - Only for those that think as fast as a golf tournament.

    I read the whole thing. It was a rather slow read for me. The plot moves slowly and is quite predictable. It is a bit like a self-help book, but I can think of a number of self-help books that are more helpful than this one. Unless you like the game of golf, I do not recommend this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Good read for golfers

    Awesome and inspirational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Nice story & easy read

    As a weekend golfing hack I enjoyed this book for the golfing/life/spiritual lessons it covers within a good story and interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    great book

    It was a great book for golfers or just any person needing a direction in life. The skills taught are what we need in today's world. If you take all of those and put them to work you can be successful but in the end it is the true question you must answer. Are you really happy iwthout him in your life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Recommend

    Good Book but too short. Didn't get in to the ending as much as anticipated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Evderyone should read this book.

    Great book with many situations most of us can relate to. Fast read that leaves you thinking about your life and what is important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great reading - especially for golfers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I was expecting

    I found the style of the story was very hurried, and the author had not taken the time to flesh out the events leading to the crash and burn of the main character and why it was such a major event in his life, which to me made it somewhat unbelieveable.
    I was not expecting the ending as I had not realised that this was a religious book, and kept thinking 'something has to happen soon', which, to be fair it did, but as I thought this was a novel I was expecting something different.
    It is not a badly written book and a very easy read and it's main message is very valid if you are a follower of religion or not.
    So if you want inspiration in how to view life then this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    For the Golfer and Christian, or for those struggling with their self worth, this book is a must read. It's quick but can be used as a reference over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Highly recommended!!!!

    AWESOME book-I couldn't put it down! MUCH, MUCH better than the movie which I just saw and was not that impressed with. The movie left out a lot of the really neat instruction-advice Johnny gave out. Book is also very easy to read. I think any golfer, any person of faith and just anyone in general who likes stories about personal motivation that aren't preachy but just a good story told will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Golf' Sacred Journey

    I found the book so inspiring that I purchased 10 more of the books to give to friends. They have all been very appreciative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3