BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gone (Gone Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(943)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Gone!!!

If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town o...
If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town of Pedro Beach. And Sam Temple somehow is running it all. But he doesn't realize that people (besides him) have powers, super speed, telekinessis, teleportation, and super strength, just to name a few. And when an evil kid named Caine comes into the town (which is covered in a giant dome) Sam has to dicide whether to buy into Caine's to good to be true story,or keep guard and protect the kids of Pedro Beach. This book has too many good elements to even type, so all I can say is read GONE!!!

posted by Hallxyz on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Tries to do too much

I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to...
I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to tackle way too many issues and the plot suffers for it. I think the book could have whittled down the number of characters covered and focused on a core three or four as they try to make their way in this brave new world. As is, the characters aren't given time to grow and isn't that what the book is all about?

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1340 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 67
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Awesome book

    This was a great book. I literally couldnt put it down. It was suspenseful but not very action-packed. I would have liked to see more action and a little less detail. Im currently reading the next book in the series, Hunger. Im a little less than halfway done and im surprised i had time to even write this review wirh how long ive been reading. I cant wait to finish the series!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Thanks Mom!

    My Mom got me this as a surprise from my school Book Fair. She gave it to me, and as a non-reader, I told her she shouldn't have gotten it. My Dad got mad and grounded me from using my laptop, cell phone or any electronic for that day. I picked up the book and started reading it. Got interested right away, seriously couldn't stop. I kept saying to myself "Just this last chapter, then off to sleep. Ok, maybe one more."

    I've just finished reading the 3rd one, waiting for "Plague".
    I guarantee you'll love them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    The Story Siren Reviews

    This is my first exposure to Michael Grant's writing, and he totally blew me away. Maybe it was because I am partial to the sci-fi/fantasy genre, but truthfully I don¿t think it had anything to do with it. This story was just.... WOW! Imagine sitting in class one day, maybe you are paying attention to your teacher, maybe you are daydreaming about surfing, then all of a sudden your teacher disappears. What would you do? It just so happens that this very scenario happens to Sam Temple in his history class. It turns out his teacher isn¿t the only on missing, it turns out that anyone over the age of thirteen is missing. Not just missing but disappeared. No cell phones, no television, no Internet. Poof gone! Sam has been in a horrific experience like this before, well maybe not exactly like this. Sam had saved a bunch of kids in a school bus after the driver had a heart attack, good ole¿ School Bus Sam. Sam was a natural leader, but he didn¿t feel like it. Everyone was looking up to him for answers, but all Sam felt was guilt. Guilt because there was a possibility that this was his fault. Sam has this little problem, he can shoot beams of light out of his hands and burn people¿s hands off. Literally. But I guess things like that happen when you live in Fallout Alley. Thankfully Sam isn¿t alone. He has is best friend and surfer brah, Quinn. The genius Astrid, who Sam has secret feelings for, and the faithful and dependable, Edilio. Of course in any untamed civilization there is always a power struggle, those who have it and those who want to take it away. It turns out that Sam isn¿t the only one that has 'powers.' When the kids from the private school Coates Academy show up, Sam and Astrid realize there is something more going on. It also doesn¿t help that the kids from Coats and the kids from Perdido don¿t exactly get along. Caine from Coates Academy comes in, dazzles everyone with his charm and takes control of the FAYZ, a.k.a. Fallout Alley Youth Zone. Caine has his own secrets. He has powers of his own. And if he thinks your powers might be a threat to him, he takes care of you one way or another. But when Caine¿s sinister sidekick Drake allows a girl to be beaten to death with a baseball bat, for doing a 'magic trick' things go from bad to worse. Caine knows that everyone looks up to Sam as a leader, so starts the battle of good vs. evil. Besides Caine has his own hidden agenda toward Sam. Oh! And did I mention that when you turn fourteen, you poof too. So not only does Sam have to save his new world, he will be fourteen in a week or so. No worries though. Yeah right! There are so many twists and turns in the plot that you won¿t be able to put this book down until it¿s well, gone. But don¿t fret, this is only the beginning of a six-part series. The characters are well developed. I love when you feel like you really connect with characters, and this was one of those experiences. You not only get to experience Sam¿s part of the story but the views of many other characters. There is action, suspense, romance, and fantasy all rolled into one. Gone is a spectacular beginning to what I can only hope will be a thrilling series! Amazing!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Horrible

    I read until page 21 and then was grosed out so i stopped reading

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I actually started this about two years ago and I have to admit,

    I actually started this about two years ago and I have to admit, I only got so far before I stopped reading it altogether. I think it was just because I wasn’t really getting into it at the beginning and I was too impatient to stick with it. But this time I did, and honestly? It was so worth it.

