Customer Reviews for

Gone With the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    Frankly My Dear I Dont Give A ***

    This book is a real page turner. I read it b/c of the book the Outsiders. This book is historic, romantic, comedic, and tragic. It gives you an understanding of what went on in the south b/f and after the civil war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Timeless Classic

    'Gone with the Wind' is a wonderful tale of Scarlett O'Hara's struggles during the Civil War. I highly reccommend it, because I believe it is a realistic glimpse of that time period. Scarlett and Rhett will forever beloved characters, preserved in the pages of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    The Best Book ever Read

    Gone with the wind is a funny,heartfelt,loving inspirational book I've ever read. It has a state of history,romance and a thirst for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    amazing book

    I read this book last year for a book report and I loved it. I loved it so much I read it in just a week and a half, reading whenever I had the chance. Don't be scared away by the length of this book, it goes by very quickly and I ended up wishing there was more when I reached the end. This is definitely one of my favorite books and I wish Margaret Mitchell had written more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Too long, lacking action, waste of time!

    I'm reading all of the 5-star reviews posted and I just had to be the first to rate this literature below 3-stars. Perhaps I have a different perspective as I am younger than most of you, but I have to say this was not a fun book at all.We had to read this book for Pre-AP language arts class. I can confidentely say that no one in our class liked it. Although the description was great and the story was realistic, the overall book was not good in my opinion. First of all, the 959 pages was too much. There was plenty of words that could've been taken out of the book while still making it enjoyable, perhaps even better for the reader. The actual events in the book were somewhat intriguing, but then again there was chapters and chapters of material, not neccessary, between them. For the month it took me to read this book, it was a true waste of time. I read through 250 pages, hoping it would get better, but after that I lost hope and read it just because I had to for school. For anyone looking for a book to read for PLEASURE, I would highly reccomend *NOT* to choose this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    LOOONG

    Okay, so this is a book that shows history...but it shows it through a woman's eyes that has nothing but disregard for everyone around her. I hated Scarlet and I felt that she was so self centered that I wanted to shake her...then I realized it's a story! It did show me a lot about what the southerners went through and what the consequences were. As a Northener I had no idea of what they went through. They don't teach that here. I would never have read this book on my own if it wasn't on my book club list. But I wouldn't recommend it either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    'Gone With' This Book

    Gone With the Wind follows the life of Scarlett O¿Hara from her youth into adulthood during the tumultuous years of the Civil War. With a little for everyone to learn from, she starts off as a stubborn, spoiled southern debutante, and by the end of the novel she is changed, not only from a girl to a woman, but also to a strong, driven individual. In the middle of the book she decides for herself that she will never go hungry, and this promise she lives by the rest of her life, giving the reader hope themselves. The book pulls you in very quickly, because you become so invested in the character of Scarlett it¿s almost as if you are part of her story yourself. The trials and tribulations in which Scarlett faces, she faces gallantly, and she never takes time to wallow in her own misery. Although she gains determined and stubborn tendencies in place of her earlier girlish and silly ones, inside she remains the same foolish girl. Not until the end of the novel does she learn her most important lesson, a lesson everyone can learn by, that even with hard work you can¿t get everything you want. Although the novel seems like a strictly feminine read, inside there is a little something for everyone. Often the first few pages of the chapter begin with an update of the Confederate troops, giving those who are interested in history a perspective in which to view the surrounding storyline. Also, everyone can learn important lessons from reading this book. Quickly you realize how foolish Scarlett acts at the beginning for worrying so much about her appearance and reputation when brave men are dying in battle, and this helps to remind the reader that there larger things happening in the world beyond their own selfish lives. There are surprises behind every corner in this book, and continually characters begin to surprise you. One key theme in this novel is war, and throughout the novel we view important events in history starting with the Civil War and traveling through reconstruction. Southerners at the outbreak of Civil War show great emotional support for the Confederate troops, or what they refer to as ¿the cause¿. When someone speaks badly of these beloved troops it is scandalous. Rhett Butler, already the black sheep of his family, states his doubts about the Confederates, thus creating public scandal. One of the many twists and turns the book possess is when the shy, bookish Ashley Wilkes fighting in combat for ¿the cause¿ has similar thoughts to Rhetts about the state of the army. Whenever you think the book is slowing down, something surprising happens that changes your prior perspective of what you were reaing. Having attempted to read this book cover to cover twice before, now finally completed it I feel satisfied. Gone With the Wind, I learned quickly, was not a book I could just race through as I usually do. I found that all 833 pages of it need to be read carefully and appreciatively. Having dedicated much time to the reading of this classic novel, I feel that that time was rewarding and well worth the effort. I recommend this book to anyone with a little spare time on their hands and a love of classic literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    'I'll think of it all tomorrow, at Tara..' Scarlett O'hara

    I cannot describe the utter joy,desperation and inner struggles that went on within' myself while i was reading this book. At first i picked it up as sort of a joke because i hate books that are supposed to be 'classic' which i feel will never appeal to me. But this book brought to light so many feelings in me that it was scary. When i did finish it, i felt so empty yet so full of life at the same time. It's like i just couldn't believe the impact that it had on me. I cried myself to sleep really feeling as if though it was me that had lost my loved one's , i felt as if i had a piece of Scarlett O'Hara within' me. And i'm a 19 yr old dominican female, far from the breeding that Scarlett had, but eventhough i felt as if it was me that went through all the hardships and the joys of her life. I recommend this book to all people of all ages and creeds. I will never in my life forget this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    gone with the wind...the best story for all times

    It was a great book that transports you to that infamous time in American History. It is not only a novel of romance,but its most outstanding trait is its perfect depiction and portrayal of the strengths and flaws of the human character and the harsh realities of the world we live in. It is a great classic because it is not historical alone but universal truths for all times. I recommend this book because I can assure you it is worth your while. When you finish reading it, you'll be surprised that you want to ask for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Terrific

    This is a fantastic book that covers the making of the 1939 classic film "Gone With the Wind". It covers the film from pre-production, through production, post-production all the way to its premiere. It talks about how the book came about, the casting process for the film and why the book and film are so popular to this day and important to America's heritage. There are numerous production stills as well as photographs of its stars: Vivien Leigh, Clark Gable, Olivia de Havilland and Leslie Howard, plus pictures of the movie posters and photos of its premiere. This is a fantastic book that will be a nice addition to any library, especially those that are big GWTW fans! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Gone With The Wind and Scarlett

    I loved both these books if u have not read them you dont know what you are missing these books are my favorates they really touched me!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    Gone with the Wind: The History

    If you love Gone with the Wind, read this book. I recieved it for Christmas one year, and with the movie, it puts a whole new light on the things that go on and around a set of the movie. It tells you to look for thing that you might see in the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    Book and Movie History...

    This is a great book! My dad gave it to me and I read through the book in one sitting. I learned things about the author, actors, and movie that I never knew. This book has great pictures! It is filled with pictures from behind the scenes and pictures from the movie. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Gone with the Wind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    gone with the wind....the making of history

    gone with the wind is THE best book i have ever read in my life! i advise EVERYONE out there that hasn't read it already...to....GET WITH THE PROGRAM! it's out there! and it's GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2