Customer Reviews for

Goliath (Leviathan Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Highly Anticipated!

I've read Leviathan and Behemoth, the books preceding Goliath. They were amazing! The idea of an alternate World War I with fabricated beasts and war machines makes an extraordinary read. Along with cross-dressing girls and runaway princes, I'm sure that Goliath will en...
I've read Leviathan and Behemoth, the books preceding Goliath. They were amazing! The idea of an alternate World War I with fabricated beasts and war machines makes an extraordinary read. Along with cross-dressing girls and runaway princes, I'm sure that Goliath will end the trilogy with a bang!

posted by Felicia_220 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

To HELP

Read nothing eat pizza and play video games!!!!! PS if you dont like video games read a book about them.

posted by 3736632 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Anticipated!

    I've read Leviathan and Behemoth, the books preceding Goliath. They were amazing! The idea of an alternate World War I with fabricated beasts and war machines makes an extraordinary read. Along with cross-dressing girls and runaway princes, I'm sure that Goliath will end the trilogy with a bang!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    YEAH!

    Alek and Deryn are on the last leg of their round-the-world quest to end World War I, reclaim Alek's throne as prince of Austria, and finally fall in love. The first two objectives are complicated by the fact that their ship, the Leviathan, continues to detour farther away from the heart of the war (and crown). And the love thing would be a lot easier if Alek knew Deryn was a girl. (She has to pose as a boy in order to serve in the British Air Service.) And if they weren't technically enemies.

    The tension thickens as the Leviathan steams toward New York City with a homicidal lunatic on board: secrets suddenly unravel, characters reappear, and nothing is at it seems in this thunderous conclusion to Scott Westerfeld's brilliant trilogy. - (Simon and Schuster)


    you know what that means!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    W

    "Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor, not a scientist". Best way to describe this book. Keith, I have a strong felling that if you don't countinue this series, riots will break out, there will be three days of darkness, swarms of locaust, volcanoes, earthquakes, MASS HYSTERIA!!!!!!!!! Pleas take this review seriusly. I am not the only fan that would love to see a WEDDING. Hint, hint, wink, wink. But seriusly this book is great, along with the others in the series. Please countine it with THE SAME CHARACTERS. Thank for your time.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    YAY!

    I loved the first two books. My only problem is that i really really hope that Scotted Westerfeld actually sets the romance instead of hinting towards it at thee end like he does in his other series like Uglies. Deryn and Alec 4ever. When he finds out, i think that a) he'll be very mad b) he'll be very confused c) he wont care because he loves her even though he thought she was a boy d) he'll think she is joking or e) all of the above. E is the easiest answer here, but who knows? Cant wait for the book!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Goliath is a truly satisfying end to a wonderful trilogy

    Alek and Deryn have circumnavigated most of the globe aboard the Darwinist airship Leviathan as they try to end World War I. Along the way, perhaps Alek will be able to claim his position as the true heir to Clanker Austria's throne. And perhaps Deryn will finally be able reveal her biggest secrets to Alek, namely that she is not just a girl but that she loves him.

    But as the Leviathan flies first to Siberia and then over the United States and Mexico, bigger problems arise as Deryn's secrets begin to unravel with alarming speed and Alek turns to a misguided lunatic in his continued efforts to end the War. The truth is supposed to set you free, but will it be enough to not just save Alek and Deryn but also end a war in Goliath (2011) by Scott Westerfeld (with illustrations by Keith Thompson)?

    Goliath is the phenomenal conclusion to Westerfeld's Leviathan trilogy which began with Leviathan and continued in Behemoth. It is also the perfect end to what is essentially a perfect trilogy. Goliath truly exceeded my already very high expectations.

    I worried about this book. What would happen to Deryn? Where would Alek end up? What about Alek and Deryn together? There were so many potential pitfalls and unfortunate conclusions. Westerfeld avoided all of them.

    Goliath is a truly satisfying end to a trilogy that was filled with actions and surprises from the very first pages to the very last. The whole series is a must read for anyone interested in speculative fiction, alternate histories or, of course, steampunk. As its dedication suggests, Goliath is also the perfect book for readers who appreciate a long-secret love story finally revealed. Truly wonderful.

    Possible Pairings: Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones, Dream Hunter by Elizabeth Knox, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series!

    I love this series, beautifully written and wonderfully made. Medium lexile and quick read. The covers aren't the best but don't judge them badly because of it. You would be missing out completely. The other books that lead up to this are:
    Leviathan
    Behemoth
    Hope this helps and enjoy the book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    once you pick this book up you wont be able to put it down. Great ending to an amazing trilogy!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Finallly!!!!

    I CANNOT wait for it to come out TOMORROW!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Awsome

    Gonna stay up till midnight

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Epic

    This is a great book! I was so happy when Alek andnDeryn finally got together at the end:) Though I do wish that there was a prolouge about their future...
    Overall a great book if you like SciFi or Historical fiction

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    To HELP

    Read nothing eat pizza and play video games!!!!! PS if you dont like video games read a book about them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Gay Scare !!!! (PS thats a good thing ;P)

    The description reminds me of bloody jack where jaimy starts freaking out because he thinks he's turning gay( b/c he likes jacky). When he found out she was a girl he was just relieved XD LOL

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Inspiring+book+series

    I+can+say++that+the+first+two+books+were+amazing.+They+inspired+me+to+write+my+own+novel.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Cool series. This book not quite as good as first two.

    This series has a lot of imagination, and interesting characters with compelling development and interactions. The world revealed in these books is fascinating and fully formed, with as many deeply drawn and well woven differences from our world, as there are striking similarities. Although you could say the two main characters have a somewhat unrealistic partnership in the first 2.5 books, during this one they run the risk of turning into a cliché. This book has a few more megalomaniac characters thrown in, and gets a bit crazy before the end. But it continues to deliver well-imagined action, even if the people become a little more one-dimensional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly Recommend - teens and adults

    My daughter (14 yrs) and I both read this series and really enjoyed them.
    Great adventure story with two strong characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    There needs to be another book

    I need a fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Ansolutely Wonderful!

    I absolutely loved this! I literally could not put this book down! I love how there is romance and tender feelings laced in with the action and great adventure! I have never loved a series more! Both of the authors did an amazing job with this! Perfect. Perfect job. I think the only think that could make it better would be to see this story on the big screen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awesome

    This series is incredibly well-written. I love how everything is semi-historically accurate. I really wished it focused on the romance more, though. And it would be great if the series continued, although the ending was very solid. Ugh, I wish Deryn wasn't taller than Alek. It makes the kiss at the end so much more unromantic - especially when you see the drawing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Holly

    Go to book 25 plz i ment to say that lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Awesome but needs a fourth book.

    I liked every thing about the books but the ending was really short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12