    Sam Temple is sitting in class with his fellow students, listening to Mr Trentlake teaching them about the Civil War when suddenly, he disappears. No warning. Just poof. Gone. And it’s not just his teacher. It’s every teacher, every parent, everyone, in fact, aged 15 or over. Following this strange and disturbing event is the discovery of a barrier, something the kids come to call the FAYZ. What then begins is a battle – a battle to keep order and structure in a world that suddenly has no rules and, ultimately, a battle to survive.

    Michael Grant is a truly brilliant writer. The world he has constructed here is, I think, quite true to what would actually happen if such a thing occurred. There’s always going to be someone who jumps at the chance to exploit a bad situation – in this case, someone who wants power over everyone else. Likewise, there’s always going to be someone to balance it out and fight for what is right. This makes a power struggle inevitable and Grant has really portrayed and developed this idea well. Vivid and realistic, I was able to visualise this world clearly and share in the brutality and peace, the hope and despair. The author does not shy away from the dangers and realities of such circumstances, and so the harshness is reflected here, making it all the more believable. I also liked the fast pace. There were times when I found my interest waning, but it always picked up.

    Sam Temple blew me away by how strong he was. He was a compelling mix of strategic fighter, capable leader and regular guy. Sam knew how to step up to a situation. Sure, he didn’t want to be the one everyone looked up to, but when it came to crunch time, he accepted that responsibility. Modesty was his response to people’s claims of his heroism. Mixed in with that were moments of self-doubt and anger that it all came down to him. Mixed in with that was a school crush which then evolved into something deeper. He sounds too good to be true here, but when you read the book, you know what he comes across as? Real. Sam Temple is real.

    When I started this, I had misgivings about reading from what is, for me, such a young perspective. But those soon went away, because it struck me that that perspective grew to sound a little older. A lot of the characters sound slightly older than their years. I think that it really worked in this case, because the events these characters go through are gruelling. Tough. Yet Grant doesn’t do this unrealistically. There are still youthful turns of phrases and behaviours that keep these characters true to their ages and all the more real.

    One character I took exceptional issue with was Sam’s supposed best friend Quinn. To be honest, I reached a point where I was just sick of hearing his voice. I found him to be such a weak character, personality-wise. I can understand him freaking out, but in light of all the stronger characters around his, I couldn’t understand how consistently pathetic he was. Constantly whining and resentful, he dithered between being the puppet of Caine and Orc (those in favour of power and brutality) and trying to stay in Sam’s good books. He didn’t have the guts to pick one side and stick with it. Any trace of his morality evaporated. And he wasn’t the only one. Jack was another to earn my disdain.

    Orc was someone I really didn’t like. Not in that I was scornful of him, like with Quinn, but in the sense that I couldn’t believe what he was doing. His sole focus on becoming someone to be feared disgusted me. The acts that focus drove him to, disgusted me. It’s strange because while Caine was just as evil, if not more so, I didn’t have quite the same reaction to him. I didn’t like him, but Cain was different. Much as I’m less than impressed with these characters, I do think it’s a sign of good writing here, because all of these character types can be found. Plus, it all gets a reaction. Grant wrote in third person, but from different perspectives, and I enjoyed reading from all these different voices.

    Overall, Gone was much more impressive that I thought it’d be. I seem to have this thing where I read books after all the hype, so I’m pretty late on this one. Fast-paced, action-packed and less straightforward than this review owns to, Gone is not a book you want to have missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Luv it

    Luv it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Originally posted on my blog: [...] "What do you think tha

    Originally posted on my blog: [...]

