Customer Reviews for

Gone Girl

Average Rating 4
( 4591 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1872)

4 Star

(1222)

3 Star

(663)

2 Star

(381)

1 Star

(453)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

412 out of 478 people found this review helpful.

Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dar...
For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

posted by melissarochelle on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

103 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

A mixed review

I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the com...
I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

posted by 11715835 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1222 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 62
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    This is quite a challenging book for any readers group discussio

    This is quite a challenging book for any readers group discussion. The protagonists, Amy and Nick, are deeply dark within a very charming physical beauty. Readers will absolutely dislike them. It is interesting how the author makes a point of how the media influences public opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    :)

    Very good and entertaining. I kept reading just to see what would happen,, kinda felt let down at the end. Good book anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great novel

    This was a fantastic read with plenty of twists and turn. I don't want to give anything away, but this was a wonderful look into the marriage of Nick and Amy Dunne. On the day of their 5th anniversary Amy goes missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    This book was addictive--I couldn't stop reading it. Seriously.

    This book was addictive--I couldn't stop reading it. Seriously. The only problem I had with it was the overall sadistic nature of the book. After I finished reading it, I felt like I needed to cleanse my soul. The story itself was great, the plot was engaging, but the overuse of the f-bomb was a bit of a turn off. Overall, I would recommend this book, but not to just anyone. This book should be read only by people that will not be completely disgusted by the plot twists and the raw and gritty language used by Flynn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    This was an interesting story where you don't really like any of

    This was an interesting story where you don't really like any of the characters but you can't stop reading about them because you just have to know what happens to them. It is a great read and I highly recommend it.

    I went back and forth siding with each spouse. Just when I would think "well there, that one is the bad guy" the next chapter would have me on the other side.

    I don't know what all the fuss is about the ending, it fits this twisted story so well. It's not a neat tied-up-in-a-bow type ending but I liked that about it. This story is messy like real life and it ends messy like real life.

    I think it is well written, interesting, and totally different from anything else I have read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Gone girl had me reading all night long!

    I really enjoyed this bok from the very beginning. The twist and turns were amazing. When I read the last page at 2:00 AM I was really let down, dont get me wrong great book so I will give it many stars, but I was in Nick camp and l expected so much more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    good suspense, keeps you guessing

    Gone Girl was one of the beter books I've read lately. It had an interesting story line - it made you love these people, then hate these people..... each taking turns! A look inside twisted love! I would definitely read another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Decent book

    I thougt this was an okay read. I had heard so much about it, I figured I had to give it a shot. I wasnt disappointed but I wasn't elated either. Characters were complex but easy to like/dislike. Overall, it was okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Worth the time

    I actually loved the characters. I wasn't "in love" with them but loved how different each one's personal evil was from the next. It was hard to like anyone so you're forced to pick the lesser of evils which shifts numerous times within the book. I hated the ending but not in a disappointed hate but more of a "it cannot be over" hate. It was definitely a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Could not put it down.

    It's been a long time since I read a book that I couldn't put down, a book that I couldn't wait to get back to when I had to put it down. That is Gone Girl. It kept me up so late one night that I simply could not keep my eyes open any longer. It's difficult to review this title without giving anything away. But I will say this: whatever you think is going on, something different is going on.

    Be forewarned: it is dark. But it's probably nothing you haven't seen or heard before and there's stuff a lot worse on the news and in movies. Still, it isn't for everyone. But if you enjoy psychological thrillers, I think you'll like this book.

    At the start of 2013, Gone Girl has bumped the new John Grisham out of first place on the NYT bestseller list. Reese Witherspoon acquired the film rights and you'll be able to picture parts of the movie on screen.

    One more thing: the ending is not that great. But you will be racing to get there nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Good Book....

    Disappointing ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Goid book/ bad ending

    Ending is horrible....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Gone Girl

    Gone Girl is a thriller with two very intriguing main characters. You are pulled into the story quickly and the technique of alternating voices keeps you involved. Well worth a read if you enjoy a good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book that keeps you guessing until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Almost great

    Sloppy editing. Big adjectives and adverbs stood out after being recycled indiscriminately. Thought the format was clever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    A terrific page-turner

    Loved this book. I couldn't anticipate the plot at any point. It continually kept me off balance and guessing. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nick and Amy Dunne live the good life in New York City, both wit

    Nick and Amy Dunne live the good life in New York City, both with careers they love and lots of money to spend. But when the recession hits and they lose their jobs, they're at a loss as to what to do. Nick decides they should move back to his hometown in order to take care of his mother, dying of cancer, and his father who suffers from Alzheimer's disease. Nick quickly fits into this completely diverse lifestyle but Amy has a hard time adapting. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy mysteriously disappears. At first the police treat it as a missing person but when evidence of a massive blood spill in the kitchen turns up, they begin to suspect murder and their eyes turn toward Nick, who has been acting suspicious since the beginning.

    This book is told in two sections, each one with alternating points of view of Nick and Amy. Gillian does a good job slowly revealing facts and providing nicely delivered twists while peeling away the layers of the personas of Nick and Amy, These two are not likeable characters although this does not take away from the read but rather enhances it. The ending may bother some readers although others may see it as the ultimate twist to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Great Book

    Loved the twist & turns in this book. I have recommend this book to friends & family & so far everyone thinks its a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Read it!

    Awesome! One twisted tale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WOW....what a story, well written!!

    I thought the book started out slow and was waiting for it to do something, and then it did and wow it was hard to put down till I finished it! Great writing technique, the characters were realistic.
    I could read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1222 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 62