Customer Reviews for

Gone (Gone Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(957)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Gone!!!

If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town o...
If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town of Pedro Beach. And Sam Temple somehow is running it all. But he doesn't realize that people (besides him) have powers, super speed, telekinessis, teleportation, and super strength, just to name a few. And when an evil kid named Caine comes into the town (which is covered in a giant dome) Sam has to dicide whether to buy into Caine's to good to be true story,or keep guard and protect the kids of Pedro Beach. This book has too many good elements to even type, so all I can say is read GONE!!!

posted by Hallxyz on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Tries to do too much

I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to...
I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to tackle way too many issues and the plot suffers for it. I think the book could have whittled down the number of characters covered and focused on a core three or four as they try to make their way in this brave new world. As is, the characters aren't given time to grow and isn't that what the book is all about?

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Worst book ever

    I was looking for another read like hunger games and divergent and this fell short. The first few chapters drew me in but then the story gets distorted and sick. Totally far fetched and creepy! Dont get this book if ur looking for a read like divergent

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!

    This book was so bad. I read the whole book thinking it might get better, it never did. When I finished it I was so mad (and sleep deprived it was 6am) I ripped as much of the book in half as I could.
    I love to read! I love so many books, but I have never written a review of any book. But I knew I had to worn people about this horrible horrible book. I will be throwing the copy I bought (and then ripped) straight into the garbage.
    I am begging anyone thinking of reading this... DON'T DO IT. Please! Words can not express how much I hated this book!

    6 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    AH-MAZING BOOK!

    I loved this book! I am a huge reader and this book topped all the rest! It kept me wondering what will happen next and on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book! I loved it. I loved the beginning a lot. Most books are boring in the beginning but this book is intriguing and makes me want to read more, which is what I love. Read the others also, they are amazing too!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Horrible

    I read until page 21 and then was grosed out so i stopped reading

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Eew!

    The book started out fine but it came kind of morbid and gross. Who wants to hear about some girl getting all banged up and some of her bones poking up? Not me. I hate just dropping a book and leaving it unfinished, but i closed it and never opened it again when it told how they cut this guy's arm off in extremely disgusting detail. Don't read this book unless you like boring stories and almost barfing when you read certain parts.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Creepy

    Creepy sample zero stars.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Lend to me plz

    Will someone plz lend this book to me? My mom wnt get it for me cuz it codt money....so i cant read it...i promise i wuld give it back..

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Ugh

    Spoiler alert all the adults die jk but this book sucks

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely not for adult readers

    I thought from the overview and reviews that I would really enjoy this book. Boy was I wrong. I tried several times but could never get through more than a handful of chapters. I'm an avid reader and hate to leave any book unfinished but as hard as I tried I could not finish Gone. The more I read, the more far fetched it became. In the beginning everyone over the age of 14 dissapeared. Next, the children started to develop various superpowers. Then some of the children discover the whole town in beneath a glass dome. Granted I didn't read very far into the book, but at the point I finally gave up, no explanation or even speculation for any of it had been given. The story hopped around constantly and the characters were severely underdeveloped. I would not recommend this book to anyone over the age of twelve.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    To the cklick here post it was a fack trick and your stupid brat

    I hate you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Kinda boring

    I COULDN'T FINISH?I GOT MY HOPED UP AFTER MESSENGER OF FEAR BUT THIS WAS SOOOOO BORING? I DONT CARE ABOUT GRAMMAR RIGHT NOW DONT REPRIMAND ME IT SOUNDED OK BUT REALLY?THIS WAS BORING?THATS MY MAIN POINT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Click here

    Kiss your hand 3 times post this on 3 other books look uner your pillow

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Help!

    Im lonley... help me

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Is this a good book

    Can somebody please tell me if this book is good because I just bought it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To people who need more action and fast........

    Why don't you try the Eragon series? Those are really good and have lots of action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Terrible

    Do not read it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Dissapointing

    Boring.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Eh

    The first one was good but the others were dark. And bad. not bad as in not a good story but bad as in very explicit and dark. I wasnt a fan of them and I am warning you. Dont do it. They are not worth it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Not recommended for anyone over the age of 12

    From the overview and reviews I was sure I would really enjoy this book. Wow, was I WRONG. I tried several times but could never get through more than a handful of pages before I felt compelled to put it down and do something else, anything else. Generally hate to leave any book unfinished, but as hard as I tried I could not finish Gone.

    My largest gripe is that new issues were continually introduced. Here's what I mean; shortly into the book everyone over the age of 14 disappeared. Instantly all adults are zapped out of existence; in the middle of driving, cooking, where ever they were. Sounds pretty awesome right? Well...before the dust could settle the children discover that they are developing various superpowers, which results in out of control fires, etc. Hmm. Without adults everything quickly descends into chaos with the bullies trying to muscle their way to the top. Then, and this was the final straw for me, some of the children discover the whole town in beneath a glass dome. Granted I didn't read very far into the book, but at the point I finally gave up, no explanation or even speculation had been given as to why this was happening.

    Overall, I would not recommend this book to anyone over the age of twelve. Not only are all of the characters under the age of fourteen but the story is not complex enough to hold the attention of anyone much older.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3