Customer Reviews for

Gone (Gone Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(955)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Gone!!!

If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town o...
If you ever wanted a book to replace your current favoite, this is it. I was given this book by accident and it was the greatest accident of my life. Imagine if every single person over the age of fourteen just disappeared. That's what happnes in the smal coastal town of Pedro Beach. And Sam Temple somehow is running it all. But he doesn't realize that people (besides him) have powers, super speed, telekinessis, teleportation, and super strength, just to name a few. And when an evil kid named Caine comes into the town (which is covered in a giant dome) Sam has to dicide whether to buy into Caine's to good to be true story,or keep guard and protect the kids of Pedro Beach. This book has too many good elements to even type, so all I can say is read GONE!!!

posted by Hallxyz on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Tries to do too much

I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to...
I appreciate what the author was attempting to do. This is a book dealing with kids being forced to take responsibility. All the adults disappear one day and kids around the country find themselves struggling to survive. But it all feels so strained. The author tries to tackle way too many issues and the plot suffers for it. I think the book could have whittled down the number of characters covered and focused on a core three or four as they try to make their way in this brave new world. As is, the characters aren't given time to grow and isn't that what the book is all about?

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 955 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Novastar

    Lets go back to long ago. C u there

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book ever!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Took Me By Surprise

    My friend showed me this book- and needless to say, it was indeed a smart move on my part to read it.

    The plot is simple. One day, everyone 15 and over vanishes. "Poofs". The thing that really draws one in is how the kids adapt to this change. Suddenly, they as children need to fend for themselves, some younger and some older.

    Bullies rein in what is now called the FAYZ. Even better, many children are developing strange powers, from harmless to deadly. Sam, who was once a kid most overlooked, now is volenteered to be leader. He too is a mutant. Things begin to unfold, and soon enough one of the best-written battles I've read since Percy Jackson and Harry Potter begins.

    And excellent read, even if you're not into Sc-Fi or anything like that. The story is not really about the FAYZ itself- It is about those who must live with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Freaking Fantastic

    I love the series, it's absolutely outstanding!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    hay this is good

    Gone, by Michael Grant, is the classic tail with a no body hero stepping up to stave off the darkness of chaos and evil. There are many twists and turns and some dead ends for our heroes, Sam, Astrid, Qin and Edilio. They are faced with some interesting dilemmas as well as with love, friendship and some new problems that are unique to Perdido Beach.
    Sam is an ordinary boy who has to step up. Astrid, the genius; Qin, his bro; and Edilio, the "mister fix-it", are Sam's friends. They help Sam overcome his inner struggles and help him out of hard spots. On the other side are Kane, Diana, and Drake. They are out to stop Sam. All they want is to control Perdido Beach. Will Sam and his friends be smart enough to beat off these bullies?
    Overall, I liked Michael's book. He kept me enthralled all the way to the end, but it ends too soon! He left so many unanswered questions and the answers you get, led to many more questions. If you love fiction as much as I do, you will love this book. You people that don't like fiction, this book is packed with true to life characters in real situations. Get this book on your booklist today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    AMAZING!!

    My all time favorite book. I've read it 6 times and I'm on my 7th. It makes you feel like you are each character. I love the thrill of turning each page. It is a must read for anyone. I didn't think it was my type of book, I like Gossip Girl and The Clique. But it was the best. MUST READ!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book....

    I love this book so much that it is very hard to explain, so you have romance and yet you have people dying and animals and people mutating and also teamwork and deception. I love that every once and awhile the author is changing the perspective of the reader to some other character. I loved that I had no idea what was going to happen next and thats what I was hoping for in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    awsome

    I loved this book so much I almost loved it as much as twilight ' I know I never thought I would have said that'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Amazing book, 5/5

    If everyone over the age of fourteen dissapeared, a wall came around you, and things develop mutations, it's a book I want to read!

    Amazing plot, I even grew attatched to the characters. I'm getting the fourth book in the series soon. Amazing book, reccomended read for ages 11-15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    A great book! A must buy!

    I can't put this book down! I keep saying "after this chapter" but each time I read on to the next chapter. Believe me, each chapter has another suspense waiting for its reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the idea of all the adults disappearing.So I decided to

    I loved the idea of all the adults disappearing.So I decided to try it out. I am so glad I did! This book had me 
    grabbing the second book, Hunger. It reminded me of the hunger games, because only the strong can survive.
    Anyone who loves the apocalyptic type of book, this is it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Page turner

    This book doesn't start with a "bang" it starts with a "poof." What are children to do when the adults are suddenly Gone? Michael Grant answers this by taking one part Lord of the Flies mixed with a little X-Men and creates the FAYZ. Characters are believable and well drawn; for the most part they fall on sides of good and evil but as with any good story there is a grey area in between. Book 1 of the series will have you up all night reading and from there you will want to dive into the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    To amy

    Wanna fu.ck each other hardcore

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    OMG!!!

    OMG!!!! SO GOOD!!!! MUST READ!!!! If you arent sure get the sample and you will fall in love and buy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Michies comment

    This book LOOKS INTERESTING P.s. michie wrote this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Hello everyone :3

    Hey my name is Chessa! :3

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Read now

    One of the best books I have ever read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK

    IVE READ EVERY BOOK AT LEAST SEVEN TIMES THIS I GREAT READ
    13 GIRL
    FOUND EXTERMLY INTERESTING

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Wonderful!

    This book is great. I thought it was a bit sciency but you get over that quickly. My favorite character was Lana. She is defiant, brave, and not afraid to say what she thinks. I have to say that even though some of the characters are evil, they have such a strong build to them that you start to feel for them as you do for sam and the others. I am currently reading hunger (the second in the series) and the books only get better. I must also state that the book isnt totally innappropriate but there are some times when they get close to or are innappropriate. I would reccommend this book to anyone in need of a good book, that is over the age of 12. Love the books and i am sure most other people will too so i rate this as five stars out of five!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Amazing

    I picked up this book expecting this to just be ok. But when I started it I couldnt put it down, it was amazing. Its one of my favorites now. I normally dont like books with different character perspective,but this one is written wonderfully! All the characters come together in the end. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 955 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 48