Customer Reviews for

Gone (FBI Profiler Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Attention Getter

I have to say I started this book about 4 years ago around the time I was due to have my child, unfortunately I picked it up off & on again but never really had time to finish it until recently. Once I really took time to actually read it I found myself wrapped back in...
I have to say I started this book about 4 years ago around the time I was due to have my child, unfortunately I picked it up off & on again but never really had time to finish it until recently. Once I really took time to actually read it I found myself wrapped back in another good book of Lisa Gardner's that I really enjoyed. I have read all of Gardner's book up to this one and just like all others I really enjoyed this book and couldn't wait to see who the villian was. I really like how Gardner brings characters from her other books together, it makes them real. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy a good thriller or are a fan of Lisa Gardner.

posted by 1246968 on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just enough

This is one of my standard authors, I always expect to come away from the book feeling saited. Some of her books blow my hair back, this one not so much but I would recommend it anyway. I encourage you to browse her offerings. You may end up needing a hairbrush at some...
This is one of my standard authors, I always expect to come away from the book feeling saited. Some of her books blow my hair back, this one not so much but I would recommend it anyway. I encourage you to browse her offerings. You may end up needing a hairbrush at some point.

posted by Binker on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Attention Getter

    I have to say I started this book about 4 years ago around the time I was due to have my child, unfortunately I picked it up off & on again but never really had time to finish it until recently. Once I really took time to actually read it I found myself wrapped back in another good book of Lisa Gardner's that I really enjoyed. I have read all of Gardner's book up to this one and just like all others I really enjoyed this book and couldn't wait to see who the villian was. I really like how Gardner brings characters from her other books together, it makes them real. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy a good thriller or are a fan of Lisa Gardner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Been there and . . . Gone

    I love Lisa Gardner's unique writing style and 'Gone' is no exception. I enjoyed the fast paced action and the subtle yet revealing dialogue. After reading all of her books I feel as if I know Quincy, Rainie, Kimberly and Mac. I had no choice but to read the book in one night, but now I'm disappointed since it'll be another year before Gardner's next book comes out. I recommend reading the books in order. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Better Than Great

    This is one of Lisa Gardners best efforts to date. She hooks you at the beginning and does no let go. When Loraine is Depressed you can feel her pain. Dougie you know from the beginning, this child is trouble, and when it comes to him your anger flairs up. Mistreatment of a child just never to be tolerated I can't say enough about this book, it is great. There are also shocks along the way. I thought twice I knew who the kidnapper was, wrong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Just enough

    This is one of my standard authors, I always expect to come away from the book feeling saited. Some of her books blow my hair back, this one not so much but I would recommend it anyway. I encourage you to browse her offerings. You may end up needing a hairbrush at some point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Wow!

    I happened on this at the bookstore and had never read anything by this author before, so gave it a try. What a well written, cohesive book! Exciting and compelling, it kept me reading whenever I had a free minute. Even though this is the last in a series of books involving the same cast, it did not affect my understanding or enjoyment of the book. I plan to read all of Lisa Gardner's books. Hooray!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Surprisingly good

    I am not a huge fan of mystery novels -- but this one was truly wonderful. Realistic and was SO well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Another winner for Lisa Gardner

    This was a very good story line, I believe Lisa Gardner has another winner here. Fast paced, she hooks you from the first page. Very hard to put down once you start. Highly recommend this book, it is a good read. -

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Great Read

    Lisa Gardner is back! I was hooked from the beginning of this book. Great descriptions, you can almost feel some of the things that are being done to Raine. Scary plot, flows very well, and keeps you guessing. Everything I like in a mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    This book will hold you in its grips

    I'm a big fan of Lisa Gardner. It has all the mystery and guess work that is expected of her but it seemed to drag near the end and I kind knew who the culprit was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly recommended especially for the detective/mystery reader.

    This is a must read! It keeps you on the edge of your seat. It was difficult to put down. Lisa also gives a twist to the story. If you like to try to solve crimes you have got to read this one. I've read a few of the other books in the FBI Profiler series and this one is right at the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Always good

    Typical Gardner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Good read

    One of gardners best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Very good read!

    I enjoyed GONE by Lisa Gardner. The characters are great and well known now into this, the 5th FBI Profiler series novel. Gardner keeps you guessing and has a great way with the pen. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome!

    This book is so awesome; couldn't put it down; sort of dragged in the beginning because I hadn't read the book characters leading up to the Raine saga. But will definitely keep reading them. Lisa Gardner has done it again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Action packed and unpredictable, fast paced to the end leaving readers to wonder when Lisa Gardner sleeps; I'm off to buy a new FBI Profiler book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good One By Gardner

    Gone by Lisa Gardner is another suspense thriller that is fascinating. Rainie is the wife of a semi-retired FBI profiler (Quincy), a child advocate for 7-yr-old Dougie who has issues, and an alcoholic who is kidnapped on a stormy night from her car on a desolate road in Oregon seven days after her husband left her. It's a race against the clock to find Rainie before it's too late. The cops really have no leads and are at the mercy of the kidnapper who calls the shots. Quincy and his daughter, Kimberly-an FBI agent from Atlanta both become actively involved in the investigation. When Quincy overhears the kidnapper's voice he is shocked as was I at who it was. My favorite part of this book was Rainie fighting to figure out how to escape and protect Dougie. Dougie was a very interesting character who kept my interest. He provided an interesting facet of this novel. I enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who likes a thrilling mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended- you must read this book.

    This is the first time I heard about Lisa Gardner and she rocks I read 2 other books by her and she is a very good writer. I usually read James Patterson but I never heard of her before. She is not bad and her books are cheap.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Did not put this one down until I read the last page. This entire series is excellent, with many surprises.... Grabs you from the minute you open the book. Can't wait to begin the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    A good read!

    It was not her best but very entertaining once you were into the story, give yourself time to catch the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    A page-turner!

    Confusing at first...but then the story heats up-one of Lisa Gardner's good ones...usually enjoy her books and this one did not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13