Customer Reviews for

Gone, Baby, Gone (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I absolutely love this series! I cannot say enough good things about Dennis Lehane. Each novel is fantastic due to the characters of Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro. The writing is fantastic, the dialogue is great and the story is fantastic. Lehane knows how to write a great detective story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Gone baby gone

    One of Lehanes best

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    #4 in the Kenzie, Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane. If you have read one then you know you can't get enough off them! This is my thrid time reading them :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Superb, gritty, masterpiece of writing

    This isn't a book that lifts your spirits. But, Dennis Lehane is a craftsman with words, an artist. To read this is to be in Boston living it. I read large portions of it in single sittings, stopping only when emotionally overwhelmed. In other words, it is a typically great bit of writing by Lehane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gone, Baby, Gone

    I read all excellent reviews for this novel and I have to agree. A lot of people said this was the best book of the series, but I really don't have a favorite from the series. They're all good in their own ways. The plot was excellent and the characters are great. Read this book and be amazed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Another Winner by Lehane

    I loved this book but hated the ending. I just couldn't believe the outcome of this novel; it was so upsetting. This book is like all of Lehane's: well-written, original and touching. I love a well-written mystery and this book didn't disappoint. I love Lehane's series novels and also adored Shutter Island. I really like the series characters and the original storylines. Mystic River was also wonderful; a very disturbing and poignant story. If you like this book, you may also enjoy: Ruth Rendell (especially End in Tears and Going Wrong), Barbara Vine, Lee Child's Jack Reacher series, and the novels of Ken Follet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and Fascinating

    This book is one of the darkest books of the series. It grips you from start to finish. LeHane has an unrelenting style and a cynical view of the world reflected in his writing. In this book, no one is clean and ultimately explores the question of fighting monsters without becoming one and what truly is right and wrong. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Better than I expected

    Having read Mystic River which was good, Shutter Island which was confusing and not good, I was pleasantly surprised. This was the first of his books with the main characters that I had read. Good chaaracters, good plot, good ending. Very graphic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Highly Recommend!

    Gone, Baby Gone, is a wonderful story that I am happy to recommend! The plot is very exciting and the characters are fantastic! Buy the book. You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Reserving judgement til I read all of them

    I've been a fan of Lehane ever since I picked up Shutter Island at the airport for something to read on my flight. That got me hooked on the Kenzie-Gennaro books. I've read the first two, but accidentally skipped 'Sacred', but they keep getting better and better. What I really like is Lehane's way of taking the most mundane of chores like scribbling on a notepad into such vivid and lyrical imagery. He does the same thing with settings that would normally be bland or depressing and finds something beautiful about the location to accentuate it. Getting to the subject matter, it was tough to get through this book like it was for Patrick and Angie. It dealt with things I normally would not want to touch, but Lehane did it with genuine sincerity and ultimate realism. I heard someone say, 'You can't change the devil, the devil changes you.' Truer words have never been spoken in regards to this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    almost the very best

    Just finished this book. All I can say is 'GASP'. Thought that Sacred was #1 but this book beat it all around. Don't you just hate to finish a good book? The next one might disappoint you. Bet this writer never does that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Nothing short of brilliant

    Dennis Lehane's writing is so far ahead of everything out there it's hard to go back to reading anyone else. His prose manages to be witty, gut-wrenching, and emotionally satisfying all at the same time. I got completely lost in the pages of this novel. Be forwarned though: this is no fairy tale. It's dark and intense. The themes are heartbreaking, especially if you've got kids, and doubly so if one happens to be a 4-year-old girl. I had to set it down a few times and take a breath, clear my head. But that's exactly what sucked me so deep into this novel. Like the best reads, you're the most entertained when you've got an emotional commitment. That's certainly the case here. Out of the 5 Kenzie-Genarro novels I happened to read this one last (it's chronologically 4th), and found this one to be the most satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Excellent!

    Another great book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Enjoyed this book very much!

    I have enjoyed a lot of books from this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Excellent

    Just as I've come to expect from Mr. Lehane, this book does not disappoint. Such a good book, as all of his are proving to be. Only ones for me left to read are Prayers for Rain and Coronado.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    You gotta be kidding me!!!! The man is a genius

    From Beginnig to end this spectacular, Thrilling, edge of your feet book keeps you entertained. you don't want to put it down, every moment puts you right there, wanting to know more, wanting to know what else happen. Dennis Lehane is a genius, and being from Boston myself makes me proud to read these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    FABULOUS!!!!

    His best book yet-I couldn't put it down!! If this is his first book that you have read, it's definitely worth it to go back and start at the beginning. Don't know what I will do when I am done with Mystic River!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    breathtaking thriller, extremely good

    From first to last page a stunningly good thriller. You can't put it down, every page is full of suspense and surprises. When you think you know who did it, you're wrong over and over again. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4