Customer Reviews for

Gone with the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 1356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Greatest book ever written!!!!!!

I am only 12 years old and i read gone with the wind when i was 11 and i absolutely fell in love with the book.The movie is also one of my favorites i truly recommend this book for everybody at any age!!! :)

posted by prettydiva2198 on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

GREAT HISTORICAL VIEW OF THE CIVIL WAR FROM THE PERSPECTIVE OF THE SOUTH.

Good historical novel. Learned some things. Started to drag a bit at the end, but am so glad I read it.

posted by hikerman on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greatest book ever written!!!!!!

    I am only 12 years old and i read gone with the wind when i was 11 and i absolutely fell in love with the book.The movie is also one of my favorites i truly recommend this book for everybody at any age!!!
    :)

    53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    My Favorite Book

    Gone With the Wind is a novel that takes place in the antebellum South. Scarlett O'Hara, a stubborn, strong-willed, lively young girl, is the main character. The beginning of the novel starts with her ordinary life: attending barbeques, flirting with her beaus, and worrying about what to wear. As the novel goes on, however, many trials, ultimately brought on by the war, turn Scarlett's world upside down, and all that she knows and takes for granted, disappears. These trials include escaping Atlanta when the Yankees come, remarrying twice, dealing with the death of her mother, and returning home to find that everything has changed. However, even though these would be a reason for anyone to stop living, the trials actually bring out how strong Scarlett really is, even though for the first 15-16 years of her life, she was pampered and lived in luxury. Through all of this, Scarlett believes she loves Ashley Wilkes, a boy from her childhood, brought up to be the epitome of 'good breeding'. She also has to deal with Melanie Wilkes, Ashley's wife, because in her despair, Scarlett rashly agreed to marry Melanie's brother, Charles. Most of Scarlett's main decisions are influenced by her infatuation with Ashley and her belief that they are supposed to be together. However, Scarlett's third husband, Rhett Butler, is the one she actually loves, although she doesn't know it. Rhett is the opposite of a gentleman in the eyes of the old-tradition Southerners, but his personality matches Scarlett. Both came from good families, but Rhett was disowned from his, and Scarlett goes against many of the lessons and etiquette she was taught. Underneath all the training, however, Scarlett is just as rebellious as Rhett and, she lets go of all her proper teachings to stay alive and support her family and relatives. She ends up not caring what others think, and holds onto the mantra of "I'll think of it tomorrow". Through her trials, she unwittingly comes to love and respect Melanie, even though she thinks she hates her for marrying Ashley. However, Melanie is the only woman in her life who actually really loved her. Also, Melanie is the one who makes Scarlett realize how much Rhett loves her, even though he never lets her know it. Because of this, Scarlett rushes back to Rhett, only to find that he "doesn't give a damn" anymore, but Scarlett's strong personality keeps her from breaking, and the novels ends with her words, "tomorrow is another day."

    49 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    A true southern classic

    Great story. A classic whether in book form or film. But how B&N can sleep at night charging so much for these classics is beyond me. People! Use your common sense! Save your money, go to the library! Or a used book store. B&N get real...make the classics or books that have been out for 10 years or more affordable to everyone that has purchased your nook. Encourage reading great books, it will be good for your business.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Forget Team Edward, I'm Team Rhett!

    I first read this book when I was 13 and it instantly become my favorite! I'm 17 now and I've read it so many times since then. The sequels by other authors ("Rhett Butler's People" and "Scarlet") are good, but Margaret Mitchel's original story is definitely one of the best books ever written! The characters are believable, the plot is interesting, and it is historically accurate. Gone with the Wind is a much better love story than Twilight can ever be!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm in love with Rhett Butler

    I just finished rereading Gone with the Wind and can I just say that I love Rhett? My Dad always called me Scarlett, a comparison that I often found unattractive, but now that I am older I think I understand. Scarlett is the one who kept her family together, she worked hard to save Tara - she sacrificed everything including her own happiness. Sometimes she was selfish and heartless but in the end, she always did what she believed was right.
    It's hard to imagine being so caught up in the idea of one man (Ashley) that Scarlett couldn't see what a good thing she had going with Rhett. The give and take between the characters of Rhett and Scarlett is electric. The reader knows that they are perfect for one another, and you keep hoping throughout the story that they will finally find a way to communicate their feelings to one another and get it right.
    Of course this wonderful love story is set against the backdrop of the Civil War where so much is changing, not only internally for the characters, but externally too.
    Scarlett's love for Ashley is like life in the South; quiet and austere on the surface but not built to last. Her relationship with Rhett is fiery, passionate and certainly never dull. Will Scarlett finally find the happiness that she is looking for?
    At the end of the book you know deep down that Rhett still loves Scarlett, that he will always love Scarlett. I guess he just couldn't handle the pain of thinking she didn't love him anymore. Do you think that in any potential relationship that there is always a "deal breaker"? That one thing that makes you walk away when you would rather not? I always wondered what happened after that. Knowing Scarlett, I am sure that she got her man in the end, at least I hope so. This book is simply - a MUST read.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Not what you think it is, but better!

    i cannot read boring literature, be it textbooks or tolkien (forgive me, i don't mean to offend anyone), if the language is too frumpy or too descriptive or without wit, then it is not for me... i was not sure how i'd feel about this because it was written so long ago, but i can honestly say i will probably read it many times in my life!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Don't Judge a Book by It's Movie!

