Customer Reviews for

Gone Too Far (Troubleshooters Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Love this Book!

    Finally Alyssa and Sam's book! Suzanne Brockmann has a way of making her characters come to life and she doesn't disappoint with Sam, who is one of the most realistic characters I've ever read about and my new favorite of all of her SEALS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    A wonderful story

    It seems like a lifetime ago that we met Sam and Alyssa. Through several books we watched their ups and downs. Now in Gone Too Far they get their story. Its is well worth the wait. Sam Starrett is on his way to see his soon to be ex-wife and young daughter. What he finds at her house is horrific. It sets off a chain of events that rocks Team 16. Alyssa Locke gets dragged back into Sam¿s world. She realizes that she is his only hope to clearing his name and finding his daughter. The resolution of Sam and Alyssa¿s story has everything you want in a book. I can¿t recommend it enough, hurry and get this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Brockmann is Back!!!

    I am not going to bore you with a synopsis of the book. Instead I am going to tell you why you have to own this title. I have been a Suz Brockmann fan from WAY back in the 'Loveswept' days and own almost everything ever published (darn Loveswept for making Ladies Man a subscriber exclusive). The last two books by Suz have been just sorta 'ok' and honestly, I was ready for her to make a change from the SEAL line, but this book has brought me back hoping for more stories from the guys of Team 16 and the 'new business' (you have to read the book to know what I am talking about). Typically Suz's full length novels are a little overcrowded with simultaneous story lines and frankly, the WWII stories had dragged most of the other books in this series down for me. But this novel has it all: a great Hero and Heroine, fast pacing, excellently interwoven sub-plots and a touching WWII story that fits nicely with the rest of the book. Now, I will say that if you are sensitive to cursing this might not be the book for you, because there is A LOT of cursing. You can't help but root for Sam and Alyssa and their journey is not an easy one. Mary Lou fans will be pleased as well. The story had me laughing and even crying a little. You won't be able to put it down and it is worth the hardcover rate. Don't pay attention to the Kirkus Review. Obviously they only skimmed the story because some of what they said is not close to the mark. I checked out their website and it seems sarcastic reviews are their stock and trade. Way to go, Suz! Please write faster!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    I can't tell you the number of times I've read this book! It con

    I can't tell you the number of times I've read this book! It continues to be one of my favorite Suzanne Brockmann books of all time and I really love all of her books. 
    She gets to to really care for these characters and they become like family. You want to know how they are doing and what's going on in their lives even after "their story " is finished.
    Sam & Alyssa continue to be one of my favorite couples and I really like how Alyssa got to see what a good man Sam is in this book and we get to see what a bad man he could have been. 
    Both characters have grown & changed over the course of this series and I was happy they finally got together in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    never disappointing

    A wonderful book filled with action and romance. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Sam and Alyssa are my favorite couple in this series hands down.

    Sam and Alyssa are my favorite couple in this series hands down. The fire and pull of their relationship has keep me going with each new story. IT has been one of my favorite parts in reading tis series Brockman includes the side stories of the other characters and I find that great. I hate reading series that introduce couple in one book and you never hear about them again, not so with Trouble shooters and finally we get the complete Sam and Alyssa story that yes I found a little anticlimactic but still a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    One Last Try

    The things I've done, I can't explain. <br> I know they hurt and caused you pain. <br> I can't say I didn't know what I was doing. <br> I don't know what I was thinking, or what I was proving. <br> We had a special love, but I threw it away. <br> I regret what I've done every second of the day. <br> If I could change the past, believe me, I would. <br> I would take away the pain, if only I could. <br> So now all I can ask for is one last try <br> To love you until the day I die. <br> <br> ~TFG~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended. Very entertaining

    This was a fast read and very entertaining. You have to love Sam! Good book to read at the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love the whole series, I went from one to the next to the next non stop and loved each one more than the one before. Great characters and stories throughout the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "At Last! Sam and Alyssa's Book"

    I completely agree with Linda Howard's review: "At last! Sam and Alyssa's book!..." I've been intrigued about this couple from the first book in the series (Unsung Hero) and I've been anxious for their "happy ending", as Alyssa put it in Out of Control.

    If you've read the previous books in the series, you know that Sam and Alyssa have had a hate/love relationship; topped off with twists and heartache. I didn't think I could love a fictional set of characters anymore than I did, and then I read this book. I want Sam Starret and I want to be Alyssa Locke.

    I can't say a bad thing about this story line. Brockmann gave me exactly what I wanted with this couple. I'm glad she took the circuitous route because we got to know them so well.

