Customer Reviews for

Gone (Gone Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(931)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

Gone!!!

If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town o...
If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town of Pedro Beach. And Sam Temple somehow is running it all. But he doesn't realize that people (besides him) have powers, super speed, telekinessis, teleportation, and super strength, just to name a few. And when an evil kid named Caine comes into the town (which is covered in a giant dome) Sam has to dicide whether to buy into Caine's to good to be true story,or keep guard and protect the kids of Pedro Beach. This book has too many good elements to even type, so all I can say is read GONE!!!

posted by Hallxyz on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Tries to do too much

I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to...
I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to tackle way too many issues and the plot suffers for it. I think the book could have whittled down the number of characters covered and focused on a core three or four as they try to make their way in this brave new world. As is, the characters aren't given time to grow and isn't that what the book is all about?

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gone!!!

    If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town of Pedro Beach. And Sam Temple somehow is running it all. But he doesn't realize that people (besides him) have powers, super speed, telekinessis, teleportation, and super strength, just to name a few. And when an evil kid named Caine comes into the town (which is covered in a giant dome) Sam has to dicide whether to buy into Caine's to good to be true story,or keep guard and protect the kids of Pedro Beach. This book has too many good elements to even type, so all I can say is read GONE!!!

    85 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great read that kept me up at night. Would make a great movie

    57 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    GONE: The Pros and Cons of a Good Read

    PROS!!!! (1)Typically, I try to avoid books that have multiple characters¿ perspectives, but Michael Grant interweaved the stories of the characters in an easy to follow fashion. (2)I was also impressed by Grant¿s ability to perfectly imitate the mind of a teen: usually, author¿s make their teen characters come to conclusions that an average teen wouldn¿t have thought to keep the story line going but Grant¿s characters¿ realistic choices made this book believable. (3)Branching off of my previous statement, in this book the mutations and super powers were left unexplained which adds to realness of the story. (4)Another significant aspect of the book was its detail in comparison with its length. As you probably are aware of, this book is 558 pages. Most books that I have read that are that long usually cover months, some years, but Gone only covers a span of 12 days. The detail spent on each day creates such a vivid picture that I can completely picture Perdido beach as if been there several times before. (5)The most powerful and mighty of all characters in this book is a severely autistic four year old. Not only is it an unusually and unexpected twist to the plot line, it provides several challenges: the challenge of teaching him how to use his power, figuring out how to make him aware of his environment, and allowing him to save the world without putting him at danger. CONS!!!!! (1) I didn¿t like how the wolves were able to speak. I understand that the idea isn¿t any more far fetched then the teen¿s having superpowers but its just hard to accept and is the only thing keeping me from fully accepting the possibility of this actually occurring. (2) The book would have been a better read if it had at least one segment in Little Pete¿s perspective. It would have provided an interesting viewpoint and a better understanding. (3) I thought that overcoming the blink was a little bit to easy and if was really just a matter of saying no to a temptation, a couple of adults would have been able to survive. Overall: The book was an exciting and quick read and I¿m looking forward to its sequel.

    48 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gone~MICHAEL GRANT

    "Gone" is a book that will have you running back to the book store just to get the second book! This book can teach you things when you least except it, it teaches you loyalty, friendship and maybe just how to survive without any adults in the world. One of the many things in this book that I liked was how the characters just seemed to have the right kind of sarcasm that could lighten the mood whenever danger was near.

    Sam- is a fourteen-year-old boy that everyone looks up to but never really notices. He has charm and a wit that can put his enemies to doubt. After everyone over fourteen disappears in his hometown and he risks his life to save a little girl from a burning fire everyone suddenly notices him. They realize that he could be the leader they need. Sam isn't good with being put on the spot and quickly puts away any desire to be the leader of the town.

    Astrid- is "The Brains" as people say. Astrid is smart and isn't afraid to speak her mind if she doesn't like the situation. She goes to the same school as Sam does, but they never really knew each other till the FAYZ, that's what people are calling the disappearance of everyone over the age of fourteen. Astrid is pretty and serious about most things.

