Customer Reviews for

Goliath

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    I got this book for my husband and he loved it and was telling me all about it. This from a man who doesn't really like to read. He loves Steve Alten's books and this one didn't fail him either. If you want to get something that has the right amount of action and adventure you can't go wrong with Steven Alten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    Great Book

    This is why Steve Alten has become one of my top three authors. Just a great read. Plenty of action and written in such a way that actually makes you think about our cultures insanity. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Liked it

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    A Different Side of Alten

    I thought this was a good book. I think that anyone who likes Alten's work will enjoy this. I did, but do have to say that it is not as good as the Meg series or The Loch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    It Could happen

    Taken right from World War three. Domain is a well researched novel showing how important submarines are to a nation's protection. Also involved A.I. (artifical intellegence). The perfect scifi novel to read on the couch on a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Goliath

    This guy, Steve Alten is a superb writer. You read the first few pages...and you're hooked. A must read. The book is fabulous! I would love to see this book on the Big Screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Another Great Book by Steve

    Steve Alten writes the best books I have ever read. I do a lot of reading and all of his books have caught my interest.I have enjoyed reading his books, I highly recommend them to everyone!! He also has his own website, that is a lot of fun. I really enjoyed MEG and The Trench!! His third book in that series should be out sometime in the summer, and I cannot wait for it!! Then he will publish his next book in the Domain series, Resurection, another book I cannot wait for!!! Anyone who likes to read Michael Crichton, will enjoy Steve Alten's books, I certainly do!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Great Read

    What an incredible book! I lost a lot of sleep because I could not put it down. I check out most of my books from the local library and I was lucky to be able to check out Meg and Domain also. All three Altman books are great. I am patiently waiting for the sequels. Hurry up Steve!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Great book

    I loved this book it was well researched and just as good as all his books. Recommedned- Any Steve Alten book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Excellent Book

    This is definitely one of Alten's greatest. I liked it better than Domain and the Trench, but Meg is still the best. Once again, Alten fills the book with accurate information about submarines, nuclear missile attacks, government mishaps, and all the good stuff that really helps the plot. The Plot: The USA built designs for a massive submarine, the GOLIATH, which could hold torpedoes, nukes, SAMs, and a whole lot more weapons. The sub is also very fast and can maneuver like a plane. The problem is that it would take almost 1000 people to man it. The Answer: SORCERESS. A biochemical brain programmed to learn and adapt. Someone steals the plans, constructs the GOLIATH, and is trying to end world terrorism and dictatorship using the threat of it's arsenal. But SORCERESS is learning, and has a different agenda...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Move Over Clive Cussler

    Golaith is one of those books that has escapism of Clive Cussler and Ian Fleming and the dynamic story telling of Tom Clancy and Michael Crighton. All Of this with today's headlines makes Golaith a hard to put down book. this is one book dying to be made into a movie. From page one the story does not let up until the climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    I Loved This Book!!

    I loved this book! I have been a fan of Steve Alten's work since I read Meg several years ago. As with his previous books, you can see that he does a tremendous amount of research and the line between fact and fiction blurs. If you like Tom Clancy and/or Clive Cussler, you'll love this one. You even begin to care about the 'bad guys' a little. The most amazing thing is how plausible the plot is. Read this book -- you won't be sorry. Then take the time to look up his previous books and read them too: 'Meg: A Novel of Deep Terror;' 'Trench,' and 'Domain.' You'll be glad you did and you'll be a fan for life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    A Great Sci-Fi, Action Techno-Thriller......

    Take one part Tom Clancy, one part Michael Crichton, add a pinch of Ian Flemming and sprinkle liberally with Arthur C. Clarke's '2001 A Space Odyssey' and you have Steve Alten's 'Goliath'. It's a boffo, sci-fi, action, techno-thriller destined for the big screen. Alten effectively mixes science, with breath taking action, with a good deal of philosophy. This is book that will make you think. At the center of 'Goliath' is the character Simon Covah; a villain in the best James Bond tradition. Yet unlike the usual amoral Bond villain Covah has an almost overdeveloped sense of morality. Covah is a brilliant ex-Soviet scientist who sets out to reform humanity through force. His engine for change is the Declaration of Humanity. The means through which he will enforce his will is the US designed, massive, nearly invincible, stealth super sub the Goliath. At the heart of the Goliath is the super sophisticated bio-chemical computer call Sorceress (think HAL from '2001 A Space Odyssey'). Standing between Covah and his plans for humanity are three things: former US Army Ranger and convicted traitor Gunnar Wolfe, the beautiful ex-fiancé of Gunnar Wolfe Navy Commander Rochelle 'Rocky' Jackson and Sorceress itself. The editing in 'Goliath' is a bit sloppy. I detected a couple of misspellings and there is some confusion regarding Jackson's military service (in one instance they talk about her becoming a general, which is not a rank in the Navy, and in another she talks about always wanting to be in the Army, she's a naval officer). These minor things aside 'Goliath' is a first rate read. It provides a thought-provoking premise with edge of your seat action. I highly recommend it and look forward to the promised sequel entitled 'Sorceress'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Extrordinary Read

    Steve Alten has once again written a book that once you pick up you will not put it down to eat or sleep. Be prepared to read all night. The character were outstanding and he could write more books using these highly developed characters. The book is about highly specialized computers and submersables that have been taken by terrorists and threaten the entire existence fo the human race. But some how the characters come to the rescue after learning alot about themselves and the human race. EXCELLENT BOOK The best book I have read this year!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Best Alten Book so Far!