    Of course Brockmann doesn't focus on one couple for an entire book, so we also get a better look at Mary Lou and Ibraham's (sp?) story, as well as Max and Gina's story. (I have a strong feeling that Max and Gina are going to be the new Sam and Alyssa.)

    I hope you read the previous books in this series. The book can stand by itself but it's such a good, tied-into-each-other-series that I feel like you'd be missing nuances without the background. I recommend this book and all of the books in the series!

    ** P.S. This is the first book in the series without a WWII storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    My favorite. Finally some tension is relieved between Sam and Alyssa. One of my favorite characters by the way. Great story, the twist and turns were so creative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Sam & Alyssa

    Finally Sam and Alyssa get there story, and its a good one. Very action packed and thrilling. If you have not followed the series I suggest you go back to where Sam and Alyssa first started in "The unsung hero". This was such a good story. I think you will all enjoy it as much as I did! Happy reading.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Hot!

    Suzanne Brockmann is my favorite author! I have read all her books there is not one I have not enjoyed. I have to say Allysa and Sam are one of my favorite couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Murderous Intent

    Suspense and trouble to the highest degree!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Waiting...

    I am late to the Troubleshooters series and came in half way through it. Of course Sam and Alyssa caught my eye immediatly. I looked everywhere for this book and with every bookstore i went to, my anticipation doubled. When i finally got the book, i was satisfied and yet not. The book is good. The plot is good everythign is fine BUT with how much effort Suzanne put into bringing these charectors together in previous books, she dissapointed with the climax. i was expecting..i dont know, a more explaosive coming together and yes, the side stories did take away from the main idea BUT the book was excellent and if you are able to keep track of the charectors and side stories, its a really good book. I deinfilty recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    The best!

    I loved this book! It's better to read this author's books in order otherwise, the build up of the characters through the different books is lost. Yes, there were a lot of subplots, but, once again, the author was building characters for future books. No one can beat Suzanne Brockmann when it comes to writing books featuring Navy Seals. She's the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    I couldn't wait to get started with Sam and Alyssa!

    I found this book to be one of her many great reads. Mrs. Brockmann did an excellent job with this book as well as her other nine books. I found that I was up until 2-4 in the morning reading Mrs. Brockmann's books, and still had to get up for work at 6 am. I have two more left in the series and I am very sadden that it is almost over--but this was the main one that I look forward to reading the most. Oh and I found out that if you read them in the order they were written in they all came together in some-way-shape- or-form! As far as the many plots or subplots goes, I had no problem keeping up with them because I read the other six or seven books before this one so it was very easy to keep up with the plots. So as an avid reader I had no problem getting through this book just as I did the others...Keep up the good work Mrs. Brockmann and I look forward to more of your work...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    My least favorite of SEAL team 16

    I was disappointed with this book. I think there were way too many subplots and her other books have carried on their own but this one had way too many carry-over plots. I don't think the Sam and Alyssa romance was one I even care about anymore. Although I liked them individually I wanted to say 'enough already' about their relationship. I think more appropriate title would have been ' Runaways' as everyone was runing from something in this book:Mary Lou, Sam, Max. I agree that the Max and Gina plot was much more enjoyable than the Sam and Alyssa and MaryLou plots. I read some of Ms. Brockman's books out of order and went back and read them all even though I knew from some books how they would turn out. They are still very worth reading and enjoyable. I usually am not distracted by all the subplots and they all tie together but this book definately has been my least favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Disappointing

    This book had too many side plots, drawing away from each other. None of the stories got the attention they deserved, especially Sam and Alyssa. There was just too much going on at once for me to connect with the characters. A particularly meaningful moment would start to take place, and then suddenly the scene would change to two completely different people. This made the characters hard to know and connect with. I also found it difficult to believe that Sam was worrying about sex with Alyssa when his daughter is missing and possibly dead. The relationship with Max and gina doesn't seem to fit in with the main storyline, not that you could really tell there was one, and drew away from it. The only part I liked was the flashbacks of Sam's childhood. That provided a little more background into his character. Other than that, the storyline was weak as with the character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Gone Too Far (Troubleshooters Series #6)

    This was my second book by Ms. Brockmann and I didn't find it great. I thought it was drawn out at times, especially the cell phone conversations with Sam and Alyssa. I also found the constant fighting/bickering between them boring at times too. I totally enjoyed Max and Gina's storyline better. But as I have said in my other reviews, I don't particular like that Ms. Brockmann has other storylines going because I think it takes away from the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6