Customer Reviews for

Gone, but Not Forgotten

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Gone but Not Forgotten

    The book I read was Gone But Not Forgotten by Phillip Margolin. The setting of this book is not all that important because it is in two different towns, Hunter's Point and Portland. If this story had a different setting it would need to have mountains and a deserted farm house, where the women were kept. It is not immpossible for a different setting, it might just take a while to find another place like the ones in the story. The major conflict in this story is between a serial killer named Martin Darius, and the governmment. In Hunter's Point, Martin would kidnap women, with no trace of srtuggle , but he left behind a black rose pinning down a card that says 'Gone but not forgotten'. He kept the women at a farmhouse and would use them for his own sick and twisted pleasure, trading them like dogs. When the women were found, Martin recieved a pardon and got away. Nine years later, in Portland, the same kidnappings began to happen, but Martin claims he is innocent. The story was written in third-person. It tells you what everyone is feeling and thinking. In one chapter, the author will stay on one main character, like Betsy Tannenbaum. Then in the next chapter, it will discribe in detail how Martin Darius is feeling or what he is thinking. If this story was told by one of the characters, he/she would miss out on an important action that took place while they were somewhere else. The narrator might not be that reliable, because he would lead you on about the killer being a certain character and then surprisingly it is someone else. The writer used a lot of flashbacks in this story. The book opens up in Portland, but in the next chapter, they go back nine years into Hunter's Point. After a few chapters there, the story went back to Portland, back to Hunter's Point, and then back to Portland to finish off the story. In this story, there are a lot of scenes that have blood and guts, like in the middle of the story a missing girl was planted in Henry Water's basement. When they found her, her insides were pulled out and she was lying in a pool of her own blood. Her body was totally mutalated. The writer also liked to build up suspense and have a lot of sad and disgusting scenes. He wrote it topically because whenever he is on a certain topic, he will give us a flashback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book I have ever read. I came upon this book approximately 9 years ago and I'm still talking about it. I recommend it to anyone and everyone, especially those who love a good thriller like myself. I usually don't like to read a book more than once, but this one I can read over and over again. It will keep you on your toes, flipping pages and lacking sleep. You just can't wait to see what happens next. Margolin is my ultimate favorite author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    I will never forget !!!!!!

    I read this book about eight years ago and forgot the title. I thought it was something to do with rose killers but to my dismay i was wrong. I finally found it and want to tell you this book is really intense. it took me 12 hours straight to read this book top find out what was going on and wished it kept on going. I would recommend this book to any whodunnit freaks out there. this book will remain 1 of my favorites forever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    !!!!!INTENSE!!!!!

    I was in a slump when I picked up this book shortly after it's initial paperback release and what a VERY pleasant surprise! I can list on one hand how many books I have ever read which made me feel compelled to finish as soon as I possibly could...and 'Gone, But Not Forgotten' is one of them. I am always incredibly facinated with authors who can juggle several (engrossing) plot lines at once and then seamlessly tie them together by the ending, and I have GOT to hand it to Mr. Margolin, this book does it as good as any I have ever read. As a native Oregonian, I also found the use of one of my all-time favorite cities as a backdrop an added bonus. What can I say without spoiling the plot? The bad guy did some REALLLLLY bad stuff several years ago, and due to some ingenious plotting, wasn't convicted of any of it...jump ahead a few years to Portland, Oregon where the SAME crimes begin again, and since the police had never revealed the details to the crimes originally committed, NOBODY could have done them but our bad guy...or maybe not...? How this story unfolds and especially the ending is absolutely amazing! I would also recommend 'After Dark' and 'The Last Innocent Man' as his 2nd & 3rd runner-up best books, but after that, I haven't enjoyed his other books nearly as much...(I haven't read 'Wild Justice' YET) but as far as a whodunnit with style with a bad guy every bit as evil as Hannibal the Cannibal, but more intense, this story takes the cake. 'Gone, But Not Forgotten' has GOT to be one of my ALL-TIME favorite books, and if you even remotely enjoy murder/mystery/thrillers, this one just might become one of your favorites as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    A very good book!

    A very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Excellent read

    kept me in suspense. fast moving. will look forward to another book from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book!!

    I love thrillers & this is one of the best thrillers I have ever read! In fact, I have reread it several times which is something I rarely do with a book. I have given away copies of this book to get my friends to read this awesome book. I have read all of Margolin's books & he never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgetable

    This book keep me on the edge and was very fast pace and so unforgetable, it is one I can re read! Excellent plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    great thrill ride

    This is one of the best books i have ever read!I have given away several copies of this book. & my friends are then hooked on Margolin. This book is a keeper & a must for anyone who loves suspense books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Gone, but Not Forgotten

    This is the only book that I have ever read that was so so intense my nervous were so on edge, I still feel so intense about this book. This is the very BEST EVER !!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    Gone, but Not Forgotten

    I am almost done this book, I am so intense right now , I 've never read a book this intense before!!!!!! I'll come back and right more after I'm done this book. My nerves are so intense right now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    AWESOME!

    What a great book! One of the best books that I have read since 'Kiss the Girls' by James Patterson. A must buy book. I am glad I did. A great book! Can't say enough. Keeps you guessing until the end. WOW!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    Simply a Great Book

    I'd never even heard of Margolin before someone gave me this book. It turned out to be one of the best detective novels I've ever read. Absolutely no slow spots in this one although some places are difficult to read due to the content. All of Margolins books are good, but this one is easily his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1