Customer Reviews for

Gone Country (Rough Riders Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

Yes Gavin and Ree. What a perfect pair! Loved them together as they don't fit with in with anyone. I particularly appreciate that the main characters are mature (40's). Nice to know romance and passion occurs after the age of 28! These people both had lots of issues...
Yes Gavin and Ree. What a perfect pair! Loved them together as they don't fit with in with anyone. I particularly appreciate that the main characters are mature (40's). Nice to know romance and passion occurs after the age of 28! These people both had lots of issues to work through that were James handled well.

I loved Sierra and Boone which was sweet, and something explosive was hinted at with Dalton and Rory. Can't wait for #15. This is one of the best series I read, and again I enjoyed it.

posted by 3720535 on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Gavin and rielle

This is book 14 in the rough rider series. It is Gavin and Rielle's story. I think Ms. Loreigh covered it because she knows no one would buy it. I hate Rielle after her actions in the last story. Ugggghhhhhh

posted by Shawnta on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Loved It

    Yes Gavin and Ree. What a perfect pair! Loved them together as they don't fit with in with anyone. I particularly appreciate that the main characters are mature (40's). Nice to know romance and passion occurs after the age of 28! These people both had lots of issues to work through that were James handled well.

    I loved Sierra and Boone which was sweet, and something explosive was hinted at with Dalton and Rory. Can't wait for #15. This is one of the best series I read, and again I enjoyed it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    LOVE IT

    Great book. Sierra and Boone should be the 15 book. Love this series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Cant WAIT for more

    I love love love this series!!!! One of my favorite authors. I love that every book keeps me wanting more. I really liked that this book was about Gavin,a divorce dad and daughter, Sierra. Trying to start fresh with the family that gave him up for adoption. To see them all come together and make it work was great.
    I'm hoping that the next few books: Dalton and Roy, those two are a mystery. Then a book on Sierra waiting on Boone to come back to her. Please keep them coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Not like any other McKay…and still ohhhhh so good! ~Under the Covers

    After Tell’s story, which was a bit younger in tone and totally bad boy McKay, it was a very nice change of pace to read about Gavin. Gavin is the long lost McKay brother. Vi had given him up for adoption without telling anyone that she was pregnant when she was 16. And now after Gavin is 40+, he comes back in their lives. He is a McKay by blood, but so not your typical McKay by actions. He’s divorced, he has a teenage daughter, and he’s bought the ranch next to Ben that used to be owned by Rielle. Now that he wanted to bring their daughter to Wyoming to help her with some behavior issues, he will have to adjust to country living, McKay relatives, and living with Rielle for a while.

    Rielle was an amazing and so strong heroine. I have to give her props because she’s devoted her life to her daughter, even after she had gotten pregnant at 16 and being raised by hippie parents in a commune. She has made something of her life with strength and hard work. And she’s always put work and being a mother first. So that means relationships with guys have not been a big priority in her life. It’s hard to believe that, in her forties and with her daughter away to college, she’s just now developing feelings and attraction for the first guy in what could be the first time in her life.

    Gavin, on the other hand, was just amazing. In a way he reminded me of Jack (Keely’s husband) and has a lot of the qualities I liked in him. I liked the fact that he comes back to Wyoming slimmer and taking better care of himself. It wasn’t love at first sight with Gavin and Rielle. They’ve both made some changes and now that attraction is blooming. I find that a big part of it was how different Rielle was from Gavin’s ex wife. She might not be the refined woman he is used to deal with, but that’s exactly the type of woman he needs.

    Gavin and Rielle as a couple were great. Both had their own insecurities. They had to deal with the issues that single parents have to, even though their kids were not so little. With one living with them, they had to have a certain amount of discretion in their encounters, but they made it work. Still building their relationship in a way that progressed slowly and was very believable, as well as dealing with both their kids and family life. Their chemistry was off the charts! I just wish we would’ve gotten more details on the sex in the office against the windows. *waggles eyebrows* I have to say though, at times I felt Rielle could’ve been more involved and shouldn’t have put so much distance between her and the relationship they were building and the rest of Gavin’s life.

    Then there’s the kids. I cannot wait to see what happened between Dalton and Rory. I’m biting my nails in anticipation! Then Sierra, Gavin’s daughter. I really loved her character up until the very last bit of the book. When you read it you will know why at that point I wanted to bash her head against the wall. But, typical teenage behavior I guess. Of course there is Boone West *sigh*. Is it bad to say I have a crush on a teenager? Well, I do! Are we going to get a Sierra and Boone’s story? Pretty please with a cherry on top! I also enjoyed all the McKay interactions and bits and pieces of their family life, as usual.

    This book was not like any other McKay…and still ohhhh so good. I think it’s a nice change of pace in the series. Even though it’s bittersweet because we are one book closer to the end.

