Customer Reviews for

Gone Girl (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 5463 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2252)

4 Star

(1433)

3 Star

(772)

2 Star

(458)

1 Star

(548)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

517 out of 595 people found this review helpful.

Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dar...
For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

posted by melissarochelle on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

124 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

A mixed review

I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the com...
I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

posted by 11715835 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 548 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was difficult to like any of the characters. By the end I was

    It was difficult to like any of the characters. By the end I was wanting my time and money back. Awful.

    109 out of 303 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    !

    Why do some reviewers feel the need to either reveal the entire plot line, or write complete dissertations on each and every plot point? They go on and on and on. That is not helpful. I personally hate it when a review reveals everything about the book. I read to be surprised but some posters feel they have to tell everything. That is not a helpful review. Let the readers discover for themselves the secrets of the book. Dont ruin it for us by telling everything.

    99 out of 259 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Waste of ur time

    Sarts slow, picks up and gets better and then TOTALLY ANTI-CLIMATIC. I regret wasting my time and would not recommend it. Spare yourself.

    93 out of 192 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    ok

    After reading the reviews, I purchased this book with high hopes. Four hundred and some pages later when I finished the last page, I sat there and thought, really, that's how it ends?? I was disappointed. Definitely not a happy ending.

    80 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    just awful! Made no sense, characters under developed, the many good reviews make me wonder if I missed something.

    55 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Oh SO very disappointing!!!

    At first, you are intrigued - it keeps you reading. After a little while, you get bored - you realize that there is not one redeeming character in this story and you keep reading just to find out what happens at the end... then you finish - realizing that you have wasted both your time and money on this book. I was so disappointed - quite possibly the worst ending ever! Poor character development, bad - no, TERRIBLE - ending, just a very disappointing book.

    48 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    If you like the wave of new books that don't have an ending, the

    If you like the wave of new books that don't have an ending, then read this. Otherwise, don't waste your money.

    43 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    If you enjoy profanity,this book's for you.

    If you enjoy profanity,this book's for you.

    18 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Leaves you hanging

    Awful ending, ruined the read for me.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    This is a depressing story with no likable characters...and a mo

    This is a depressing story with no likable characters...and a most unrealistic ending. There are no redeeming qualities in any characters. I kept waiting for something that would make this memorable. I think the only memorable thing, for me, will be the emptiness I felt after wasting time reading this.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A Huge Disappointment

    this was the literary equivalent of a Lifetime movie of the week. Nothing interesting about the characters, the writing style or the narrative structure. Somewhat banal analysis of a marriage crossed with a sub par mystery. Don't now how it garnered so many positive reviews. Waste of money.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    An overrated mess

    A ridiculous, repetitive, underdeveloped waste of time. The story line is unreasonabe, whiny.messy and insincere. The plot "twists" are predictable and tedious. The story drops off unfinished at the end and abandons the reader. Wish I had never started.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    One of the worst books I read in 2012, if ever.. Where people g

    One of the worst books I read in 2012, if ever.. Where people give 5 stars is beyond me. Slow, long chapters that go on and on and on and the ending will send anyone with half brain over the edge. I was so excited to read this book originally. Out of curiosity, are her other books similar in structure and development? Won't read another unless someone else can entice me to do otherwise.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    So disappointed!

    This book has an incredible turning point that made me really want to continue reading, however, as the story continued it really seemed like the author just needed to reach a dead line.....so I was really upset that I wasted my time reading it. It could have been so much better. SOMEONE NEEDED TO TAKE THE FALL!!!! Just sayin.....

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Cannot give it less then one star. I judge books on overall sai

    Cannot give it less then one star. I judge books on overall
    saisfaction. It is not good. I like seeing an ending. It leaves you
    hanging and it just seems the author could not think of an appropriate
    and believable ending after the mess she created. I have only had this
    one book read by this author. I will not be getting any more. I will
    stick to James Pattersons books.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Dont bother

    All i can say is.... dont waste your time or money. This had the worlds worst ending. I finished this book 10 minutes ago and was pissed at the abrupt ending. This is one of those stories that ends just like the sopranos, where you are shocked, and so angry that all the time you spent getting involved in this story basically ends. There is no one that wins, no good overcomes evil, just the worst book ending ever. It just ends with nothing , totally sucky ending for a good book. It feels like the author got bored too, and didnt take the time to finisn tne story. Such a bummer because 30 mimutes ago i was enjoying the story, and was looking forward to the revenge ending that everyone is waiting for

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Dissapointing

    Crap ending did the author just give up

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    This book started off interesting, but ended up crashing and bur

    This book started off interesting, but ended up crashing and burning into one of the worst plot endings I've ever read. I only kept reading to see just how "Amazing" Amy would get her just deserts after her years of manipulation, deceit, and pure evilness. But, alas, the joke was on me! The ending of this story left me flabbergasted and not in a good way, which is too bad because this book had a lot of potential.

    I will not reveal any spoilers, but I will say the characters' personalities and some of the plot twists, especially the ending, were ludicrous, ridiculous, absurd, etc..... Overall, I was underwhelmed, let down, and left feeling disgusted and irritated. Similar to feeling like I found a bug in my food. Just repulsed...

    Helpful hint: If you must read this book, borrow it from a friend or check it out from your local library, like I did. It's not worth purchasing in my opinion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    The only ┬┐amazing┬┐ thing about this novel is the acclaim with wh

    The only “amazing” thing about this novel is the acclaim with which it’s been received. A virtuoso exercise in insignificance about two amoral narcissists who play control games with each other ad nauseam.

    Let hope for a sequel in which their [as yet unborn] child, Damien, terminates his parents by screaming, “Bor-ing!” and moves up the food chain to human beings the reader can care about.

    Bravo, Ms. Flynn! You must be laughing all the way to the bank.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    If you like psychopathic behavior that is fairly predictable you

    If you like psychopathic behavior that is fairly predictable you may like this book. I waited for some depth and redeeming factor but the characters fail to grow. They stay in their roles and disappoint Don't waste you ti,ethe reader. The end was the most disappointing and just drags someone else into the sick relationship.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 548 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28