Customer Reviews for

Gone with the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 1358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1142)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Greatest book ever written!!!!!!

I am only 12 years old and i read gone with the wind when i was 11 and i absolutely fell in love with the book.The movie is also one of my favorites i truly recommend this book for everybody at any age!!! :)

posted by prettydiva2198 on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

GREAT HISTORICAL VIEW OF THE CIVIL WAR FROM THE PERSPECTIVE OF THE SOUTH.

Good historical novel. Learned some things. Started to drag a bit at the end, but am so glad I read it.

posted by hikerman on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    "Few more days to tote the weary load"

    This amazing saga of love and hardships felt by a young Georgian girl is possibly one of the best books I've ever read. There is so much double meaning and words to be comprehended. You are constantly thinking deeply about Scarlett and all of her morals and the question, "What would I do in her place?" Scarlett's Irish origins show in her strength and determination to "tote the weary load."
    When Scarlett's world collapses around her, she won't be another of the many Southerners who merely loses hope and dies out. She is determined to gain back all that the Yankees took from her. She will use everything in her arsenal to be able to laugh at those who doubted her and win the affections of anyone with enough money.As Scarlett toys with love, her life unravels and she finds her long awaited comfort in the places least expected.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A Haunting Classic

    Love. It. You instantly will be drawn to the detestable Miss Scarlett. When asked to summarize the book, not much can be said to captivate a potential reader. The story line, on the surface, serms shallow. But alas, this is much more than a love story. Hey, it's a classic for a reason

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great classic

    Sometimes you want to smack some sense into Scarlett's pretty little head, but it's truly a tale of a will of steel and driving ambition of a truly spoiled, selfish brat! For all of that, it's still entertaining, if nothing else but a picture of what to avoid in your own life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    READ

    What happens in the end?????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have read this but I didn't finish the book. I had too much going in that I forget about the book. So someone tell me what happens please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Dfdfet

    Vt v, v,cnetfhry

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great book

    I really like this book. I always want to punch scarlett for her self-centeredness(is that a word? It should be a word). I really like ren(that's his name right? I read it 3 yrs ago- 5th grade), though I feel bad for him. I'd say unrequited love, but it's more like un realized.
    This book really draws you in, and makes you think. To all of you avid readers out there, this is a book you wont forget-but I cant promise you'll love it.
    LAUGH ON!!!!
    LIVE ON!!!!!
    and most importantly...
    READ ON!!!!!
    Wow. I am really, really wiered. Oh well. We all knew that allready.
    Ok.shutting up now.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Gone with the wind not what i expect not really an ending

    Gone with the wind is a bout a gril in years of the civil war the gril in love her neighbers name the ashly scrlit tell ashly she in love him he fladed by he tell her he to be married another the girl as well scarltte marred some time he die and she marry yet again they defores and she meet rhitt they marred they have a baby the grow to five old girl and she die and they drivted a part and end the verase i think about tomorrow i was disaponited in this book

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    a classic

    great to have a classic on the nook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Help

    Is this the orignal version or a spin off

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    GREAT READ

    I love to read novels that become movies. It was well written and long. The only reason i dont give it 5* is because i really began to hate scarlett and its hard to read a book when you wanna slap the main character. Even with that i could not put the book down and finished it in a couple if days. You will enjoy every part. Dont forget to watch the movie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I don't give a damn!

    I finally read it and will now watch the movie? Am I truly a Rhett or an Ashley? Who are you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    The Epic Classic

    I am a HUGE Gone With The Wind fan. This has been my favorite book since I was 7 years old. I was so excited to buy this as my first nookbook for my new toy. The overall quality was fair, there were a few miscopies that didn't hurt the storyline (although I found them frustrating) even though they might have thrown a first time reader for a curve. Now if they would just make a nook for Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Awesome..........

    I read this book last year in 7th grade.I allways had something to read because it was sooooo long.I love to read teen books not old time and civil war books but this is an exeption .Although this is not my favorite book,and Scarllet is annoyiing at times I totally recommend this to anyone.But just let me tell you if you have not read this before it has a lot of ups and downs and parts where you want to say ' Scarlet you should love Melanie ,shes so sweet' and during the Whole book you'll want to say 'Ashley is not for you Rhett is!'I love this book but expect lots of sad parts.~Peace~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    a classic

    i really love these historical romances. i recommend this book to anyone who loves to read. its really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    great classic novel

    this book is very interesting, it transforms you back sixty years and into the shoes of a young girl. personally i thought scarlett was pretty ditzy in the beginning, but she got better in the end. romantic, moving, and the style is wonderful. i recommend this to people of all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Historically incorrect, yet a literary masterpiece

    I watched the movie as a little girl, but as a possible aspiring English teacher, I decided that it was time for me to peruse the pages of this critically acclaimed novel. While the novel was historically biased and slanted, the book was not written to be a documentary. Very often times people confuse films and novels to be the gospel truth and it simply is not the case. Margaret Mitchell's characters are captiviating and vibrant. The plot was equally so as it takes an incredible talent to bring a reader through the exorbitant amount of pages at such a rapid speed. And while many people have complained about the ending, and the lack of reconciliation between Rhett and Scarlett, Mitchell knew what she was doing. The whole point of the novel was to show how Scarlett evolved from a petulant and spoiled Southern belle, into a successful, driven and hardened woman. She had everything she ever wanted, with the exception of happiness and love. Really this novel's premise is not so very different. The reader is left with the knowledge that Scarlett has finally realized what she is missing in her and life and she sets out to achieve this. Finally she realizes that Ashley was nothing but an illusion and his love for her was only lust. Rhett is truly the man she holds as her ideal, only she does not realize it until she can part with her infatuataon. A novel's ending is not always a fairytale, nor should it be. I will probably read Scarlett to assess its literary value, but I think that the writing of the novel should never have taken place. Gone with the Wind is enough of a story in itself, harldy wanting for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    It Satisfies the Need of Fiction

    I'm ten years old and I have read the unabridged verson of Gone With the Wind. I liked it, but I think Ms. Mitchelle did some running on. If you want a challenge to read, this book is perfect. If you want a conclusion that relly ends the book well, put it back! The last words are: 'Tomorrow is another day!' If the ending annoys you but the story line is appealing, I suggest the sequel, Scarlett. Although it is a different author, I enjoy this book more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6