    “If it looks like a McKay, acts like a McKay…then it is a McKay.”

    “Did you happen to bring a condom with you?”
    “Nope. I brought two.”

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another series I am crazy about.  This installment is different

    Another series I am crazy about.  This installment is different in a lot of ways.  Gavin is the first born of Vi & Charlie McKay but was given up for adoption and just reconnected with his birth family 2 years ago.  A 40 something divorced businessman with a teenage daughter he is not your typical Rough Rider alpha hero.  Rielle is a self-sufficient single mother who is now an empty nester.  When she sold her B&B to Gavin she stayed on as caretaker while Gavin lived in Arizona.  Even in books past you could tell there was an attraction between the two.  Now Gavin is moving into the former B&B with his daughter Sierra and Rielle isn’t prepared for the change or to deal with the 'eality of living with a man she is so attracted to.  
    This book is proof that love and lust don’t stop just because you are a parent.  There are several back story lines going on that are probably (hopefully) setting up future books.  You can read this stand-alone but with a series this good go back and read them all.  I do often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    This book was different from the rest of the serie. Gavin was ad

    This book was different from the rest of the serie. Gavin was adopted and didn't grow up as a McKay so there is a little bit of a disconnect from him because he just know how to feel about the whole McKay bunch. Over time he he works through his issues with his family especially Vi, his mother.



    I wasnt a real big fan of Rielle from past stories, but you cant always hold a grudge on a character. I like seeing knowing her back story. She was sweet and understanding. She didnt put her two cents in when she could of. Now Sierra and Boone was so sweet. A youg freindship/romance that hope somewhere down the road get their own story because I loved the and it would be wonderful to fast forward a few year and see where they are now. I hope that Rory and Dalton have the next story because the few little tidbits that we got to read makesyou curious. I have a feeling that they would be an explosive pair to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Gavin Daniels was adopted by another family because Vi Bennett,

    Gavin Daniels was adopted by another family because Vi Bennett, an unwed mother, forced into this. Gavin reached out to his biological parents at the behest of his adopted mother's request. Gavin is unsure how to feel about his over flowing relatives. The final straw in getting to Gavin to move to Wyoming was Sierra getting in trouble with the law. Rielle "Ree" Wetzler is scrambling to move into different rooms since Gavin announced is moving to Wyoming. Ree has a deeply independent person and loves working the land because she finds peace in doing so. Ree is stunned by the changes she sees in Gavin even though she's made a few changes herself. Sierra is angry about being moved to Wyoming. Sierra is also a self-absorbed and entitlement teenager. Sierra meets Boone West can't stop thinking about him but it appears that he doesn't share the interest. Will Gavin or Ree make their feelings known? Will Sierra drive a wedge into budding relationship? Will Boone have a change of heart? Will Gavin accept his new family? Your answers await you in Gone Country.




    I'll be honest this book affected me deeply on so many levels. Being a child of divorce myself, I completely understand Gavin's point of view about his ex wife who'd rather be their daughter friend than a parent. Gavin sacrificed much of his happiness for Sierra's sake which enabled her to act like a spoiled brat. Rielle cannot fathom why Gavin would want to be with her yet is completely attracted to him. Gavin and Rielle faced many challenges in their relationship. I personally found their relationship to be real, down to earth, and most of all honest. I'm definitely looking forward to my next adventure in Rough Riders Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    an author that NEVER disappoints

    Lorelei James is a very consistent writer. Her books are entertaining and well written. You always get more than you expect with her books. If you haven't read anything by this author you really should! She is by far one of the best out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Gone country

    I love this series and hot romance but this was one of.her best. I loved Gavin/Rielle story as.well.as.Sierra and Boone I hope.she writes the rest of thrir story because there is one,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Lorelei James does not let you down! Entertaining and has the perfect mix (the sex scenes are good too!) I love that she makes the character so real! I can not wait to read the next book in the series. Love me some McKayes! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Fantastic as always

    After reading all the others, I still gobble up every new rough riders book! I can't wait to read about Sierra & Boone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    : )

    Love all the books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Loved this!

    This read allowed me to look into not just one romance but also a glimpse of another. I want more of sierra and boone! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent book!

    LJ never disappoints! Sexy, Romantic and HOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Really good book!

    I can't wait for the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Another great McKay story

    Another great McKay story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    great read

    I have been a fan since book one in the rough riders series. This newest installment is a must read. It was great to see all my favorite McKays make appearances throughout the book. I loved the relationship between Reille and Gavin but their daughters Rory and Sierra also added something extra to the story. I don't want to give away any spoilers so I will just say that Ms. James has given us yet another steamyread with strong well written characters that jump off the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Great

    lorelei James knows how to write a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Wow

    All books by Lorelei should be made into an awesome movie it would be a hit! I have read all of her books and have yet to be disappointed! Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!!! U must read

    Totally LOVED THIS SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6