BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gone for Soldiers: A Novel of the Mexican War

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Excellant reading

    Since the Mexican War happened so close to the War Between The States, not as much has been written about that war. This is a typical Jeff Shaara book that tells the story through the mouths of those who were there. I learned a lot that had been unknown to me previously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    A must for history buffs

    As usual I was not disappointed with Jeff Shaara; his look at all these people in their earlier years before the Civil War is enlightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent story of a little known war.

    This is another one of the excellent Shaara historical novels. While the Mexican War is not one of the biggest or longest wars in our history, The author does a very good job of chronicling the Mexican War through the major soldiers involved. I only began reading historical novels in the last 2 years and the Shaara's have to rank up there with the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Jeff Shaara took you into the heart of the battles. He made you

    Jeff Shaara took you into the heart of the battles. He made you feel what the characters were feeling, and made you see what the soldiers saw around them. It shows you that battles aren't all about the victories, it's also about your friends and comrades that have risked and sacrificed their lives. At some points in the book, I was actually getting nervous about what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Shaara does it again!

    This is the 5th book by Mr. Shaara that I've read recently and he continues to amaze me how interesting he makes the events and characters come to life. I didn't know much about the Mexican-American War before this book and didn't realize how important the outcome was to our history. Also you see how future Civil War leaders began their military careers working together not knowing years later many of them would face each other on the battlefield. A really great read with plenty of action and a great insight into Robert E Lee as a young officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    A Must for Fans of Shaara's Civil War Series!

    Jeff Shaara has done all who have loved the Civil War series he and his father gave us a great service with "Gone for Soldiers". Not only does this book offer us the same almost-personal view of the Mexican War, it introduces the people who played such an enormous role in the later Civil War. All of these books have given me a much better sense of history than even more detailed military history books have given, and I find I'm now able to read those other more scholarly works with more enjoyment, having finally grasped the context and the sweep of events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Great book!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 13, 2010

    A Lesser Known War

    I knew nothing about the Mexican War when I picked this book up and I must say, in usual Shaara fashion, he drew me in. Read how legends of the Civil War like Robert E. Lee, James Longstreet, Ulysses S. Grant, and Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson became battle-tested soldiers. The Americans, under the leadership of one of its greatest generals, Winfield Scott, outmaneuvered the Mexicans. I was also interested to learn of the political dabbling and intrigue that plagued the army to some degree. The men in Washington dabbling in things they don't know enough about and causing problems. The political aspect is something I've noticed in all of Shaara's books. The myth that those things only developed later in American society and politics is torn down...this has always been a problem from our fight for independenced to the present day. Shaara does an excellent job of bringing that aspect of the story to light without overdoing it and losing the book's focus. Another splendid book by Shaara. If you know nothing of this war and have little interest, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised if you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    GREAT BOOK

    Did I like this book? I thought it was a pretty good book. And since I'm saying it was pretty good most people would probably think it's great because I REALLY don't like to read AT ALL! I liked it because it was very interesting and informative. We learn about the Mexican-American war in school but it was mostly about the battle of Santa Anna, so most people don't usually learn about the other historic battles that happened in the Mexican-American War. Things that stood out were that the book was mostly about only two characters Robert E. Lee and Winfield Scott, but sadly some other major military leaders were almost totally ignored in this book. Such as General Zachary Taylor, Ulysses S. Grant, James Longstreet, and Stonewall Jackson. But at the same time it did give good looks at some battles that I never heard of. So that mostly makes up for it I feel. I would recommend this book, I thought it was a book that was very easy to be able to "connect" with be able to stay focused on reading I actually read a lot more than usually would because I really liked what was happening and wanted to know what happened next. Would I recommend it to a high school student? It really depends on the student, if they aren't committed to reading it then probably not because it does take a while to read it is a long book. If they are a student who wants to learn about the Mexican-American war that wasn't explained in detail in your book, then yes it has some very good information. I feel that I know a lot more about the war now. In the school text books the Mexican-American war is based almost totally about the Alamo, I knew very little about the battle of Vera Cruz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    Jeff has done it again. He has brought history alive in a way that is very readable for everyone. Can't wait for his next book to be released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    WOW

    wow.. amazing i never thought that a book could put you in the position of a soldier, this is a must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    GREAT!!!!!

    Loved this book, once I opened it, I couldn't set it down till I reached the very last page, read it at least twice over. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    READ THIS NOVEL....6 STARS

    I knew nothing about the Mexican-American war before I read this....and I mean nothing. This book is unlike many other history books, because it puts you in the minds of the people fighting, and not just giving you a bunch of facts. I would suggest reading Jeff and Michael Shaara's Civil War Trilogy after you read this because it flows right into the next book which is God's and General's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Gone for Soldiers

    this is one of jeff shaaras greater novels and i am very pleased that i was able to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    War with Mexico comes to life

    'Gone for Soldiers' is easily the finest offering yet by Mr. Shaara. He takes an often overlooked subject and thoroughly brings it to action-packed life. I'd highly recommend this volume to any fan of 19th century history, particularily those interested in the American Civil War and its cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    Awesome

    Thia book is one of the best I've ever read. It shows Lee in a completly new light. In this book he is younger and still learning about the army. It is easier for the to relate to him when he is messing up and falling down hills. I've read Killer Angels and this is an amazing way for the young Shaara to follow in his father's footsteps. It's fun to see what the great Generals were like when they were still learning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2