Customer Reviews for

Gone Tomorrow (Jack Reacher Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Lee Child does it again

Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. The...
Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. There are twists and turns and things that make you wonder. There is also a lot of action and unfortunately, graphic death. You would think that with each new Jack Reacher novel that Mr. Child would run out of ideas to excite the true fan, but not yet. I think Jack Reacher will be collecting social security before these stories run out. Great job, Lee Child.

posted by grumpydan on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just OK, definitely not his best.

I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed abo...
I've read and loved all of the Reacher novels. Any story about a big, tough but smart guy who likes to fight is a fun read. This story was just ok for me. Started off strong, really slow middle, and I really can't believe how he ended it. The focal point changed about 2/3 through the book and we got a whole new perspective, and NEVER got to see it resolved. Not sure if I'll read another Reacher novel, as this really reminded me of Nothing to Lose, with a really slow middle and a very sudden ending. It's like the story is still going 2 pages from the end and then it's just over all of a sudden. Very weird.

posted by MemphisBo on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lee Child does it again

    Lee Child does it again. Jack Reacher finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or is it the rights place at the right time. Either way, he is there to resolve what could a disastrous problem for a presidential wannabe. "Gone Tomorrow" does not disappoint. There are twists and turns and things that make you wonder. There is also a lot of action and unfortunately, graphic death. You would think that with each new Jack Reacher novel that Mr. Child would run out of ideas to excite the true fan, but not yet. I think Jack Reacher will be collecting social security before these stories run out. Great job, Lee Child.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of the series will believe GONE TOMORROW is one of the best entries

    On a nearly vacant Manhattan subway train, former MP Jack Reacher notices the female passenger acting odd. She shows all the nervous signs of a suicide bomber as proscribed by the Israeli military, an occupation by definition always means first timer. The Israreli list of signs contains eleven points in common between the genders; this woman has all of them as the local train heads from Bleeker St. with stops in between towards Grand Central. Absurd as he thinks it is, Reacher follows his gut and calmly confronts her. In her bag is not wires, but a gun she pulls out and points at him before turning it on herself blowing away her head.

    NYPD Detective Theresa Lee questions Reacher especially about the Israeli list that led to the "false positive" suicide. Detective Docherty offers a different scenario accusing Reacher of homicide, but the vet calls the cop dumb insisting they are stalling until the Feds arrive. When the FBI does they question Reacher before walking away. Leaving the precinct, he is accosted by four men wanting information and after that by the victim's brother, who insists his sister would not kill herself. Before long Jack finds himself pulled in two directions; one back to the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan and the other into the heart of the global war on terrorism; neither make sense, but Jack knows his mission is to kill the bad guys before they cause harm.

    The opening sequence as poorly described above is brilliant as Reacher is pulled into an international mess one step at a time. The story line gets even better as the tension mounts as Reacher finds himself caught in the middle. Fans of the series will believe GONE TOMORROW is one of the best entries (that says a lot with the consistency of this series) while newcomers could not ask for a better introduction to the world of the nomadic former MP.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Not much of a reader

    I am not a big reader so for me to like a book it has to grab me. This book did just that. Great story that will keep interested.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Great book

    This was a great read. I started reading on a Friday night and couldn't put the book down until I finished on Sunday night.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Jack Reacher is a larger than life individual and his adventures are frightening, but he is always up to the challenge.

    I was introduced to the character of Jack Reacher by a woman I met in a bookstore. I can't thank her enough. This character is the kind of man that you want on your side if you are in trouble. Love the character, love the books. Thanks Mr. Child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Another Great book by Lee Child

    I have read every one of the Jack Reacher series and they continue to be totally addicting. I can't wait for another one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Shardclan Map and rules

    Map: <p> 1. Rules and Map ((You are here)) 2. Main Camp 3. Bios (must post) 4. Warriors Den 5. Leaders Den 6. Tall Rock ((announcements here)) 7. Medicine Cat Den 89

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Easy to read.

    Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book in a great series.

    I am reading this series in numerical order. I am as you can see on number 13. I have not been disappointed in any of these stories. The action is good, the storyline flows well and you always have a little twist you didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Deimos

    If you got the answer to that riddle good job. Now, go back and figure out the other. Remembre, result three, result five, result two. Good luck. I know you can solve it. ~&Delta&epsilon&iota<_>m&theta<_>s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    As always REACHER kicks ass.

    The REACHER series are great reads... Check them out..
    You'll be hooked too, I guarantee it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    David

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    What's not to like. It's Lee Child's Jack Reacher.

    One month ago I stumbled across "A Wanted Man", #17 in the Reacher series. Up until then I had never heard of Lee Child or Jack Reacher. I have read all 17 since then and am waiting for the next one. I have't read 17 books in the past 17 years and now 17 in a month. I just can put him down. "Gone Tomorrow" will keep you guessing and hold your attention right up to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great book

    I have now read all of the Jack Reacher series and thoroughly enjoy them. There are a few things about the character that are annoying like how he doesn't ever wash clothes and has no luggage but maybe that is what makes the character. Exceptional book that I would recommend to everyone.

    If you have not read the Jack Reacher series I strongly recommend starting with the first one and going through in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Recommend.....again

    As usual....good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is not a fast-paced book. And it is not for the feint of stomach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    amazing, he did it again!

    I could barely put this book down, or sleep for that matter. Lee Child has given his readers yet another great read, an exciting New York thriller. I give it all five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Great Read

    One of the better Reacher novels, a page turner as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    I'm too young for heart medicine!

    Lee Child's 13th Jack Reacher Gone Tomorrow is a white-knuckler of a thriller full of action, suspense and nearly unbearable tension from page one. Once he diagnoses that a certain passenger on the New York subway has all the earmarks of a suicide bomber, his superior analytical skills kick into full effect. Jack is man of action and probably a bit too nosy. More nosy than the rest of us would be. But man, eventhough there's some implausibility in the little fat on the bones of a complex plot, this nomad of justice shows no fear taking on a group of terrorists and the various alphabet soup of domestic and international authorities indigenous to the U.S. like the FBI, Homeland Security, Department of Defense and the NYPD.
    This is a super intense thriller with plenty of villains or at least unexpected conflict per the above paragraph and strong graphic violence. There are twists and turns as Reacher's incessant meddling into this labyrinth leads to a heart-pounding showdown in let's just say rather confined spaces that brought to mind another pulse quickening thriller from a different medium by the name of Die Hard. I flipped pages so fast they should have cascaded to the floor like the bodies Reacher's Heckler & Koch MP5SD dropped, well, everywhere. There are a lot of literary and cinematic heroes people would choose to fight in the trenches with, but I'm sure like myself a great many of them would start with Mr. Jack Reacher. Bravo, bravo, bravo, Lee Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10