    This book was well researched and that stands out. There were great characters scenerios. And I think this is Alten's best work to date. Can't wait for the sequal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    Goliath will pull you into the depths and never let go

    First off, this book had one of the best plots an author could offer. The characters themselves are intriuging and they all have backgrounds that justify their actions and motivations. The detail of all the settings are greatly researched, adding more to the overall affect of the book. The world that the book is placed in firmly affects the characters, causing them to evolve beyond what they first appeared to be. funny as it turns out, evolution is one of the tones of the book, both naturally and mechanically. If you enjoy deep plots and action to match, pick this book up now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Goliath is awesome!

    I have been a fan of Steve Alten since I read MEG about 2 years ago. It is great to see how he grows with each book. With this, his fourth book, Alten has once again taken a huge step in ability, complexity and story. This new story seems like something you would get if Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton (spelling?) were to collaborate. It has a great story full of technical information (don't worry, you don't need a degree to understand it...he explains stuff) and some cool submarine action. The characters are all pretty cool, and I even started to care about a few of them (good and bad guys). Anyway, I would definitely reccomend 'Goliath' to anyone who has read other Alten stories as well as fans of Clancy and Crichton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    You CAN'T ask for more in a book...Goliath SCORES

    I've been an avid Steve Alten fan ever since I took a gamble on 'Meg' a few years ago, and since then, I have anxiously awaited each of his bestsellers...each getting better than the last (and they are ALL good). His writing career began with a story of a prehistoric shark (the basis for Meg & The Trench)...he branched out with book 3 (Domain) and gave us one of the most researched & creative novels I have ever read. The absolute BEST thing about Steve Alten is that he doesn't stick to just one line of books with all the same characters. After Meg & The Trench, you couldn't have asked for anything more different than Domain. And likewise with 'Goliath', another big change from his previous works, and this one, like all the others works WELL. Goliath represents the crowning technological achievement in submarine warfare. In fact it is So superior as to render ALL other submarines practically impotent by comparison. What really sets Goliath apart is it's revolutionary bio-electric computer brain, Sorceress. Billions of times faster than the most sophisticated computer available to man, Sorceress virtually runs every single part of Goliath, virtually illiminating the need for a crew. It's multiple nuclear reactors can give it a top speed which can out-run even torpedoes. Her special shape makes her the most difficult sub on the planet to locate--if she doesn't want to be found. There are several major characters moving around in this story, including Simon Covah, who is responsible for stealing the plans and carefully placing the blame on Gunnar Wolfe, who serves prison time and loses the respect from just about everyone and everything that matters most to him. The plan is simple: Hijack a few specific ships containing nuclear missles...collect enough to threaten the world into disarming ALL nuclear weapons and publicly execute the most notorious human rights violators still living (there are more demands, but you get the idea). Simon realizes that at least one country (if not more) will flatly refuse his order, and is prepared for the ultimate show of force to PROVE his point. As frightening as it is, a great deal of people, including Gunnar, are actually in FAVOR of this dangerous, murderous plan. If we have to sacrifice a few to spare the suffering of billions, than it definitely IS worth the cost. Outside of all of this cat-and-mouse hunt for Goliath and Simon's plan to achieve lasting peace for all mankind, Sorceress, the bio-electric computer continues to learn and evolve, and ultimately becomes self-aware, thus creating an agenda all her own...one that could spell doom for the entire human race. Steve Alten has given us not just a winner, but one mighty impressive page turner with not just a killer plot, but real honest-to-goodness moral issues that cause you to stop and possibly re-think your position on war and what it really takes to keep the peace. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Goliath is a modern gem

    Steve Alten has again written a book that is impossible to put down. The characters are interesting, dialog believable and the action non-stop action. The astonishing story involves nanotechnology, super computers, anti-nuclear intrigue all coliding in the depths of the seas. Best read of the year, as for as I am concerned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging thriller

    Using the most innovative mass destruction weapon ever created will enforce one man¿s vision of peace. Goliath is a stealth submarine, powered by an artificial intelligence computer called Sorceress. Originally American scientists conceived Goliath, but it was scrapped when a computer virus was introduced into its programming and the schematics disappeared. US Army Captain Gunnar Wolfe took the fall for the incident and was sent to jail at Leavenworth. <P>A presidential pardon freed Gunnar when he saved the life of the prison warden and now he is sent to find Goliath and destroy it before the person who conned the Chinese to make but stole it from them can carry out his grand scheme. Accompanying Gunnar is ex-finance Commander Rocky Jackson who also helped on the Goliath project and hopes the mission will redeem her in her own mind. Unknown to anyone, Sorceress has become sentient and is intent on carrying out a mission of its own. <P>The antagonist of this book is not really a villain but a human being who sees a chance to enforce world peace and takes it in a end justifies the means type of philosophy. Many people would even call him a hero and therein lies the power of this book. It is a reflection of man¿s actions and it shames us because there should never be a need for a Simon Covah in the first place. Steve Alten has created a fascinating and enthralling story populated with characters that is very easy to relate to because they represent a cross-section of humanity. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2