Customer Reviews for

Gone Girl

Average Rating 4
( 4500 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1821)

4 Star

(1206)

3 Star

(651)

2 Star

(379)

1 Star

(443)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

396 out of 462 people found this review helpful.

Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dar...
For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

posted by melissarochelle on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

98 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

A mixed review

I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the com...
I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

posted by 11715835 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4503 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 226
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

    For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

    This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

    I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

    396 out of 462 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    ENGROSSING

    I refuse to summarize this story. I believe this is a fantastic book that should be relished without any prior knowledge of its plot. Wonderful prose. Insightful observations. Great character development. There are so many comments I would like to make, but I would ruin the suspense for others. I was/am so emotionally charged at the ending that I want to become a character in the story. Without spoiling the plot for those who chose to enjoy this incredible book, I suspect that many readers will have a similar reaction and would like to join me as residents of Carthage, Missouri.

    276 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I read...a lot. Like, I need to read. After reading "Gone

    I read...a lot. Like, I need to read. After reading "Gone Girl," I know why. Very seldom will you come across a book that finishes so well. The story keeps you reading...so many stories can do that. This one, however, does what so few can accomplish by ending well. Satisying, is the best word I can think of. I realized I keep looking for a book that will satisfy all my cravings in a good story: suspense, humor, anger, sadness, relief. A fine book doesn't have to leave you guessing throughout the plot to keep you wanting more. Flynn keeps it straight to the point with enough twists to make it twisted without becoming too complicated to follow.
    This book will grab you like a hyped-up media headline and won't let you go! We all get caught up in the mainstream, bombshell news casts, and this book takes you right there in the middle of it. Love the technique and can't wait to see what Gillian Flynn comes up with next!

    207 out of 236 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't be misled by criticism of the ending

    It is interesting to me--but not surprising--that a tiny segment of this book's readers give it low marks. I detect two consistent themes in those reviews. Before I get to that, let me put in writing my FIRST reactions to this novel: creative and complex story, daring approach, flawless context, remarkably courageous personal insight, glib-witty-brutal-unflinching narrative. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, even when it made me itchy and twitchy and feel uncomfortably exposed. And THAT brings me to the second theme in those negative reviews. (I'll get to the first one in a moment). Be assured, if you decide to read this book you're going to find little pieces of yourself and of people you know or care about woven through the cast of characters. And it won't be the best pieces, either. It will be the quirks and traits and harsh sentiments that all of us hope to keep hidden, not only from others but from ourselves, as well. Not everyone can look at that kind of naked emotion and see it as powerful, revelatory writing. Some of us are going to find it uncomfortable enough to dislike the book and to find flimsy complaints on which to blame that dislike: characters, language, writing style. And some of us are going find it uncomfortable enough to dislike the book but recognize nonetheless that it is a riveting story told with skill, imagination, and intelligence, and therefore we have to go for criticism number one... the ending. Those are the criticisms that make the least sense to me. I can't imagine, after nearly 500 pages of wandering around in the skulls of these characters, what sort of happy or tragic or poetically just ending the critics might have anticipated. The end of the book (but certainly not the end of the story) is as natural and logical as all that leads us to it. Granted, that's not very natural or logical for most of us, but it's what THESE characters would do; it's what they DESERVE. And in that there is a sort of literary integrity. It's not a Hurray! or a Yahoo! or a Gotcha! It's not TV. It's a continuation of the lives these pathetically twisted people have knowingly, willingly, compulsively built for themselves.

    184 out of 212 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Fabulous book!

    This book grabbed me from page 1 and didn't let go until the end! It was one of those novels that made me hurry and put the kids to bed so i could find out what happened next. Didn't want it to end! So glad i discovered this author and look forward to reading her other two books.

    108 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    A mixed review

    I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

    98 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was difficult to like any of the characters. By the end I was

    It was difficult to like any of the characters. By the end I was wanting my time and money back. Awful.

    88 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I feel unclean

    I think that the story is well written however, none of the main characters (and very few of the supporting characters) are likable - at all. I kept waiting for someone, anyone, to show even the tiniest bit of humanity or redemption. The world is not populated entirely by egotistical sociopaths. This was a horribly, unsatisfying read.

    79 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Waste of ur time

    Sarts slow, picks up and gets better and then TOTALLY ANTI-CLIMATIC. I regret wasting my time and would not recommend it. Spare yourself.

    76 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    !

