Customer Reviews for

The Gone-Away World

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    this is mad max meets jitterbug perfume. this is the most fun the apocalypse has ever been.

    with sentences that are unapologetically incomprehensible, and a plot that is if possible more so, this should be a frustrating read. but indeed, from the first few pages harkaway paints a world so frenetic, edgy, and impossible that the reader can't help but be drawn in. while the book's ultimate motive is, as with the best science fiction, to make a point about politics and human nature and culture and their intersection - and it has no little success here - it continues at the same time to be an engrossing and entertaining read. it is a story about the apocalypse, but not the one we were expecting; it's a story about growing up in the world, and how to be an adult in it; it's a story about... well... all the stuff stories are supposed to be about. and it's told in a style that is reminiscent of vonnegut, or kesey, or HST (it's no coincidence that one of the main characters is named gonzo!), one that keeps you rolling through a mad max universe for the sheer surprise of what will happen next. from pancakes as the clear solution to the decimation of the world, to a martial arts master who invents a secret so he can have one to not tell people who want to know the Inner Teachings, to the indescribably awful image of a professor's flaking scalp, this is writing as vivid as it is ungainly, and as ass-backwards as it is self-conscious and deliberate. read it, read it, read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Original & Fun

    This is probably one of the more original stories I have read in a long time with great twists and turns. I became quite attached to the main character and was routing for him the entire time. The author's writing style does take some getting used to and I will admit I agree with other reviewers that his flashbacks can ramble and get quite tedious. I too skimmed through some pages to get back to the main story line. However, the original story and the author's dry and sarcastic humor made me an instant fan. I look forward to more from the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing Brilliant Book

    Nick Harkaway has really done a work here for his first novel. He has a very unique writing style that vaguely resembles Douglas Adams with a sarcastic Kurt Vonnegut thrown in there. The rhythm of the book takes a little getting use to but once you do you will enjoy every word of it.

    The characters and plot of this book are masterful and the book is wrapped up in a nice clean way.

    To the reviewer, Very Confusing... perhaps if you hadn't "skimmed through many pages just to finish", the book might have been a little less confusing.

    I'd recommend this novel to anyone, it is fun, adventurous. wacky and quiet outlandish at times but a work of art non the less.

    Keep your eyes out for Nick's next book, I know I am.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    An incredible first novel

    The Gone-Away World is the best piece of speculative fiction I've read in years. Brilliantly conceived and finely crafted, it presents an internally consistent alternate (I hope!) reality, populates it with four-dimensional characters, and doesn't let up until the last page. Harkaway must have a truly twisted (and I mean that in the best possible sense) imagination to be able to create such an original world situation, while still keeping everything eminently believable, even compelling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    I truly believe in time, this will sit on a shelf next to the likes of Catch 22 and Slaugherhouse 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    engaging satirical science fiction cautionary tale

    For a rare time the government¿s claims re the Go Away Bomb is not obfuscated with the usual disinformation and misinformation. The assertion that the weapon was not of mass destruction just capable of erasing nasty reality elements made people euphoric with the no damage to property concept. However, the reality modification proved in reality a bit more convoluted as Einstein was right about relativity. Soon after the release of the Go Away Bomb, people¿s nightmarish thoughts started to turn into real monsters of the under the bed variety. The Jorgamund Pipe is built like a belt around the world that releases FOX, an elixir to counteract the Go Away Bomb effect at least for the few kilometers nearby. When a fire threatens the pipe and consequently the shrunk world, Gonzo Lubitsch, his best friend, and their HazMat emergency team go to put out the blaze and repair the damage. They know they enter a world of horrific chaos, but as Gonzo¿s pragmatic best friend says that is the norm for his pal going back to childhood under the tutelage of a Kung Fu guru, his military time building a bomb of not mass destruction and seeing its collateral damage shrinking the globe to a small Livable Zone. --- With nods to Vonnegut and Pratchett, THE GONE AWAY WORLD is an engaging satirical science fiction cautionary tale that takes a strong anti-war stand based on the justifications proving reality is relative. Those who believe will insure the facts fit their thesis those who do not likewise (Cheney and Anti Cheney Effects). The story line is non linear as the unnamed best friend narrates by providing readers with Gonzo¿s biography. This is for the most part entertaining and relevant even with a final monster twist but also at times at least to the reality envisioned by this reviewer feels as if a sidebar hijacked the plot temporarily. Still cerebral sci fi fans with plenty of time will want to read Nick Harkaway¿s thrilling thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Good

    It's good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved this book

    If you like science fiction, fantasy or alternate reality stories, The Gone Away World is for you. If you like good story telling, this book is for you. I laughed out loud, I cried, was horrified and amazed. I think Rick Harkway is one of the best storytellers I've discovered lately. I will definitely be reading his other works and looking forward to new releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    One of my top 5 favorites.

    This book has everything-action, adventure, romance, ninjas...

    It's like sci-fi meets kung-fu meets post-apocalypse meets war/military meets....everything else. It's hilarious in some parts and horribly sad in others.

    I can't even begin to describe why this book is fantastic except for that it just is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Genius

    I discovered this little gem a couple years ago and have recommended it ever since. It is as if Nick Harkaway tapped into the dreams of my chuldhood, wove them into an epic and threaded in philosophy and mind blowing action. If you have come across this, read it. My only questio is when will he write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Very confusing

    This book rambled and digressed so much that I confess I skimmed through many pages just to finish. It was a tiring and tense read. The concept is very creative but would be better as a sci-fi movie.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3