Customer Reviews for

Gone Girl

Average Rating 4
( 4485 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1810)

4 Star

(1203)

3 Star

(650)

2 Star

(379)

1 Star

(443)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

396 out of 462 people found this review helpful.

Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dar...
For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

posted by melissarochelle on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

97 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

A mixed review

I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the com...
I really enjoyed this book, and like everybody else, couldn't wait to finish to see what happened. The twists and turns just kept on coming. Is it "Brilliant"? - not so much. Is it "awful"? No. it's not that either. It's a fun read, and I would recommend it, but the comments about the ending are valid. Yes, it's what they both deserved, and it's predictable in retrospect; i just wanted something a little more satisfying and wrapped up neatly. I wanted the character who deserved to be exposed to be exposed - and I wanted the character who deserved to get revenge to get it

posted by 11715835 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1810 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 91
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Gillian Flynn is Brilliant.

    For those Anonymous users that gave this one star without any text explaining that low rating...you suck. And you make the rest of us that want to remain anonymous look bad.

    This is a smart, clever thriller that dissects the marriage of Amy and Nick Dunne. It's a dark, twisted story that will leave you shocked. (At least, I was shocked...and I can't stop talking about how much I loved it.)

    I should mention, I didn't like Flynn's first novel, I only picked this one up because I only heard good things from people I trust.

    396 out of 462 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    ENGROSSING

    I refuse to summarize this story. I believe this is a fantastic book that should be relished without any prior knowledge of its plot. Wonderful prose. Insightful observations. Great character development. There are so many comments I would like to make, but I would ruin the suspense for others. I was/am so emotionally charged at the ending that I want to become a character in the story. Without spoiling the plot for those who chose to enjoy this incredible book, I suspect that many readers will have a similar reaction and would like to join me as residents of Carthage, Missouri.

    276 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I read...a lot. Like, I need to read. After reading "Gone

    I read...a lot. Like, I need to read. After reading "Gone Girl," I know why. Very seldom will you come across a book that finishes so well. The story keeps you reading...so many stories can do that. This one, however, does what so few can accomplish by ending well. Satisying, is the best word I can think of. I realized I keep looking for a book that will satisfy all my cravings in a good story: suspense, humor, anger, sadness, relief. A fine book doesn't have to leave you guessing throughout the plot to keep you wanting more. Flynn keeps it straight to the point with enough twists to make it twisted without becoming too complicated to follow.
    This book will grab you like a hyped-up media headline and won't let you go! We all get caught up in the mainstream, bombshell news casts, and this book takes you right there in the middle of it. Love the technique and can't wait to see what Gillian Flynn comes up with next!

    207 out of 236 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't be misled by criticism of the ending

    It is interesting to me--but not surprising--that a tiny segment of this book's readers give it low marks. I detect two consistent themes in those reviews. Before I get to that, let me put in writing my FIRST reactions to this novel: creative and complex story, daring approach, flawless context, remarkably courageous personal insight, glib-witty-brutal-unflinching narrative. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, even when it made me itchy and twitchy and feel uncomfortably exposed. And THAT brings me to the second theme in those negative reviews. (I'll get to the first one in a moment). Be assured, if you decide to read this book you're going to find little pieces of yourself and of people you know or care about woven through the cast of characters. And it won't be the best pieces, either. It will be the quirks and traits and harsh sentiments that all of us hope to keep hidden, not only from others but from ourselves, as well. Not everyone can look at that kind of naked emotion and see it as powerful, revelatory writing. Some of us are going to find it uncomfortable enough to dislike the book and to find flimsy complaints on which to blame that dislike: characters, language, writing style. And some of us are going find it uncomfortable enough to dislike the book but recognize nonetheless that it is a riveting story told with skill, imagination, and intelligence, and therefore we have to go for criticism number one... the ending. Those are the criticisms that make the least sense to me. I can't imagine, after nearly 500 pages of wandering around in the skulls of these characters, what sort of happy or tragic or poetically just ending the critics might have anticipated. The end of the book (but certainly not the end of the story) is as natural and logical as all that leads us to it. Granted, that's not very natural or logical for most of us, but it's what THESE characters would do; it's what they DESERVE. And in that there is a sort of literary integrity. It's not a Hurray! or a Yahoo! or a Gotcha! It's not TV. It's a continuation of the lives these pathetically twisted people have knowingly, willingly, compulsively built for themselves.

    184 out of 212 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Fabulous book!

    This book grabbed me from page 1 and didn't let go until the end! It was one of those novels that made me hurry and put the kids to bed so i could find out what happened next. Didn't want it to end! So glad i discovered this author and look forward to reading her other two books.

    108 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    62 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We've all read the stories in newspapers - a woman goes missing

    We've all read the stories in newspapers - a woman goes missing and the husband is the prime suspect. And he loudly proclaims his innocence....even as the evidence mounts....

    Gillian Flynn put her own spin on this idea in her latest book - Gone Girl.

    It is the day of Nick and Amy's fifth anniversary. It is also the day Amy disappears. Left behind - the first cryptic clue in a treasure hunt Amy always sets up for Nick.

    The first part of Gone Girl is told in alternating chapters from Nick's present time viewpoint, with flashbacks to memories. Amy's voice is heard from the pages of a diary, starting from seven years ago and building up to the day she disappears. The narratives each tell a completely different story. Who is telling the truth? The second part - well, I'm not going to spoil the plot for you, so I'll stop there.

