BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gone Tomorrow (Jack Reacher Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Lee Child does it again

Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. The...
Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. There are twists and turns and things that make you wonder. There is also a lot of action and unfortunately, graphic death. You would think that with each new Jack Reacher novel that Mr. Child would run out of ideas to excite the true fan, but not yet. I think Jack Reacher will be collecting social security before these stories run out. Great job, Lee Child.

posted by grumpydan on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just OK, definitely not his best.

I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed abo...
I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed about 2/3 through the book and we got a whole new perspective, and NEVER got to see it resolved. Not sure if I'll read another Reacher novel, as this really reminded me of Nothing to Lose, with a really slow middle and a very sudden ending. It's like the story is still going 2 pages from the end and then it's just over all of a sudden. Very weird.

posted by MemphisBo on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lee Child does it again

    Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. There are twists and turns and things that make you wonder. There is also a lot of action and unfortunately, graphic death. You would think that with each new Jack Reacher novel that Mr. Child would run out of ideas to excite the true fan, but not yet. I think Jack Reacher will be collecting social security before these stories run out. Great job, Lee Child.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Lee Child is a master and Gone Tomorrow is no Exception!

    I'm a huge Lee Child fan and so had high expectations for Gone Tomrrow. It lived up to my expectations. Not the best of his books, but definitely a great read. Child's iconic hero, Jack Reacher, is in rare form and once again has to punch, kick, think, and shoot his way out of bad luck and trouble. This book is fast paced and addictive. The story is plausible and the mystery keeps you guessing until the end. Like all good thrillers, there's few plot twists that you never see coming. All in all, I recommend this book as a great way to spend a lazy weekend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    These Reacher books are fantastic

    Lee Child does it again with this latest Reacher story. Some of these Reacher stories are better than others but they are all consistently very entertaining. Fast read with great dialogue. I can't wait for the next in the series. I started the series in the middle, now I am going back to read from the beginning. Keep em' coming Lee! I like the ones better in the third person.
    "Reacher said nothing."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Just OK, definitely not his best.

    I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed about 2/3 through the book and we got a whole new perspective, and NEVER got to see it resolved. Not sure if I'll read another Reacher novel, as this really reminded me of Nothing to Lose, with a really slow middle and a very sudden ending. It's like the story is still going 2 pages from the end and then it's just over all of a sudden. Very weird.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lee Child Does It Again

    Title: Gone Tomorrow
    Author: Lee Child
    Publisher: Bantam Dell
    Publication Date: 19 May, 2009
    Reviewer: Lee Carper

    Lee Child's latest novel, GONE TOMORROW, starts off with a bang
    -literally- and doesn't let go. Boarding subway car 7622 at two o'clock in the morning, Reacher, an ex-military cop who forever remains vigilant to his surroundings, memorized the Israeli counterintelligence spot-list twenty years ago and to this day cannot forget the behavioral indicators. A woman sitting on the train catches his attention. Reacher's mind whirrs, taking him through that check-list. One by one she meets the criteria. Eleven points out of eleven.

    Suicide bomber.

    Reacher quickly makes a decision that sets off a string of events with deadly consequences. As usual, he finds himself wrapped in a quagmire with many players, not the least of which involves various departments of the government.

    I admit I don't normally tend to enjoy thrillers with too many details, but I make the exception for Lee Child's novels. For me, the details make Reacher come alive. In GONE TOMORROW, the author takes us for another wild ride, and this book is highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    Good book, but about 200 pages too long.

    I have read all of Lee Child's books and find him to be a great writer. The problem is he gets to long winded for me. A simple act like someone answering a phone can last two or three pages. It starts to get boring when he has to describe everything until the reader gets crazy from boredom.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Reacher + NYC = Plenty of thrills

    Anyone familiar with Lee Child's Jack reacher thrillers will have no problem getting right into 'Gone Tomorrow'. Right from the opening subway ride, readers will be ripping through its pages, trying to keep up with the action, sorting through its cast of fairly well delineated characters, and hoping against hope that Jack will actually have to do a little cardio or something to keep in such fine fighting trim. The author makes very good use of New York as his primary setting, with various points of interest almost jumping off the page . All in all, a fine addition to this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of the series will believe GONE TOMORROW is one of the best entries

    On a nearly vacant Manhattan subway train, former MP Jack Reacher notices the female passenger acting odd. She shows all the nervous signs of a suicide bomber as proscribed by the Israeli military, an occupation by definition always means first timer. The Israreli list of signs contains eleven points in common between the genders; this woman has all of them as the local train heads from Bleeker St. with stops in between towards Grand Central. Absurd as he thinks it is, Reacher follows his gut and calmly confronts her. In her bag is not wires, but a gun she pulls out and points at him before turning it on herself blowing away her head.

    NYPD Detective Theresa Lee questions Reacher especially about the Israeli list that led to the "false positive" suicide. Detective Docherty offers a different scenario accusing Reacher of homicide, but the vet calls the cop dumb insisting they are stalling until the Feds arrive. When the FBI does they question Reacher before walking away. Leaving the precinct, he is accosted by four men wanting information and after that by the victim's brother, who insists his sister would not kill herself. Before long Jack finds himself pulled in two directions; one back to the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan and the other into the heart of the global war on terrorism; neither make sense, but Jack knows his mission is to kill the bad guys before they cause harm.

    The opening sequence as poorly described above is brilliant as Reacher is pulled into an international mess one step at a time. The story line gets even better as the tension mounts as Reacher finds himself caught in the middle. Fans of the series will believe GONE TOMORROW is one of the best entries (that says a lot with the consistency of this series) while newcomers could not ask for a better introduction to the world of the nomadic former MP.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Not much of a reader

    I am not a big reader so for me to like a book it has to grab me. This book did just that. Great story that will keep interested.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Parts are unnecessarily graffic, otherwise up to Mr. Child's standard

    Plot etc. are great, another good Reacher novel. The others I'd give 5 stars. This one falls short due to some unwarrented graffic descriptions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Great book

    This was a great read. I started reading on a Friday night and couldn't put the book down until I finished on Sunday night.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    ANOTHER EXCITING LEE CHILD BOOK

    Jack again gets himself in to a little problem but comes up smelling roses and good again prevails

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Jack Reacher is a larger than life individual and his adventures are frightening, but he is always up to the challenge.

    I was introduced to the character of Jack Reacher by a woman I met in a bookstore. I can't thank her enough. This character is the kind of man that you want on your side if you are in trouble. Love the character, love the books. Thanks Mr. Child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Another Great book by Lee Child

    I have read every one of the Jack Reacher series and they continue to be totally addicting. I can't wait for another one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Boring and Disappointing

    I love Lee Child but I'm 3/4 way through this book and finding it hard to finish. The first couple of chapters kept you interested, but somehow it went astray and it became boring. The only parts I enjoyed was the action with Jack Reacher. Don't know if I'll be able to finish it. I give it 3 stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Easy to read.

    Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book in a great series.

    I am reading this series in numerical order. I am as you can see on number 13. I have not been disappointed in any of these stories. The action is good, the storyline flows well and you always have a little twist you didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Not so good

    Not the usual Lee Child work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Layout is Horrible

    Page after page of solid print, wall to wall -- the layout in this book is the worst I've seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Deimos

    If you got the answer to that riddle good job. Now, go back and figure out the other. Remembre, result three, result five, result two. Good luck. I know you can solve it. ~&Delta&epsilon&iota<_>m&theta<_>s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22