    "What do you think that fish is?' Sam asked Astrid.
    She peered closely at the alleged fish. 'I think that's an example of Pesce inedibilis,' she said.
    'Yeah?' Sam made a face. 'Do you think it's okay to eat?'
    Astrid sighed theatrically. 'Pesce inedibilis? Inedible? Joke, duh. Try to keep up, Sam, I made that really easy for you.'
    Sam smiled. 'You know, a real genius would have known I wouldn't get it. Ergo, you are not a real genius. Hah. That's right. I threw down an 'ergo.''
    She gave him a pitying look. 'That's very impressive, Sam. Especially from a boy who has twenty-two different uses for the word 'dude."

    Publisher: Harper Collins
    Publishing Date: July 1, 2008
    Genre: YA, Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Adventure, Fantasy
    Series: Gone #1
    Received: From library
    Others by this Author: Gone series, Magnificent 12 series, BZRK

    Goodreads Synopsis:In the blink of an eye. Everyone disappears. GONE.
    Except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not one single adult. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened.
    Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents--unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers--that grow stronger by the day.
    It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else...

    Review: This book, like City of Bones, has been long overdue on my TBR, and I am so glad the review mania helped me finally get to it because it is AMAZING!!!

    Plot: No time for slow, boring descriptions or preludes! This book goes right into the action with all the adults disappearing by the first line! This book just took fast-paced to a whole new level. From the disappearance of the adults to the unfolding of the kids' special powers to the ultimate battle at the end, this book just totally rocked my world. Sure, it's full of action but Grant is also great at emotions too. When the characters break down, it's so heart wrenching. You want to look away as if you were invading some kind of privacy. After around 50 pages, it seems to get a little dull, but don't you worry because another few pages you're more hooked than ever!

    Characters: For once, characters act like their age. They don't just suddenly rise up to the challenge, especially not Sam. He's the reluctant hero type, wishing he could fall back into the shadows and invisibility and though he is an awesome leader near the end, for a while, he just hides and leaves when he is thrust into a position of responsibility. That made him really likable for me, because that is just exactly what a 14-year-old would do (including me, I am sorry to say). Astrid also is someone I would meet in everyday life - the lonely girl who hides it by being a smart know-it-all. Her brilliance earns her respect but she's also modest and kind and truly caring. Her similarity to Hermione (you know who I'm talking about!) definitely earns her some brownie points. Without a doubt, the evil guys deserve a mention too. Where would we be without the Caine and Drake to fight? Caine, again, is totally believable. He's been early on given these super abilities and never been told right from wrong, so he misuses his powers to hide that he is vulnerable: being abandoned by his parents at an early age and rejected by his love is sure to have its effects.

    POV: The book goes through alternating points of view of some of the main characters - Sam and Astrid, to someone else, to Lana...That felt weird and kind of forced, but I suppose it was needed to get the back stories of characters that were away from the main action as Lana was. But third person omniscient might have been better overall.

    Romanciness: Arr Sam and Astrid. So cute and again I must stress believable. Sam has had a crush on this beautiful, smart, too-good-for-him girl since forever and it's only after the FAYZ that he has a chance with her. Now for some speculation...*SPOILER ALERT* Is Diana kinda, sorta into Sam? That would make for an AWESOME love triangle, much better than the usual two guys and a girl. Also, does Drake have a crush on Diana? I just have this feeling...*SPOILER ENDS*

    Narration: Most of the main characters are 13- and 14-year olds but it's definitely not a children's book. I love the dark tone of the book that makes it more of a older YA book and I'm sure it will only get darker and gorier as the series progresses. YAY!

    End: Can I say AMAZING? It resolves some stuff such as how the FAYZ came about, and the very end leaves you at a cliffhanger but it was resolved enough so you didn't end up feeling like you were going to rip your hair out if you didn't get the next book RIGHT NOW. I hate when that happens (I'm looking at you, Ashes!)