    I am a huge fan of psychological thrillers and with Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn has crafted one of the best I've ever read. Really. The plot line is completely unpredictable. It's rare for me to be completely surprised at the direction a book takes, but I was this time. Flynn toys with us in a completely delicious and devious manner. You'll want to read carefully - there are lies, secrets and omissions scattered throughout the book and each revelation ratchets up the stakes just a little higher.

    While Gone Girl is a razor edged thriller, Flynn also explores marriage, attraction, family relationships and the media with that same sharp edged eye. Flynn's prose are are arresting, painting vivid images that crackle with intensity.

    "....the girl a man like Nick wants: the Cool Girl. Men always say that as the defining compliment, don't they? She's a cool girl. Being the cool girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she's hosting the world's biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot. Hot and understanding. Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want."

    This is the first book I've read by Flynn, although I have since picked up her second book Dark Places. I loved the dedication to her husband...."What can I say about a man who knows how I think and still sleeps next to me with the lights off?"

    The buzz you've been hearing about Gone Girl? All true and more. This is THE book to read this summer. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Just bleary eyed - 'cause you won't be able to put it down!

    43 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mind Blowing!! UP. ALL. NIGHT!!!

    This might be the FIRST book I have ever read that truly kept me enthralled until the final word. There were so many twists and turns in the plot of "Gone Girl" that I could hardly find a good stopping point to take a shower... and this is not a short book! I just couldn't put it down! I don't want to put a single spoiler, but I will share the general plot. Nick and Amy are a young married couple, living the Manhattan life when they are caught up in the recession. Facing the loss of their jobs and the news of Nick's mother's devastating illness, they decide to move to the midwest to help her in her final days. The foundation of their marriage begins to show cracks that have been there for some time, and what follows is an incredible mystery that is horrifying and unbelievable, and will keep you up all night.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book will blow your mind

    This book is so good and its movie worthy

    27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Flynn's first two books were gripping; Gone Girl surpasses them.

    Flynn's first two books were gripping; Gone Girl surpasses them. All the great reviews are justly deserved. And I have to agree with the comment about the Anonymous reviews who gave the book such a low rating without any explanation--what's up with that?

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Like watching 48 Hours

    I couldn't put this book down. It keeps you guessing and at the edge of your seat. It is a great psychological mystery. A must read this summer.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Umm.....Wow!

    This has been hyped as THE read of the Summer. Read this book now! But I caution you- it has many twists and turns. And its disturbing......very disturbing. As a character in the book says....Nick and Amy are two of the most f'ed up people. And they are. But you'll get pulled in.....whether you like it or not.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I think a lot of customers are expecting books where all the plo

    I think a lot of customers are expecting books where all the plots are direct and wrapped up. You're not supposed to love the characters like you would Harry Potter. 'Gone Girl' is a mystery, a thriller, the best of psychological torment. It is a book about people and relationships as much suspense and fear. There are amazing depths here. The wonderful thing about Ms Flynn is that she keeps getting better. I was lucky enough to get the ARC of this and read it one day. Passed it on to my wife and she did the same. Then, unlike a lot of books or series these days, we spent hours discussing the story.

    An amazing book by an amazing author!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Wonderful - one of those books that stays with you

    This book was a wonderful, suspenseful work. I thoroughly enjoyed the twists and raced through it. Fans of Flynn's other novels will not be disappointed. Definitely worth the money; I just wish it was lendable,

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    Gillian Flynn's latest is a fascinating study of what happens when absolute adoration turns to malice in a marriage. On the day of their five-year anniversary, Nick discovers his wife, Amy, is missing. Through alternating points of view between Nick in real time and Amy's diary entries, a story unfolds of a marriage that began with promise and slowly became toxic. As evidence mounts against him, the reader is never completely sure of Nick's innocence or in his growing certainty that his wife is still alive, a theory the police seem to disregard. Part I ends with things not looking good for Nick. Part II begins with a major shock, something I genuinely was not expecting, and the plot really takes off in a crazy, unexpected direction. Suffice it to say, I was riveted until the suprising conclusion. My main quibble with the book is tough to discuss as it deals with a major spoiler towards the end, but I think that maybe things were wrapped up a little too easily and that something as routine as an autopsy would've raised a red flag (those who have read the book will know what I'm talking about). In the end, Gone Girl is a psychological study of a marriage gone horribly wrong and questions whether we truly know the people closest to us. [Fans of creepy, forboding thrillers will also enjoy her first two novels: Dark Places and Sharp Objects]

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Delicious

    Gillian Flynn has created a new genre: the thriller-tragedy, or thrillady. Her writing is delicious and engaging. Fantastic story, with a devastating and fresh take on the narrator's perspective.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I could not put this book down. It is a crackling thrill ride f

    I could not put this book down. It is a crackling thrill ride from beginning to end. The writing is fantastic, the characters are well-rounded and perfect in their imperfections, and the twist will make your jaw drop. Do not miss this exceptional summer read.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, very well paced. Highly recommended for mystery fans

    Great read, very well paced. Highly recommended for mystery fans.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good Read

    Clever writing. Very sharp.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    An absolutely amazing & brilliant book. I've read all three

    An absolutely amazing & brilliant book. I've read all three of her books and Gone Girl is as good as any of them if not better. Gillian Flynn is an exceptionally talented writer that will leave you anticipating her next book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1810 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 91