Customer Reviews for

Gone Tomorrow (Jack Reacher Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Lee Child does it again

Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. The...
Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. There are twists and turns and things that make you wonder. There is also a lot of action and unfortunately, graphic death. You would think that with each new Jack Reacher novel that Mr. Child would run out of ideas to excite the true fan, but not yet. I think Jack Reacher will be collecting social security before these stories run out. Great job, Lee Child.

posted by grumpydan on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just OK, definitely not his best.

I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed abo...
I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed about 2/3 through the book and we got a whole new perspective, and NEVER got to see it resolved. Not sure if I'll read another Reacher novel, as this really reminded me of Nothing to Lose, with a really slow middle and a very sudden ending. It's like the story is still going 2 pages from the end and then it's just over all of a sudden. Very weird.

posted by MemphisBo on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Lee Child is a master and Gone Tomorrow is no Exception!

    I'm a huge Lee Child fan and so had high expectations for Gone Tomrrow. It lived up to my expectations. Not the best of his books, but definitely a great read. Child's iconic hero, Jack Reacher, is in rare form and once again has to punch, kick, think, and shoot his way out of bad luck and trouble. This book is fast paced and addictive. The story is plausible and the mystery keeps you guessing until the end. Like all good thrillers, there's few plot twists that you never see coming. All in all, I recommend this book as a great way to spend a lazy weekend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    These Reacher books are fantastic

    Lee Child does it again with this latest Reacher story. Some of these Reacher stories are better than others but they are all consistently very entertaining. Fast read with great dialogue. I can't wait for the next in the series. I started the series in the middle, now I am going back to read from the beginning. Keep em' coming Lee! I like the ones better in the third person.
    "Reacher said nothing."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lee Child Does It Again

    Title: Gone Tomorrow
    Author: Lee Child
    Publisher: Bantam Dell
    Publication Date: 19 May, 2009
    Reviewer: Lee Carper

    Lee Child's latest novel, GONE TOMORROW, starts off with a bang
    -literally- and doesn't let go. Boarding subway car 7622 at two o'clock in the morning, Reacher, an ex-military cop who forever remains vigilant to his surroundings, memorized the Israeli counterintelligence spot-list twenty years ago and to this day cannot forget the behavioral indicators. A woman sitting on the train catches his attention. Reacher's mind whirrs, taking him through that check-list. One by one she meets the criteria. Eleven points out of eleven.

    Suicide bomber.

    Reacher quickly makes a decision that sets off a string of events with deadly consequences. As usual, he finds himself wrapped in a quagmire with many players, not the least of which involves various departments of the government.

    I admit I don't normally tend to enjoy thrillers with too many details, but I make the exception for Lee Child's novels. For me, the details make Reacher come alive. In GONE TOMORROW, the author takes us for another wild ride, and this book is highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    ANOTHER EXCITING LEE CHILD BOOK

    Jack again gets himself in to a little problem but comes up smelling roses and good again prevails

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    I much prefer the Reacher Novels that are written in the first p

    I much prefer the Reacher Novels that are written in the first person. Getting inside Reachers mind is a much better way to tell the Reacher story. The 1st person novels (like the first one the Killing Floor, as well as The Persuader, The Enemy, Gone Tomorrow and the Affair) are really the best novels. The others are good but they lack the Reacher essence in some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Love the Jack Reacher series

    Bravo! Lee child has the knack to keep me on the edge of my seat. The only part that bothers me is the narrative. Long and tedious reading. I'm a dialogue person and I itch to get to some. Reacher has a tough scenario to deal with, like a jigsaw puzzle needing a good eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Anotber great Reacher thriller

    I recently becamd hooked on Lee Child's Reacher series. This one has been as good as I've come to expect from him. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Awesome book

    Today is Friday, November 26, 2010. I started reading this book about 12 days ago. It is such a great book; a story that grabs you right from the first page and doesn't stop. Gone Tomorrow is only the 2nd Lee Child novel I have read (Hard Way). I presently have Bad Luck and Trouble & 61 Hours waiting in the wings. The only part of the book I didn't care for was the Osama bin Ladin connection; too cliche these days in the post 9/11 era. Someone commented on the graphic nature of the killing scenes of the book. In consideration of the terrorist angle of the book, terrorists aren't polite killers. They do make their victims suffer. I feel those scenes were appropriate for the story. What I truly admire about Lee Child's work is his attention to detail that he gives every character, whether the character is essential to the story or not. He really provides a mental image of what that person looks like in his mind. That is what an author is suppose to get across to us as readers.

    Hopefully soon, I can get a nook, save shelf space, and start reading all his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Always good to see Reacher again!

    Have read all the Reacher novels, and while this is not my favorite it is still a great read. Great fast-paced writing, complicated plots, unusual characters, and the one-and-only Jack Reacher. A welcome addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced thriller

    I have read ALL of Lee Child's Jack Reacher books and Gone Tomorrow is one of the best. It grabs your attention on the first page (like most of his books).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Fun

    As usual when you want a good book to read for just plain fun Lee did again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Jack Reacher story!

    Many twists and turns keep your interest. Great book for the Dr. office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    JACK REACHER IS BACK IN FORM - GOOD BOOK

    I missed the action in Lee Child's last book,but he made up for it in this one. The action scenes are what I've come to love with the Reacher character. Interesting reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    A good book, but not the best Reacher story.

    I enjoyed the book - it did take me longer than normal to get through the story, as it did not capture me as much as past Reacher stories have. I do recommend the book to just keep up with the character and to find out where he is and what trouble he has found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gone.....

    What's going on here? I love Lee Child!!!!! I love his characters!!!! I love the way he writes!!!! Then comes "Gone Tomorrow". It is not his typical great novel. Its almost like he had to write something quickly. I wasn't totally disappointed...I will continue to read his work...I was just a little less than a Jack Reacher thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Literature but Great Fun

    All of the Reacher books are highly flawed in the same way as, say, the "Die Hard" movies are flawed. But they are also highly entertaining in the same way that those films are highly entertaining. In this genre, Child is probably one of the best writers out there. These books are not literature, but they're not a string of simple sentences in an 8th grade vocabulary, either. These are for readers who like their snacks prepared by a gourmet instead of purchased from a vending machine. They're also, surprisingly, for women as well as men. (That's coming from a woman.) "Gone Tomorrow" is, in my view, one of the better books in the series. Take it from someone who reads a LOT -- Child is a good writer; Jack Reacher is a great character; and this series of books are some of the best of the thriller/crime genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Lee Child just keeps us reading!

    Lee Child has done it again...keeping us spellbound with his latest book. Although this book is not my favorite, it is a great read...timely...and as all his others, surprises us with an ending you would never believe. Keep them coming, Mr. Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Losing cred?

    Have been a devoted fan of the Reacher series from book one, but am about over believing in his ultra-nomadic lifestyle that somehow still finds him deeply enmeshed with top-level government secrets. Love you Reacher, but wash your clothes and stay put for a book or two...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Read 'Gone Tomorrow' Today

    This is a great read incorporating terrorism, Big Brother and red herrings. Loved the plot twists (would maker a good movie). Want to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    One of his best

    I think that this is one of his best books after a not-so-interesting
    last book. This one had a richness of detail and plot that made it a really fun reading experience. All the typical Reacher attributes were present here. Very good characters, plot and action throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7