Customer Reviews for

Gone Missing (Kate Burkholder Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A thrilling suspense! GONE MISSING is Linda Castillo's 4th book

A thrilling suspense! GONE MISSING is Linda Castillo's 4th book in the Kate Burkholder Series. Once again Linda Castillo has written an awesome Kate Buekholder thriller. It is a suspencefull, thrilling and gripping read. I couldn't put it down. It has an ending I d...
A thrilling suspense! GONE MISSING is Linda Castillo's 4th book in the Kate Burkholder Series. Once again Linda Castillo has written an awesome Kate Buekholder thriller. It is a suspencefull, thrilling and gripping read. I couldn't put it down. It has an ending I didn't see coming. It left me feeling like I had ice water running through my veins.
I can't wait for Castillo's next Kate Burkholder thriller.

posted by JPropst on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed. Not able to read past the first chapter due to the

Disappointed. Not able to read past the first chapter due to the extreme amount of bad language. I will not purchase another book by Castillo. Offended by the language. This book should not be classified as Christian fiction!

posted by 6016695 on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Disappointed. Not able to read past the first chapter due to the

    Disappointed. Not able to read past the first chapter due to the extreme amount of bad language. I will not purchase another book by Castillo. Offended by the language. This book should not be classified as Christian fiction!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A thrilling suspense! GONE MISSING is Linda Castillo's 4th book

    A thrilling suspense! GONE MISSING is Linda Castillo's 4th book in the Kate Burkholder Series. Once again Linda Castillo has written an awesome Kate Buekholder thriller. It is a suspencefull, thrilling and gripping read. I couldn't put it down. It has an ending I didn't see coming. It left me feeling like I had ice water running through my veins.
    I can't wait for Castillo's next Kate Burkholder thriller.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I have enjoyed the Kate Burkholder books from the time I first r

    I have enjoyed the Kate Burkholder books from the time I first read them. I think each one is better than the last. We follow as they search for who is responsible for the disappearance of young Amish women. There are several interesting twists. I surely hope there will be more to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Another Hit for Linda Castillo

    Linda Castillo has done it once again with Gone Missing the 4th instalment of the Katie Burkholder series. Painters Mills small town Chief of police Katie Burkholder is called as a consultant for the BCI and once again working along aside state agent, John Tomasetti. A missing child case, the victim being Amish, Chief of police Kate Burkholder is called in as an expert. How far this case will strech and the lives it will inevitably impact nobody can possibly know. Linda Castillo once again captures the hearts of readers with Gone Missing. Once again Linda Castillo works her story writing magic with her ability to put readers right there in the misdt of the investigation. Gone Missing is a fast paced thriller. I still cannot believe the twist Linda Castillo put at the end of the book. I hope to read more from Linda Castillo and her Katie Burkholder series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Nffjfj

    If u had not read the book yet then whhy would u wirte somthinng!!!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    Linda Castillo desperately needs to develop Chief of Police, Kate Burkholder's character. The series is starting to get stagnant.

    I was so thrilled when this case took Kate out of her "amish" community to work with State Agent John Tomasetti in a totally different environment, even though it was an amish related case. Linda Castillo could have done so much more with the plot, but alas, it fell flat. She rushed Kate back to her post and then the story stalled.

    I really like Linda Castillo's writing style but now with her fifth book in the series, "Her Last Breath", if the story line dosen't improve, I don't think I'll be reading this series of books anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    The best in the series so far! I couldn't put this book down.

    The best in the series so far! I couldn't put this book down. Linda Castillo has created such complex characters, I can't wait to see what happens next to Kate and John. The mystery was good and the ending gave me chills. I'm sad it will probably be another year before I get my next fix of this wonderful series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    And you thought the Amish were boring...

    The third in the series and it doesn't disappoint! A quick, suspenseful read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Great read

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    A must read

    I have been following all Castillo's books and have enjoyed every one of them. She writes with such great description!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Well Written and Engaging

    Definitely a fan of the series now after reading this entertaining thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    ?

    What are these books about?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Ruka

    Moans bbl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Molly Book provided by the publisher for review Revi

    Reviewed by Molly
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Okay, so I love crime novels. And I love Amish novels. Linda Castillo is a fantastic author who gives her readers both of those things and so much more. Her writing style is completely unique blending complex characters, with complex plot lines, giving the reader just what they want.

    When you think of Amish, you don’t think of crime, do you? I don’t. I think of the peacefulness seeing their simple living can give you. But, just like with us, things aren’t always so peachy. And Linda Castillo writes just that. Amish and crime can in fact occur. Castillo’s character Kate Burkholder takes us to the center of the Amish with an investigation like no other.

    Kate Burkholder is called in as investigator on an Amish teen’s vanishing by her on again off again boyfriend, Agent John Tomasetti . Things get really complicated for her when a dead body is found and the news of more missing Amish teens arise. Being former Amish, Kate knows the very personal lives they live and the interviews are given with hesitation. When another Amish teen experiencing Rumspringa goes missing, Kate takes it personally. What will happen next, as Kate and John race against time to figure out the what if’s and the who’s responsible? Secrets from the past arise, emotions run high, and the truth is exposed on this investigation.

    With amazing twists and white-knuckle turns, this story keeps you on the edge of your seat. It’s the fourth book in a series, and I’ve only read book 1, Sworn To Silence. I really want to go back and get books 2 and 3 and read this series in order. The amazing suspense that this author incorporates in this story is mind blowing!

    This is by far one of my favorite Amish mystery novels in a long time. The perfect blend of murderous suspense and crime is mixed with a touch of romance (can’t leave out the on again off again romance!) make up this incredibly written story. If you’ve never read an Amish mystery, I highly suggest you start with Linda Castillo’s books. They are amazing and captivating. It’s a whirlwind roller coaster ride from start to finish with an ending that will leave you bug-eyed and thirsting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Best author in a long time .........noting by Swalm

    Kate's series are page turners,.never dull, and very enjoyable to read. Do yourself a favor a read a book WORTH the money!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    GreA GREAT

    This was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it and wanted to read it again and again.Crazy about it

    I loved it and wanted to read it again and again.Crazy about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I enjoyed the previous 3 books and could't wait to start reading

    I enjoyed the previous 3 books and could't wait to start reading "Gone Missing."   Sadly, this book lacked the excitement and suspense of the earlier books.  I forced myself to finish it hoping it would get better but it didn't.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Kept you guessing to the end.

    I have enjoyed this entire series. The ending of this book was a real surprise. I highly recommend all the books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4