    Quinn- is Sam's best friend and his right hand man on almost everything he does. Quinn is a surfer dude with no problems in his sight, that is until the FAYZ starts. Through-out the book you may learn that Quinn isn't as loyal as we all thought to his best friend.

    Edilio- is a friend from school that leads by Sam's side all the way, he is always up for anything. He is Mexican with a Spanish wit to everything he does.

    Caine- is a student from a privet prep school and with his fellow followers he plans to take over Sam's town. Telling everyone there that they should work together and that he would keep them safe, but really he wants nothing more then to take over everything.

    Drake-he works for Caine and is nothing more then a big bully that thinks too much of this strength and beats up anyone that dares to challenge him. He has his own plans to take over everyone.

    The FAYZ is not what they think; it can't be stopped by just anyone. It has a purpose and it won't stop till it has what it wants. Only the ones with power can stop it. Or can they?

    Gone is one of the best books I have ever read. It would definitely end up on my top five lists. This book is great for young adults. I would recommend anyone and everyone to read this great series. Look out for "Hunger" the second book to this great never ending story!

    38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    This book captures your attention and keeps you there until your done, and quite a while after that. It makes you wonder what would happen if all of the adults just dissapeared. Would we have the sense to do what Sam did? Sam connects with the reader, and makes it hard to let the book out of your hands. This book is the kind that makes you pull the covers back over your head at midnight and read with a flashlight.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Tries to do too much

    I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to tackle way too many issues and the plot suffers for it. I think the book could have whittled down the number of characters covered and focused on a core three or four as they try to make their way in this brave new world. As is, the characters aren't given time to grow and isn't that what the book is all about?

    21 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    Wow.

    Normally I'm more into the romance, vampire-type books, but man...this book was just unbelievable and SO intense. I want to know EXACTLY how everyone disappeared, and mainly where they go when they DO disappear...it's driving me crazy! Can't wait for the sequel to this book. I'm so very excited.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Book!

    I really loved this book! It makes you think a lot about the world now and what would happen if everyone older than 14 just disappears! I really liked the characters too. I liked how there were many different characters points of view going on too, you should see what was going on at the same time someplace else. I recommend this book to anyone! It's amazing! Definately can't wait for the sequal!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Judge a Book by its Cover

    I don't know about fellow readers, but a lot of times I judge a book by its cover. My instinct gets the better of me, and it's always right. I get a book I think is bad by the cover, I end up not liking it. I like the cover, I like the book. I've gone to Barnes & Noble so many times, it's impossible to keep count. Ever since this book hit the shelves, I avoided it. The book cover didn't catch my attention and 'Gone' seemed like a lame excuse for a title. HOWEVER, while on my nook, I saw the title and said "What the heck?" So I bought the book. Later on, I realized, "Oh goodness, it's that book!" Nevertheless, I was disappointed in never buying the book.
    I recommend this novel to any teens/YOUNG adults, really. The plot line is completely original and it is very well written. On the more sci-fi section, but it does incorporate romance, action, drama. It's a very good read, and it's not completely short.
    *SHORT SUMMARY/SPOILER?* The novel takes place in a small town. The kids starts developing odd powers. Towards the end of this first installment, the reader 'finds outs' that a small, four-year-old(?) Little Pete caused - what they call - the FAYZ (Fallout Alley Youth Zone) The novel concludes with an epic battle between twins! (Actually, the protagonist and antagonist.)

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and mesteriuos

    Sam Temple is my dream guy!(hE'S THE BLONDE guy on the cover!) Perdido Beach has always been small but now the population is even smaller. Every one over the age of 14 has disspeared, poofed, vacated, taken a one way trip outta there. Now there is this wallthat seperates the kids from tge outside world. If there even is an outside world . . . Sam is the leader of the group in Perdido Beach, California, along with his friends Quinn and Edillio. And his girlfriend Astrid. sam has powers. He canmake green fire shot from his hands. Caine, the hot guy from Coates private school, has a plan to take over Perdido Beach. It doesn't go well. Many people discover they have powers and discover secrets that never meant to be unleashed from the dark. . . .

