Customer Reviews for

Gone Girl (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 5446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2244)

4 Star

(1427)

3 Star

(771)

2 Star

(457)

1 Star

(547)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

516 out of 594 people found this review helpful.

Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dar...
For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

posted by melissarochelle on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

124 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

A mixed review

I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the com...
I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

posted by 11715835 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 457 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I feel unclean

    I think that the story is well written however, none of the main characters (and very few of the supporting characters) are likable - at all. I kept waiting for someone, anyone, to show even the tiniest bit of humanity or redemption. The world is not populated entirely by egotistical sociopaths. This was a horribly, unsatisfying read.

    102 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Beginning was mediocre but a great twist in the middle. Ending w

    Beginning was mediocre but a great twist in the middle. Ending was horrible. Almost like the author gave up. Wouldn't suggest spending your $$.

    70 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    disappointing

    The story line becomes so far fetched that it is hard to take seriously. At best, this would have worked best as a story line for the television show "Law & Order".

    23 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    A let down

    I love thrillers but in this one i kept waiting for the twist that never came. I liked the first third of the book - it was curious that you didnt actually know what was going on and whether or not he killed her i enjoyed the buid up. When you find out what happened its like reaaally?, okaaaay if you say so.... so i kept waiting for the big surprise. The middle third of the book was just ok and kept me on the hook waiting for the end. So then the end came and what a let down. That was it really? That was her huge master plan? Her checkmate move? This woman that was this super genius? That was it? That was how she won the game? I agree with one of the earlier posters in that it would have made a good Law and Order episode, but thats about it. Its not overly intelligent. Theres not a huge cliff hanger or a twist. Its a quick and somewhat entertaining read. However i can see the book that this book was trying to become and it just never quite became it. It goes downhill as it unfolds and the ending was subpar.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    It started good. But aoubt 3/4 through you began hating both ma

    It started good. But aoubt 3/4 through you began hating both main characters and the ending was absolutely terrible. I read non stop and it's been awhile since I regretted the time spent on a book

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Don't understand

    I REALLY do not understand all the accolade given to this book. I am not finished with it yet but am itching to write the review. I was very much looking forward to this “suspenseful and twisted psychological thriller”. I think the book is incredibly boring. Mind you I am actually listening to it during work commute versus actually reading it and often times the narrator makes or breaks the book. In this case the narrators definitely contribute to irritation. They read very slowly as if to someone with comprehension problems and at time they sound like their mouths are full of spit. Never mid all that. I find the book incredibly slow paced with pages and pages of unnecessary details that are often repeated and boring conversations. It seems none of the characters can get to the point. There is a plot twist thankfully, because I was truly getting ready to stop listening to this boredom and move on to other things. Even with the plot twist I have completely lost interest in what is going to happen. It also does not help that none of the characters are even remotely likeable or original. To me, this book is neither a page turner like say Harlan Coben books are nor, a procedural novel with “make sense” plots like say Michael Connolly. I just don’t understand all the excitement. Based on the ratings it appears I am the minority on this. I rarely write review but this time waster got me pretty agitated.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I agree with those who said this was a letdown. I felt it start

    I agree with those who said this was a letdown. I felt it started slow, picked up, and then just stumped me. I did not have a connect with any characters through the whole book.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    I didn't enjoy this book. It was slow getting into the point. I

    I didn't enjoy this book. It was slow getting into the point. I only finished it because I paid for it and I dont like wasting money.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Awful - totally implausible storyline and horrendous ending. Th

    Awful - totally implausible storyline and horrendous ending. The book
    literally just stops like the author didn't feel like writing anymore or
    didn't know how to end it. So sorry I wasted my time and money...

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    Overly verbose. Could cut in half as it's not hard to figure out ending. I slowly read to end only to justify paying too much for this book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I would not use the word thriller to describe this book. The ou

    I would not use the word thriller to describe this book. The outcome was predictable.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    The way this book ends is just pathetic. You actually flip the

    The way this book ends is just pathetic. You actually flip the page looking for the next chapter and bump into the acknowledgements page. You go back to the end and read it again thinking you must have missed something, but you're just left dumbfounded. I have my personal opinion of what really happened in the end, but to say would give away the story. As such, the ending is left open to interpretation However, for this particular story, it just comes off as the author's lame attempt at a thought provoking ending when all she actually gives is a lazy disappointing ending (if you want to call it an ending at all). I'm not saying that I expect everything tied up with a neat little bow, but this author actually makes you feel cheated and like you just wasted your valuable time. Don't waster yours.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    i heard great things about this book. I found the style of writ

    i heard great things about this book. I found the style of writing interesting. In the end the surprise ending was disturbing to me. I did not enjoy how the ending played out.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Good, but took forever to pick up!

    This book had a very, very slow beginning. It did not pick up and become interesting until almost the end! That was frustrating, and I thought about giving up on it several times. Twisted ending was also a bit of a letdown.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Gone for Good.....

    This was my first book by Gillian Flynn and probably my last. It took entirely way too long for me to get fully involved in this book. There were parts that intrigued me, but the book as whole was just not worth it for me. The ending was a huge disappointment.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Disappointed reader

    Great book with a horrible ending. Its like she ran out of ideas and got bored writing so she just wrapped it up in the most ridiculous unimaginative way. Id elaborate but i dont want to spoil anything for anyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Personally not a fan og Personally not a fan, wish I would've saved my money

    It took until page 150 to become even a tiny bit interesting. Not my kind of story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is very well written and did keep my attention, but ov

    This book is very well written and did keep my attention, but overall I would not recommend it. There is not one likable character in the entire book and it ends dreadfully, very unsatisfying ending. I wish I hadn't wasted my time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Borrrring The first half of this book was beyond boring, It took

    Borrrring
    The first half of this book was beyond boring, It took me over a month to get through this book because I kept putting it down, I just couldn't get into it. The second half was better, but the damage had already been done. I will admit the twist was great, didn't see that coming. But the ending?!?! ugh it was awful. Expected more justice, got no justice. Will not be in any hurry to read another of this authors books, even though I've been told her other books are better. Overall, This book left me very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Disappointed

    Had high hopes, but disappoined in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 457 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23