Customer Reviews for

Gone (Alex Delaware Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    SPELLBINDING NARRATION OF KELLERMAN THRILLER

    After having narrated 19 of the incomparable Jonathan Kellerman's chiller/thrillers, actor John Rubinstein has become the Kellerman voice. And for these ears there couldn't be a better one. Whether stage, film or television Rubinstein has headed a cast. He appeared on Broadway in Pippin, Children Of A Lesser God, M. Butterfly, and Ragtime. TV fans saw him starring in Family, and his film credits include Red Dragon, The Boys from Brazil, and Getting Straight. As if that weren't enough he's also a composer and director. He possesses a wealth of talent and brings it all to this can't-stop-listening-to narration of Gone. Gone is an apt title as Dylan Meserve and Michaela Brand have disappeared. That's hardly worth a mention on the evening news as they're a pair of aspiring young actors who are known only to each other? Who will miss them? What does get plenty of press is when Michaela is found naked and hysterical claiming they were kidnaped by a masked gunman. However, it soon turns out to be the worst kind of publicity - authorities find that their abduction was a hoax. Michaela blames it all on Dylan, saying it was his idea to impress Nora Dowd, the owner of a local playhouse who didn't think they had acting ability. Kellerman's hero, criminal psychologist Alex Delaware is called in to interview Michaela. There was to be only one interview as Michaela is found murdered soon after. Dylan is, of course, the logical suspect. Alex and his sidekick, Milo, begin the hunt for Dylan which takes them to Nora and her playhouse. Once there they discover that other actors associated with this troupe have also disappeared. Who is a murderer, Dylan, Nora or an unknown madman? Kellerman fans will be well pleased with the latest Alex Delaware adventure. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    great read

    Thrilling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kellerman is Great

    I love his books! I got my mother to read this book and she lovefd it an now she is going to read him to. Deb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Love Kellerman

    Enjoyed this book. Plot kept you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enough already

    A little disappointing...maybe the series has met its end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    great book a must read

    this book was very hard to put down just kept you going and you kept wanting to read more a very good book and a must read for the mystery book lovers out there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    a great book to grasp and read!

    Undownputable is how I discribe this great book. I wont go into details here but like Monster this is a grabber to get. You wont be able to put it down! i could not until I was done with it. It is never disappointing at all. A great book to really enjoy all the way through. You will be greatly happy after youn read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Yawn

    This is a really boring book, and I also figured out very early on who the bad guy was. I kept waiting for something to happen, and halfway through was still waiting... three-quarters of the way through still waiting... ended up skimming to the end to the 'big surprise,' which I'd already suspected from the start, because I didn't want to waste any more time on it. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Alex Delaware & Milo Sturgis to the rescue once more. The story was pretty thrilling. The crime was ugly and disturbing. I enjoyed it alot. The ending was cute too. So I give it 2 thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Boring

    I found the story to be dull and uninteresting. It was apparent to me who the 'bad guy' was early on. There was no suspense, no tension, and little action. I also wish that Kellerman would learn something about the geography of the L.A. area. Typical of the geographical errors that populate his books, he has Lancaster 70 miles east of L.A. Try due north, Dr. Kellerman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    A roller-coaster ride of a thriller ...

    I love Alex Delaware and his cop buddy, Milo Sturgis. Blood-chilling¿the eerie mood of this creepy, crawly novel is vividly etched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Glad it's gone

    Any one can see from the novel that Kellerman is smart, however the novel leaves a lot to be desired. Not one I will recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Boring

    I have enjoyed all of the Alex Delaware novels until this one. I stayed with it because I thought it was bound to get better. It didn't get better until more than 2/3 of the way through. Kellerman's a very good story teller - I hope the next novel is a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Kellerman's best yet

    Intense, gripping, and thoroughly entertaining. Kellerman weaves a deep web of deceit, lies, and intrigue set against the backdrop of sinister settings. You can pick it up but you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    Tedious

    Rambling. Diverse, yet underdeveloped characters. Just enough of the same old formula to keep long time readers happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Amazed

    I was frankly amazed that the ushering into the 21st century would see us with this author coming up with yet ANOTHER great plot. How many great ideas can one person have?!!! The plot revolves around wannabe thespians who are drawn to Hollywood's fantasy world and become victims. It SOOO reminded me of McCrae's 'Katzenjammer' (which I just finished and loved) with its themes of deception and the movies. Great, great read, anytime of the year. How about the beach?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Delaware investigative tale

    Dylan Meserve and Michaela Brand met at the PlayHouse where they were taking an Inner Drama seminar. During the day he sold sneakers and she was a waitresses as both out of towners hoped to take Hollywood by storm. No one would care back home, Brooklyn and Phoenix respectively, if something happened to either of them. The two lovers vanish on the way home from a rehearsal. Three days later, they reappear battered and terrified near Latigo Canyon on a remote windy segment of the Malibu mountainside. Each claims a masked maniac abducted and tortured them. --- Their horrific tale fails to hold up under the slightest police inquiry and rather quickly empathy turns to loathing for perpetrating such a publicity stunted hoax. LAPD arrests Dylan and Michaela for false filing and the court orders psychological evaluations. Psychiatrist Dr. Alex Delaware examines Michaela he concludes she has some emotional issues especially depression and stress, but he also believes that her current overt conditions are caused by her being caught. He also feels there is something deeper, perhaps even a psychosis that he failed to identify in the short e had with her. Not long afterward, someone brutally kills Michaela with the missing Dylan as the prime suspect that is if he is still alive. LAPD homicide detective Milo Sturgis assisted by Delaware begins the investigation. --- The latest Delaware investigative tale is one of the best of this long running award winning series because the two wannabe actors provide a fascinating look at how far someone will go to achieve fame. The story line maintains a high degree of excellence, but is especially at its best when Alex, somewhat frustrated, talks with Michaela. Police procedural fans and those readers who appreciate a powerful psychological thriller will want to read GONE, a strong exciting thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Great Characters

    Kellerman is great at developing these characters, and the story is certainly unique as the reader knows a surprise could be around any corner and what seems the case may not be. I also recommend 'Between Shadow & Light' if you enjoyed this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    One of Kellerman's best...

    Another great Delaware novel!! Interesting story twist. I've read all of Kellermans books and usually I can pretty much make out who the bad guy is, but this time I was figuring it out along with the characters. I would have to say this is one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    One of the best in the Delaware Series

    I've followed this series for years and always enjoyed it (I do wish wife Faye would write more Decker books though!). But as with Cornwell's Scarpetta, have been wondering when the magic will end with this character set. Well, it hasn't yet. This book shows a new side of Alex's personal life, lonely and deciding between two women in his life, and grieving for a pet. The mystery is haunting, I did know who did it early on, but not why or (gulp) how. Excellent representation of the twisted nature of some people in this world. Terrific book, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3