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book EVER!!!!!!

    I have to be honest I hated reading when my friend told me to read this book. I looked at it and said ''it's a waste of time I would never finish it.'' But she kept buggin me to read it. So one day I was at Barns and Nobles and I went in a bought it. I fell in love with it on the first page. Since then I read about twent-one books.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Can't put down!

    If you loved Hunger Games or the Maze Runner series, this series is for you! It's suspenseful but thought-provoking.
    There are monsters and mutant powers and romance and dark descents into madness and glorious ascents of the soul as these kids fight against each other, for each other, and fight to do what's right in impossible circumstances. And the series just gets better as it goes! Highly recommend.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Must read

    If you read the Hunger Games then you will love this series too. It is awayst up beat and keeos you wondering what will happen next.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gone

    Michael Grant's story "Gone" revolves around a young boy named Sam who is a good, but reluctant hero turned leader of the rag-tag group of survivors (some of whom have magical powers that are evolving). Sam, just days from his 15th birthday (where everyone appears to go "poof") has finally been given the opportunity to be with the girl of his dreams and be the hero he once was. There are other characters critical to the success of the novel. Astride (a genius and reluctant surrogate mother to her autistic and powerful brother, Little Pete); Edilio (Sam's friend, who unfortunately doesn't have powers but a lot of spunk); Caine (the dark and powerful twin of Sam, who wants Sam dead at all costs); Diana (the evil, but beautiful assistant to Caine); Drake (a young psychopath in the making); and Quinn (the confused and unreliable best friend of Sam).
    I liked how each chapter was counting down... "298 hours", "123 hours"... it made me wonder what was going to be at the end of the countdown. And even though this book is geared toward teens, this adult reviewer was definitely intrigued.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Worst book ever

    I was looking for another read like hunger games and divergent and this fell short. The first few chapters drew me in but then the story gets distorted and sick. Totally far fetched and creepy! Dont get this book if ur looking for a read like divergent

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    One direction and gone

    Characters that look like 1d
    Caine-harry
    Sam-louie
    Edilio-zayn uhh i guess
    Drake-niall
    Quinn- liam
    (I did this out wat i think they look like i didnt do out of they act cuz harrys not violent and im pretty sure niall doesnt hav a whip hand hhaaha)

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    a seriously EPIC(all-caps deserved) read

    For those of you who have never read this book, you absolutely need to! GONE is about a pre-teen society called the FAYZ that is created when everyone over 15 disappears. Not only that, phone-lines shut off, internet access is down, and most strangely of all-and most importantly-there's an impenetrable barrier that surrounds the area. Crazy, unexplainable things happen inside the FAYZ-the kind that defy the laws of physics. The kind that would attract every sci-fi nut within a 20 mile radius.
    The author, Michael Grant, has woven one of the most complicated plots since Harry Potter. There is a host of complex and memorable characters, contributing their own stories in this bizarre world. So many elements are woven into the series, mutated animals, power-hungry teens, and the struggle to survive in what some call Stephen King's version of Lord of the Flies.
    GONE is not for the weak of heart. The first book is 500 pages and the storyline isn't even close to finished! Michael Grant has five more books coming your way-three of which are already out. But trust me, for those of you who pick up this book, you won't be sorry.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!

    This book was so bad. I read the whole book thinking it might get better, it never did. When I finished it I was so mad (and sleep deprived it was 6am) I ripped as much of the book in half as I could.
    I love to read! I love so many books, but I have never written a review of any book. But I knew I had to worn people about this horrible horrible book. I will be throwing the copy I bought (and then ripped) straight into the garbage.
    I am begging anyone thinking of reading this... DON'T DO IT. Please! Words can not express how much I hated this book!

    6 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    S

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!





    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    AH-MAZING BOOK!

    I loved this book! I am a huge reader and this book topped all the rest! It kept me wondering what will happen next and on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book! I loved it. I loved the beginning a lot. Most books are boring in the beginning but this book is intriguing and makes me want to read more, which is what I love. Read the others also, they are amazing too!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67