Customer Reviews for

Gone (Wake Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 393 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this series & I'm sad to see it's GONE :(

This book was a quick read. I started it and finished it in one sitting (few hours). I wish that this book would have been longer. I think that for the last book in the series it was a little short. I am torn on whether or not I liked the ending. Not ever story can h...
This book was a quick read. I started it and finished it in one sitting (few hours). I wish that this book would have been longer. I think that for the last book in the series it was a little short. I am torn on whether or not I liked the ending. Not ever story can have the perfect walking off into the sunset ending and I can appreciate the more practical ending for this book but still I didn't feel the closure that is needed for the end if a series. All that being said I would still recommend this book for those who have read the first two. If you didn't read those then this one won't mean much to you. I did enjoy this series and I am sad that it is over :(

posted by acsimps on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

sort of disappointing

i read this book in a few hours and i was disappointed. i expected so much more from this author. the first two books were great, but this one didnt own up to my expectations. im sorry to see the series over, especially when GONE was left open-ended. i would recommend r...
i read this book in a few hours and i was disappointed. i expected so much more from this author. the first two books were great, but this one didnt own up to my expectations. im sorry to see the series over, especially when GONE was left open-ended. i would recommend reading itif you read WAKE and FADE.

posted by ms_edward_cullen_109 on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this series & I'm sad to see it's GONE :(

    This book was a quick read. I started it and finished it in one sitting (few hours). I wish that this book would have been longer. I think that for the last book in the series it was a little short. I am torn on whether or not I liked the ending. Not ever story can have the perfect walking off into the sunset ending and I can appreciate the more practical ending for this book but still I didn't feel the closure that is needed for the end if a series. All that being said I would still recommend this book for those who have read the first two. If you didn't read those then this one won't mean much to you. I did enjoy this series and I am sad that it is over :(

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    sort of disappointing

    i read this book in a few hours and i was disappointed. i expected so much more from this author. the first two books were great, but this one didnt own up to my expectations. im sorry to see the series over, especially when GONE was left open-ended. i would recommend reading itif you read WAKE and FADE.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend this trilogy!

    When we last left Janie in FADE, things were looking very, very bleak. It didn't seem possible that she could ever have a happy life--not with her boyfriend Cabel, not with her gift/curse of being pulled into other people's dreams, not in her relationships with her mother or her peers--none of it.

    But GONE brings Janie, and us, to a very emotional, TOTALLY unexpected, and completely satisfying end. Plenty of suspense, impossible choices, and heart-wrenching truths in this wild ride to the ending of the trilogy. Highly recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Went downhill

    I really enjoyed the first novel in this trilogy but by the third book, it all went downhill. The last book "GONE" had no real story line or suspense. You pretty much knew what was going to happen and basically all you had was a book about the main character's "feelings" and her final decision which bounced around for the last half of the book. Boring and not worth my time. Was hoping for an exciting ending and very dissapointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Flat read

    I just finished Gone and I am not really sure what to think. Imagine that.

    Gone picks up shortly after her and Cabels graduation. She has to make a decision between going to school, staying with Cabel, dropping in on others dreams and becoming blind with gnarled fingers or the alternative, isolation. She loves Cabel and knows his sincerity, but feels guilty for asking him to stay with her knowing what she will become. While pondering this, Janie finally meets her dad. Sort of. Through her dads dreams and her own, she finally comes to a decision, several decisions actually.

    This book has failed to live up to my expectations. Janie is in a pity party for three-quarters of the book, there is an obscene amount of unnecessary cussing, the story arch is flat and Janie's mom is still in the running for the worst parent in the world.

    I miss the Janie from Wake and Fade!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    A book that keeps you want more!!

    This book keeps you wanting more, I really enjoyed it because for me I'm not the big reader but I must say that Lisa McMann does a very good job bringing the reader into the book. This book is considered fantasy and mystery and when these to genres are combined they make a good combination.This is the last book of the series where Janie is faced with a hard decision and doesn't know what to do. She also becomes mature and realizes this is her life and her decision. If you have read the series then you know that Janie has the power of being sucked into people's dreams but in this book she has to choose to live isolated so she can live her life from being sucked into people's dreams or stay with the ones she loves. Well I don't want to give the book away so read it and trust me you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What an Ending!

    So often I find myself disappointed with the final installments of series. Not this time. I loved wake and fade, and Gone was such a great end to this series because it went deeper into Janie's life and what she had to do. I liked that this last installment didn't leave the reader in the dark like a lot of books, but I knew Janie was going to be okay in her future after all she went through. A really fast read! I'm going to reread the whole trilogy again this weekend. Thank you Lisa McMann for writing an amazing trilogy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    reviews & ratings are for if you've read the book

    You people do realize that reviews and ratings for books are only if you've read the book, not others in a series.

    For all you know this book could be horrible and the other two books be amazing.

    The first two may have been amazing, but I suggest you don't post a review based on previous books in a series.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sort of glad it's over....

