Customer Reviews for

Gone (Jack Caffery Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good story line

Det. Jack Caffery is called out for a carjacking case when he discovers there was an eleven year old girl in the car at the time. With very few leads, he and his team are doing everything possible to find young Martha when there's another carjacking and this one also in...
Det. Jack Caffery is called out for a carjacking case when he discovers there was an eleven year old girl in the car at the time. With very few leads, he and his team are doing everything possible to find young Martha when there's another carjacking and this one also includes a young girl.

Police diver Flea Marley has had some serious problems which led to an estrangement from Jack. Because of her lack of leadership Flea's group has become disorganized and disjointed. Pulling herself and her team together, they start their own investigation into the carjackings hoping to not only find the missing girls but to also prove their dedication and improve her team's reputation.

When the "jacker" starts sending notes to the families of the missing girls the police realize this is a much different crime. As they find themselves racing to try to rescue the girls as well as prevent more kidnappings, they realize that the kidnapper knows exactly what they're doing and what their next moves will be. Caffery finds himself even more emotionally involved with the families because of the disappearance of his brother many years ago.

Since I had never read anything by Ms. Hayder before, it felt like this was a sequel to another of her books and that the background between Jack and Flea was missing. It took quite a while for all of the bits and pieces of the cause of the tension between them to surface, which made the story drag a little.

I liked this book and I enjoyed reading it but I'd recommend that you start with the previous Mo Hayder book so that you'd have the proper background for the protagonists' relationships. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good...so far

I read about 12 pages, but so far it's interesting.The only problem is that it's hard to follow.

posted by 9567643 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Loved this book

    I have read the previous 4 books in this series and really enjoyed all of them. This one, I think was my favorite. Absolutely couldn't put it down! Can't wait to read the 2 latest ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    First time reading Mo Hayder and the book was absolutely outstanding, a page turner, a who dun-it, and I lost a lot of sleep reading it...I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Gifted author, good "reads."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Never Look Back

    Can't breathe... Drowning... Somebody---save me! I burst through the water, doubling over. I collapsed onto the ground. "Wow. He actually survived. Must be a fish!" I heard laughter all around me. I looked at my attackers. They bullied me since kindergarten to 12th grade. Joseph, the leader, was always harrassing me. "Well too bad we can't eat him!" More laughter. I stood up and weakly walked to where the towels were. I said, "Haha guys. Very funny. I'm going to go now. Bye." They looked at eachother and grinned. Barry, another bully said, "I heard your family was rich. Mind giving your friends some money? Just about only 8 thousand bucks". I felt a rage boil inside of me. This was taking it too far. First they almost kill me, and now they want about "only" 8 thousand bucks. I ignored them and walked away. Before I could reach the exit, I felt a hard thump on my head. I stood there for a couple of seconds. Then I swung back, remembering my boxing lessons. I hit Joseph on the face and he collapsed to the floor. Ashton took a swing at my face, but I easily dodged it and went for an uppercut to his stomach. He doubled over, ramming his side to the wet and hard concrete floor. Chris, who actually did boxing too, went into fighting position. But he probably only did boxing for a coule of months, while I on the other hand, had done boxing for 10 years. He approached slowly, and faked a swing at my head, while actually taking a straight puch to my chest. I dodged the fake and knocked away the real punch. I sidestepped around him and wrapped an arm around his neck. He gasped for air and squirmed, but I didn't let go. Just before he passed out, I let go of my grip. I heard a whistling sound, and a few seconds later, saw stars. I quickly got to feet, and looked around. Oh man, how could I have forgotten about Barry. I saw him running towards me. I tackled him in midair, snapping his head back. He landed with a sickening crunch. I called 911. "Hello? Who is this and what's the problem?" I took a deep breath and replied,"My name is Farren Charleston and I was only just self protecting myself. My bullies are very hurt right now. Please come to Osleton High School at Tarrenton Rd 88262." I grinned before I said the next part,"I guess you could say that I owe them 8 thousand dollars of medical services." The officer replied,"Yup, I guess you could. We'll be there as fast as possible. <br>
    <p> At dinner, my parents weren't even mad at all. Actually, my dad was proud of me. But my mom was sad that I didn't tell her about the bullying. My 13 year old sister was just texting on her phone. "So how much do we have to pay for the medical services?" I asked. My dad said,"Well we are pretty damn rich, but it turns out that THEY owe you, and you can sue them for even more. Becuase of unknown severe harrasment for more than a decade. Worth about 1 million dollars in total, but it's not like we need the money." After I finshed my dinner, I went upstairs and closed the door. I put on some loud music and went to sleep. My last thought was, "How much bullies can chucked by me, if bullies can be chucked:4" It was my parody of "How much wood can a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood." I smiled, knowing that the world wasn't so bad. Not bad at all.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Recommend

    My first book by Mo Hayder, and I was impressed!! This book kept me totally involved....I love her style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Book 2 and Getting Better

    This is the second book I have read from Guy Vanderhaeghe and he is a wonderful storyteller. His prose is magnificent and the story line is just Great! I will read them all very soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Great!

    I hope there are more books to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Someone described Mo Hayder as "easily today┬┐s best writer

    Someone described Mo Hayder as &quot;easily today’s best writer of visceral and elemental horror.&quot; I would say without any qualification, that's an absolute UNDERSTATEMENT.

    Her writing style is so easy to ready and the tone, to me at least, is what I can only describe as a bit haunting and comes at me in a way that it's impossible to put her stories down. Her characters and their situations from page to page are so real, so life-like, so believable, that the story surrounds me and takes me in so deeply that I just want to crawl through my Nook and become part of that world and interact with those people.

    This it the fifth of Mo Hayder's books that I have read -- consecutively, by the way (that's how addictive her writing and stories are for me) -- and I look forward to reading everything she's ever written and will continue to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I was unaware this was part of a series however now that I know

    I was unaware this was part of a series however now that I know I need to read the others. I loved this book, it was my first by this author and was very impressed by the storyline, characters and suspense. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Gone

    Great series, impatiently waiting for the next book to come out :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Keeps you on your toes

    So many twists and turns, the book keeps you wondering whats going to happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1