    Similarities: Gone shows striking similarity to Lost, obviously and a lot of people have mentioned the similarity of Heroes with the sudden acquiring of super powers. As a Harry Potter fan, the relationship between Sam, Astrid and Quinn also reminds me of the Harry-Hermione-Ron trio. Harry/Sam would be the unwilling leader, Quinn would be Ron - the guy who has some identity issues and dissatisfied with his last place in the group as he sees it, threatens to leave. And you can just see Astrid as Hermione, both the only girls and both brilliant.

    More About the Series:Wikipedia tells me that Gone, Hunger, Lies, and Plague have all been published. Fear will be released April 3, 2012 (the date's coming up fast!) and Light will "presumably" be released in 2013.

    Recommended for: Everyone who likes a dark twist to their YA!
    Sensitive Themes: Well, there is quite a bit of gore, just so ya know!

    I borrowed this book from my local library to read and post an honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Yes

    An 11 year old could read this

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Novastar

    Lets go back to long ago. C u there

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Eew!

    The book started out fine but it came kind of morbid and gross. Who wants to hear about some girl getting all banged up and some of her bones poking up? Not me. I hate just dropping a book and leaving it unfinished, but i closed it and never opened it again when it told how they cut this guy's arm off in extremely disgusting detail. Don't read this book unless you like boring stories and almost barfing when you read certain parts.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book ever!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Took Me By Surprise

    My friend showed me this book- and needless to say, it was indeed a smart move on my part to read it.

    The plot is simple. One day, everyone 15 and over vanishes. "Poofs". The thing that really draws one in is how the kids adapt to this change. Suddenly, they as children need to fend for themselves, some younger and some older.

    Bullies rein in what is now called the FAYZ. Even better, many children are developing strange powers, from harmless to deadly. Sam, who was once a kid most overlooked, now is volenteered to be leader. He too is a mutant. Things begin to unfold, and soon enough one of the best-written battles I've read since Percy Jackson and Harry Potter begins.

    And excellent read, even if you're not into Sc-Fi or anything like that. The story is not really about the FAYZ itself- It is about those who must live with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Freaking Fantastic

    I love the series, it's absolutely outstanding!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    GONE

    After reading the book, I have recommended it to my friends and can't wait to read the next book in the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    hay this is good

    Gone, by Michael Grant, is the classic tail with a no body hero stepping up to stave off the darkness of chaos and evil. There are many twists and turns and some dead ends for our heroes, Sam, Astrid, Qin and Edilio. They are faced with some interesting dilemmas as well as with love, friendship and some new problems that are unique to Perdido Beach.
    Sam is an ordinary boy who has to step up. Astrid, the genius; Qin, his bro; and Edilio, the "mister fix-it", are Sam's friends. They help Sam overcome his inner struggles and help him out of hard spots. On the other side are Kane, Diana, and Drake. They are out to stop Sam. All they want is to control Perdido Beach. Will Sam and his friends be smart enough to beat off these bullies?
    Overall, I liked Michael's book. He kept me enthralled all the way to the end, but it ends too soon! He left so many unanswered questions and the answers you get, led to many more questions. If you love fiction as much as I do, you will love this book. You people that don't like fiction, this book is packed with true to life characters in real situations. Get this book on your booklist today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    AMAZING!!

    My all time favorite book. I've read it 6 times and I'm on my 7th. It makes you feel like you are each character. I love the thrill of turning each page. It is a must read for anyone. I didn't think it was my type of book, I like Gossip Girl and The Clique. But it was the best. MUST READ!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book....

    I love this book so much that it is very hard to explain, so you have romance and yet you have people dying and animals and people mutating and also teamwork and deception. I love that every once and awhile the author is changing the perspective of the reader to some other character. I loved that I had no idea what was going to happen next and thats what I was hoping for in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    awsome

    I loved this book so much I almost loved it as much as twilight ' I know I never thought I would have said that'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Amazing book, 5/5

    If everyone over the age of fourteen dissapeared, a wall came around you, and things develop mutations, it's a book I want to read!

    Amazing plot, I even grew attatched to the characters. I'm getting the fourth book in the series soon. Amazing book, reccomended read for ages 11-15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    A great book! A must buy!

    I can't put this book down! I keep saying "after this chapter" but each time I read on to the next chapter. Believe me, each chapter has another suspense waiting for its reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1340 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 67