    Why do some reviewers feel the need to either reveal the entire plot line, or write complete dissertations on each and every plot point? They go on and on and on. That is not helpful. I personally hate it when a review reveals everything about the book. I read to be surprised but some posters feel they have to tell everything. That is not a helpful review. Let the readers discover for themselves the secrets of the book. Dont ruin it for us by telling everything.

    69 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    62 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    ok

    After reading the reviews, I purchased this book with high hopes. Four hundred and some pages later when I finished the last page, I sat there and thought, really, that's how it ends?? I was disappointed. Definitely not a happy ending.

    59 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Beginning was mediocre but a great twist in the middle. Ending w

    Beginning was mediocre but a great twist in the middle. Ending was horrible. Almost like the author gave up. Wouldn't suggest spending your $$.

    58 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    just awful! Made no sense, characters under developed, the many good reviews make me wonder if I missed something.

    43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We've all read the stories in newspapers - a woman goes missing

    We've all read the stories in newspapers - a woman goes missing and the husband is the prime suspect. And he loudly proclaims his innocence....even as the evidence mounts....

    Gillian Flynn put her own spin on this idea in her latest book - Gone Girl.

    It is the day of Nick and Amy's fifth anniversary. It is also the day Amy disappears. Left behind - the first cryptic clue in a treasure hunt Amy always sets up for Nick.

    The first part of Gone Girl is told in alternating chapters from Nick's present time viewpoint, with flashbacks to memories. Amy's voice is heard from the pages of a diary, starting from seven years ago and building up to the day she disappears. The narratives each tell a completely different story. Who is telling the truth? The second part - well, I'm not going to spoil the plot for you, so I'll stop there.

    I am a huge fan of psychological thrillers and with Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn has crafted one of the best I've ever read. Really. The plot line is completely unpredictable. It's rare for me to be completely surprised at the direction a book takes, but I was this time. Flynn toys with us in a completely delicious and devious manner. You'll want to read carefully - there are lies, secrets and omissions scattered throughout the book and each revelation ratchets up the stakes just a little higher.

    While Gone Girl is a razor edged thriller, Flynn also explores marriage, attraction, family relationships and the media with that same sharp edged eye. Flynn's prose are are arresting, painting vivid images that crackle with intensity.

    "....the girl a man like Nick wants: the Cool Girl. Men always say that as the defining compliment, don't they? She's a cool girl. Being the cool girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she's hosting the world's biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot. Hot and understanding. Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want."

    This is the first book I've read by Flynn, although I have since picked up her second book Dark Places. I loved the dedication to her husband...."What can I say about a man who knows how I think and still sleeps next to me with the lights off?"

    The buzz you've been hearing about Gone Girl? All true and more. This is THE book to read this summer. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Just bleary eyed - 'cause you won't be able to put it down!

    43 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    If you like the wave of new books that don't have an ending, the

    If you like the wave of new books that don't have an ending, then read this. Otherwise, don't waste your money.

    39 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I guess that for me, this was more of a "good" book th

    I guess that for me, this was more of a "good" book than a book that I liked. The characters were certainly engaging, there was a good amount of suspense, and the author nicely balanced the narrative voices of very different characters. I can certainly appreciate the fact that it was well-written (if a bit slow at points). I think there were a few issues for me that would make me remove one star: I am not personally interested in "missing women" news sensationalism, I have a hard time enjoying unpleasant characters, and by the last third of the book, I felt things were getting a bit ludicrous (and then I found the ending rather unsatisfying). Having said that, I am still thinking about this book a couple of days later, so that says something good.

    36 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mind Blowing!! UP. ALL. NIGHT!!!

    This might be the FIRST book I have ever read that truly kept me enthralled until the final word. There were so many twists and turns in the plot of "Gone Girl" that I could hardly find a good stopping point to take a shower... and this is not a short book! I just couldn't put it down! I don't want to put a single spoiler, but I will share the general plot. Nick and Amy are a young married couple, living the Manhattan life when they are caught up in the recession. Facing the loss of their jobs and the news of Nick's mother's devastating illness, they decide to move to the midwest to help her in her final days. The foundation of their marriage begins to show cracks that have been there for some time, and what follows is an incredible mystery that is horrifying and unbelievable, and will keep you up all night.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Oh SO very disappointing!!!

    At first, you are intrigued - it keeps you reading. After a little while, you get bored - you realize that there is not one redeeming character in this story and you keep reading just to find out what happens at the end... then you finish - realizing that you have wasted both your time and money on this book. I was so disappointed - quite possibly the worst ending ever! Poor character development, bad - no, TERRIBLE - ending, just a very disappointing book.

    29 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book will blow your mind

    This book is so good and its movie worthy

    27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4503 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 226