    Well the final book wasn't very thrilling but it was a decent ending to the trilogy. The wrtiting style drove me crazy ( not in a good way) But the characters were well described and the plot was fairly decent as well...Overall I'd still say it's a mediocre story so it gets a mediocre rating from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awwwwww Man :(

    I was really disappointed in this last book. The other too were so good I couldn't wait for this book. Now that I've read it I'm so sad. I don't know what was about this one. It didn't even catch my attention as the other ones had. Yeah, sorry. I 'm glad i finished the series but I'm not happy with the ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Somewhat of a let down

    After the first two books, I was excited to see how it would end. I was surprised at the slow pace and lack of story. I was a little disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Not sad the series is Gone

    I read Gone in a couple of hours and really...it lacked substance. I fell in love with wake, my love started to fade with Fade and once Gone came around, so was my love. With a plot set up for a miserable ending with two options: be miserable by yourself, or, be miserable with Cabel, things might seem a little predictable. Of course, there's always the option of something incredible happening that the misery (aka blind, cripple, gnarled) disappears altogether. With so few strings left to be tied, i was expecting plot twists and new characters, new things to keep me on the edge of my seat and reading all night to finish. Instead, i fell asleep. There were little things here and there to keep my interest but other than that, nothing wowed me or brought back the feeling i recieved from Wake. For the first time, i found McMann's brief writing annoying and the lack of description possibly contributing to the reason the book seemed so empty. By the end of the book, i felt like it as three steps forward one step back. It took McMann two hundred pages of brief writing to end the book the same way it started. Open ended.

    Don't get me wrong. This is not by any means a terrible book. However, easily the third (aka last) favorite of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Suprising.

    I started reading this series as soon as it came out and I LOVED IT. Wake and Fade were amazing and I was really looking forward to Gone. I got the book yesterday and finished it. I was really disapointedwith it, Gone didn't live up to the other books in the series what so ever. I thought it would be soo much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lesley for TeensReadToo.com

    In the final installment of Lisa McMann's DREAM CATCHER trilogy, Janie finds herself in a dilemma a little closer to home.

    Janie receives a phone call that her mother is in the hospital. Once there, she discovers it is not her mother that needs help, but a mysterious man in a coma who seems to be calling to her from his dreams.

    By her side is her boyfriend, Cabel, who tries to help her as much as he can. When he starts to have terrifying dreams, Janie becomes torn between the love she has for him and what she feels is right to make him happy.

    Janie is learning more and more about herself and what a Dream Catcher's life entails. The last book is a conclusion of her final decision of her life ahead, what she needs for herself, and what she wants it to be for her and Cabel.

    If you haven't read the first two books of this series, WAKE and FADE, you will be lost throughout the third. A lot of the conversations had and people met are from the others, so I recommend you read them first.

    You won't be disappointed - this series is one of the best for Young Adult readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    I finished this book like last week. I got it early because i won a contest thingy that Simon & Schuster were doing. It was really good. Very deep. Its not AS good as the other two books but its still really good. Once i started i couldnt put it down. Its also really emotional. Janie has to make a few really tough decisions. I wont say what they are, you'll just have to read the book. Definitley worth buying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Amazing

    I love hisi actually read these three amazing books way more than once im sure ill come back and read it again lol i just love it so much!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    i enjoyed so much this series, too bad it's ended :(

    i enjoyed so much this series, too bad it's ended :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great!!!

    Love the series but y the end? Sad to see it go i couldnt put this one down so good left m wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    This final chapter in the Wake trilogy doesn┬┐t have the same kin

    This final chapter in the Wake trilogy doesn’t have the same kind of excitement from the first two. Here the conflict is solely within Janie herself and what options she has for her future. Her past comes colliding with her present and she’s forced to face her mother, Cabel, and everyone else in her life, and make the decision that will mean everything.

    It was a nice change of pace to read strictly about Janie and her life around her ability. There’s no case she and Cabel are working on, and we really focus on her as she explores the life of the stranger (that’s right, I’m not telling you who this person is), and tries to reconcile everything in her life with what she thinks is best. The only problem with this is that it slows the pace down a bit.

    In the end, it’s still an enjoyable book as we find closure to Janie’s story, even knowing how hard her future’s going to be one way or another. It’s a heart wrenching trip on a different level than the last two books, and I couldn’t really ask for more from the final chapter.

    Lisa McMann finishes the trilogy with a heartwarming finale. Every relationship in Janie’s life is capped in some way, and we’re shown that Janie is looking forward to her future, which is more than she could say previously. Don’t miss the conclusion in the Wake trilogy with Gone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    This book is pretty bare bones in style of writing, story, plot

    This book is pretty bare bones in style of writing, story, plot and theme. Everything that has been in the first two books seems to have magically disappeared. There is no real conflict. I don't care for Janie as much as I did in the first two books. In fact, I'm completely annoyed by her. For someone who travels into dreams and sees the darkest part of human nature, you would think that she'd be strong enough to handle certain things.

    Cabel. He's mainly just a shell of himself. He was a little too perfect in this installment. That annoyed me. Everything seemed to roll of his back. This is the same person who liked Janie even when he was undercover and had to pretend to like someone else.

    It pained me to the point that I had to put the book down a few times, because I couldn't stand all the self-degradation that Janie was feeling for herself. I really just wanted to slap her around and tell her to grow up and deal with things like adults do. Adults don't run away or isolate themselves. We pull ourselves up by our bootstraps and do what we have to to make it through another day. I felt her pain was self-inflicted and she was the one who could control her destiny. Not leave it to others to make that decision for her.

    Introducing the stranger into her life was the wrong way to go with the last book in the series. I don't think it wrapped anything up for us. It didn't explore new avenues for Janie to look into. We didn't get any insight into why she is a dream catcher. Nothing was really tied up nicely and given to us on a platter.

    I'm a huge fan of Lisa and this series, but this ending just disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20