    This is a book which has been greatly ruined for the current generation by the movie. Don't get me wrong, the movie is absolutely a classic and a great film in it's own right. However the FCC in that era caused a great deal of the richness to be removed from the characters as they appear in the novel and because of it's age there are a lot of young women who would never touch the book. This is a must, must, must read for anyone who enjoys period stories, epics, love, intrigue and a good heroine. Scarlet is a vibrant character who is much deeper than her jealous, preening, prattling on screen counterpart. She faces the gruesomely harsh realities of the Civil War in her backyard with more grit and ferocity than the men of the story offering an inspirational role model for women of all ages. The world around her and the supporting characters are as rich and beautiful as Scarlet, this is definitely one to add to a permanent collection!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Awesome classic

    This is a very detailed historical book. Scarlett and Rhett are facinating characters.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic Novel That Will Take Your Heart

    Gone With the Wind is one of the best books about the Civil War or the mid 1800's. Margaret Mitchell does not fail to tell a story about an era she grew up hearing about while capturing you into an epic novel and placing you into the scenes throughout the book and making you feel as if you were there while chaos occurs in almost every family in the South. Unlike most stories where the protagonist is flawless in both character and profile, you can hear and feel everything that is wrong with Scarlett O-Hara in both her actions and her thoughts while loving her all the same with her boldness and her determination to make things go back to the old ways. Though things might get rough in the story, Scarlett faces the challenges with her head held high and goes on to fix her problems (or at least tries to) without a complaint. The characters in Gone With the Wind are believable, with each one having an own personality and thought process, and it makes the plot thicker and more grabbing than it would be otherwise. I recommend anyone who willing to try to read this epic story about love, strength, determination, and loss.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Lauren +clarinet=awesomeness

    Gone with the Wind is a beautiful book and movie, please have some respect for Margret Mitchell and her work and write your stupid stuff elsewhere.
    Please. Sorry if I come off as rude but that stuff bothers me.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    life changing

    at the end of this story i was met with such sadness that i could not go on learning through the trials of these characters. By far the greatest story i have ever read and i realize also how deeply lacking my understanding of such an incredible part of American history is... partly due to the fact that i learned it in the North and got a very biased account

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    "Few more days to tote the weary load"

    This amazing saga of love and hardships felt by a young Georgian girl is possibly one of the best books I've ever read. There is so much double meaning and words to be comprehended. You are constantly thinking deeply about Scarlett and all of her morals and the question, "What would I do in her place?" Scarlett's Irish origins show in her strength and determination to "tote the weary load."
    When Scarlett's world collapses around her, she won't be another of the many Southerners who merely loses hope and dies out. She is determined to gain back all that the Yankees took from her. She will use everything in her arsenal to be able to laugh at those who doubted her and win the affections of anyone with enough money.As Scarlett toys with love, her life unravels and she finds her long awaited comfort in the places least expected.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Tomorrow is another day

    Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American civil war, Maragaret Mitchell's magnificent tale of love and loss. Above all, it is the story of the beautiful,ruthless Scarlett O'Hara and the dashing soldier of fortune, Rhett Butler. On the whole it is an enticing tale woven by the redoubtable genius of Margaret Mitchell. It's mesmerizing language make it extremely succulent and a pleasure to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Review

    I am only eleven years old and i am currently reading gone with the wind and i appsolutely love it! Its a timeless classic that will never be forgotten! If u love this book another book u will luv is to kill a mocking bird! Look it up

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    Three words...BEST BOOK EVER!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Excellent

    A true classic.

    The book left me to wonder about how the slaves felt about the Civil War and about the origins of the KKK. I never thought about how a black slave might have considered himself or herself better than "white trash" or how field slaves had less status than house slaves.

    I didn't remember from my reading of this historical novel in earlier years what a selfish and deplorable being Scarlette was. Nor did I recall what a tortured creature Rhett was.

    Most notable was Scarlette's ability to push away unpleasant thoughts and upsetting situations from her brain. Tomorrow never comes. Those experiences which we refuse to deal with today become true heavy-hitters later on in our lives.

    I liked the ending. I am not sure of the suitability of this book for pre-teen readers. I suspect those in high school will miss many of the subtle nuances in this book unless there is the careful guidance of a teacher or other adults. There are some adult issues presented-- abortions and miscarriages, both mental and physical adultery, the politics of slavery and Reconstruction.

    To black readers (and others) who find the use of certain words and the existence of certain sympathies in the book, I can only understand bits of it. But I am sorry for those things on your behalf nonetheless.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Five stars is not enough. This is the greatest book ever written

    Five stars is not enough. This is the greatest book ever written and I have read a lot of books. I have the paperback, the hard cover (with broken back from repeated reading, and I am thinking the nook book is in the future. Scarlett and Rhett are the perfect match, while Melanie is the unsung hero in the book. What a great imagination Margaret had and true insight into the world around her during the most awful of times in the South. Read it and read it again you won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Great book.

    I have to say the book like the movie is arguably the greastest ever written or filmed. Without a doubt, however, it is THE greatest soap opera ever written or produced. The movie holds attention for 4 hours while the book sustains interest for well over a1000 pages and still leaves you longing for even more. One of the all time great American novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    I absolutely love this book this book is definately a classic and one of my favorites. Once you start reading you cant stop. You just fall in love with Rett and Scarlet. Now i would of love for it to end a little different but oh well. I would love to read more books like it so feel free to recomend me something like this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing American classic

    Better than the movie, Gone With the Wind gives you so much more insight into Mitchell's deep rich characters. This is a true American classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69