Customer Reviews for

Gone: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hanauer is one of our best contemporary novelists. She writes wi

Hanauer is one of our best contemporary novelists. She writes with such stunning honesty and intelligence, nuance and clarity, about complicated, believable, interesting, and relevant characters and situations. GONE is so wonderful. It's funny and sad. You root for all ...
Hanauer is one of our best contemporary novelists. She writes with such stunning honesty and intelligence, nuance and clarity, about complicated, believable, interesting, and relevant characters and situations. GONE is so wonderful. It's funny and sad. You root for all the characters at once, even when they're at odds with one another. The scenes with the two children are powerfully realistic but classically literary -- dialogue reveals character and moves the plot along in Hanauer's work, and GONE might be her best yet.

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This author really understands the stresses that can disrupt a c

This author really understands the stresses that can disrupt a contemporary American family's life. The two children are beautifully and unforgettably depicted.n

posted by 2123660 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Hanauer is one of our best contemporary novelists. She writes wi

    Hanauer is one of our best contemporary novelists. She writes with such stunning honesty and intelligence, nuance and clarity, about complicated, believable, interesting, and relevant characters and situations. GONE is so wonderful. It's funny and sad. You root for all the characters at once, even when they're at odds with one another. The scenes with the two children are powerfully realistic but classically literary -- dialogue reveals character and moves the plot along in Hanauer's work, and GONE might be her best yet.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    This author really understands the stresses that can disrupt a c

    This author really understands the stresses that can disrupt a contemporary American family's life. The two children are beautifully and unforgettably depicted.n

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Not good

    Found the story line boring. Save your money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I loved this book. Hanauer tells, from both husband's and wife's

    I loved this book. Hanauer tells, from both husband's and wife's viewpoints, a page-turning story about a marriage that's starting to derail and a teenage girl who's on the verge of self-destruction; she sets it in contemporary times with an emphasis on the obesity crisis and the economic challenges of the recession. The man in this book is a formerly famous sculptor who finds himself depressed and unable to create; the woman is a part-time nutritionist (and private nutrition counselor) who has spent a lot of years mostly raising her children and suddenly finds herself having to be the sole supporter of them, both financially and emotionally, when the husband drives the babysitter home one night and doesn't return. Like Hanauer's other books, GONE is as funny as it is smart, deep, and real; Hanauer's writing brings to mind Tom Perrotta, Meg Wolitzer, even Jonathan Franzen in some ways, though she's much more sympathetic to her characters (who are beautifully drawn, both eccentric and totally real). This one is a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Disappointing, cont.

    ...after reading the overview. I just could not relate to the characters or get engaged in the plot. Really tried but I'm sorry...it was just dull.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved "Sweet Ruin" so I wanted to read more of the aut

    Loved "Sweet Ruin" so I wanted to read more of the authors novels. So I picked this one up, it was a good book, it was very realistic in the problems marriages can have, but it didn't live up to "Sweet Ruin" in my book. Enjoyable read though. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Truly the worst book I have ever read!

    Truly the worst book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Would recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing easy read

    This was an easy read. It was like watching a made for tv movie. Hanauer did an excellent job of developing her characters and making them "real." Anyone who has met challenges in their marriage will identify with the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Eve Adams has worked part-time and taken care of her children wh

    Eve Adams has worked part-time and taken care of her children while supporting her husband the sculptor. He has had some success in the past but now seems to be in a creative slump. Eve has taken her knowledge of food and written a book and counsels people how to eat healthy and lose weight. Her business is growing, the book goes into a second printing. Her husband, Eric. takes her out to celebrate. She thought the evening went fine until her husband leaves to take home the sitter and disappears.

    She has no idea where he went or what is going on but the sitter is missing too. She needs to take care of the kids, the house and the bills and wait to her from her husband. Is he gone forever?


    The characters in this story were very interesting. For the most part real and each with their own set of flaws. The one thing that bothered me about this book was passivity of the wife. I understand staying strong for your kids, being scared for the future, and not wanting people to know your husband left you but I felt she needed to put more effort into what was really going on, especially after the husband contacted their daughter. She took on the whole load herself including their quickly emptying checkbook.

    I wanted to hate Eric for just running away but he was definitely suffering from a major case of depression. I felt terrible for the kids and Eve had her hands full with a teenager trying to make the most of her father's absence by putting herself into some dangerous situations and a son just trying to understand why his dad left.

    This is a story of family dynamics, trying to balance everything, work, kids, family, marriage and life in general. The ending was just too easy for me. This was a major upheaval in this marriage and the reactions of all the characters just seemed off.

    The characters may not have acted in the way I wanted but this was still a good story of a very complicated life circumstances. I think that is what the author was going for, unexpected reactions by the characters. Otherwise this book would be like thousands of others. Written this way it creates conflict for the reader which got us involved in the story. You are actually upset with the way things are playing out and the pages keep turning.

    Yes, I am a bit conflicted. This is not a story that I am going to scream and shout that you must read but it still a worthy read. It may be a good group read because I think it would prompt healthy discussion. Sometimes we need a story like this to shake up our views a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Did not keep my intrest

    Never got past the first 50 pages. May try to come back at it. Have read 3 books insteed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    Could relate withthis couple on many levels. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1