Customer Reviews for

Gone with the Wolf

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller, I was a

I absolutely loved Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller, I was addicted from the very first chapter. The descriptions of Emelia and Drake’s first encounter we’re so good I couldn’t help but smile and keep reading. Everything about Emelia screams independence and determi...
I absolutely loved Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller, I was addicted from the very first chapter. The descriptions of Emelia and Drake’s first encounter we’re so good I couldn’t help but smile and keep reading. Everything about Emelia screams independence and determination and Miller kept her true to her character throughout the entire book, not making Emelia sacrifice some key element of herself in order to catch her boss’s attention gave the story some bonus points. Even though Drake Wilder (who stole my breath from his swoon worthiness) could certainly be considered a Greek God and an alpha werewolf/CEO he changed throughout the story which only made him so much better. 
Gone with the Wolf held me captivated from the very beginning. I was absorbed into both Emelia and Drake’s lives devouring each word like it was the last with my kindle glued to my hands, heart clenching and full of anticipation until the very end. Gone with the Wolf is an easy read (I’m not saying that to knock Kristin Miller at all! I simply mean that it flows and will keep you reading) filled with exciting turn of events, amazing scenes and a flawless writing style that made the story magic. 

posted by HopeWasHere on April 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start to a new series

Gone with the Wolf, by Kristin Miller is the first novel in her new series, Seattle Wolf Pack. Free-spirited and brash bartender Emelia Hudson wants nothing more than to make her Seattle-based bar succeed. She has poured her heart, soul and bank account into it, thinkin...
Gone with the Wolf, by Kristin Miller is the first novel in her new series, Seattle Wolf Pack. Free-spirited and brash bartender Emelia Hudson wants nothing more than to make her Seattle-based bar succeed. She has poured her heart, soul and bank account into it, thinking she was the owner of the building, but she was the victim of a scam. The building belonged to the mega corporation Wilder Financial, whose CEO is alpha werewolf Drake Wilder. With a plan in her head to force a confrontation with Mr. Wilder, and win her building back, Emelia takes a temp job at the Wilder business. They meet under rather comical circumstances and the fur flies from there, because she is Drake’s Luminary, or soulmate. She’s also only human. Meanwhile Drake’s evil twin is plotting to take it all, the business, the pack and will stop at nothing to have it. Can Emelia allow herself to trust in Drake? Will Emelia live through the sibling rivalry?

Kristin Miller did a great job creating humorous situations, and some of the banter between the characters was very appealing. She even turned up the heat as the romantic tension between Drake and Emelia grew! Still, I felt I was missing something, a deep connection to the characters that made them totally likeable and believable for me! Drake, well, he was a typical over-bearing alpha, but wore his blinders too often. Talk about clueless in Seattle! As for Emelia, she was over the top, um, too blue collar, overly crass, overly snarky when it wasn’t called for, just too much for me! A reverse snob! The redeeming character for me, you ask? Logan, with only a couple of appearances, he completely held my interest! Dark, mysterious and strong, with some attitude/resentment alluded to!

This edition was provided by NetGalley and Entangled Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

posted by DiiMI on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I absolutely loved Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller, I was a

    I absolutely loved Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller, I was addicted from the very first chapter. The descriptions of Emelia and Drake’s first encounter we’re so good I couldn’t help but smile and keep reading. Everything about Emelia screams independence and determination and Miller kept her true to her character throughout the entire book, not making Emelia sacrifice some key element of herself in order to catch her boss’s attention gave the story some bonus points. Even though Drake Wilder (who stole my breath from his swoon worthiness) could certainly be considered a Greek God and an alpha werewolf/CEO he changed throughout the story which only made him so much better. 
    Gone with the Wolf held me captivated from the very beginning. I was absorbed into both Emelia and Drake’s lives devouring each word like it was the last with my kindle glued to my hands, heart clenching and full of anticipation until the very end. Gone with the Wolf is an easy read (I’m not saying that to knock Kristin Miller at all! I simply mean that it flows and will keep you reading) filled with exciting turn of events, amazing scenes and a flawless writing style that made the story magic. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    Gone with the Wolf I got this book early for an honest review. F

    Gone with the Wolf I got this book early for an honest review. First let me say that I love shifter books. It is one of my favorite in the paranormal genre, that and vampires. I also love erotic romances. This book fills both of those categories for me. I also need a HEA and I got that also. I LOVE this book!! Drake and Emie were just so HOT together. I also liked that Kristin let them build their feelings for each other before they actually had sex, meaning that it wasn't in the first couple of pages. But there was a connection in the first chapter like the description says because she is his luminary, his mate. Anyone who reads shifter books knows that they connect when they find their mate. There were times that I laughed and cried. Drake's brother Silas was just evil. Now I am not going to say anymore because that would give away the story. I think you should read this book if you like erotic, hot, Alpha werewolves and a good romance. This was part one of the Seattle pack and I am looking forward to the rest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I give Kristin Miller¿s Gone with the Wolf 4 ½ stars!! This book

    I give Kristin Miller’s Gone with the Wolf 4 ½ stars!! This book has it all from the rich, mysterious, drop-dead sexy man to the beautiful, no-nonsense, speaks her mind woman to sibling rivalry, to werewolves and fated soul mates.  Emelia and Drake captured my being and didn’t let go. You know a book is good when the characters have weaseled their way into your heart and your emotions are just as intense as theirs.




    Emelia, Drake, and Silas are realistic to their surrounding environments, making this tale involving werewolves believable. Emelia, being full of sarcasm and wit from working tooth and nail to keep her bar from crumbling, Drake being full of logic and reasoning from hundreds of years in the business world and numbers and investments, yet having to deal with new feelings that consume him, and Silas being full of contempt, dripping with hatred from not having what is “rightfully” his from the moment his father died.
    The reason I didn’t give it 5 stars? Only because I would have personally liked a more in depth turning point at the climax of the story.




    Kristin Miller’s use of language is phenomenal throughout the entire book! Not repetitive, finding new words and phrases to draw you in to each scene, emotion, conflict, and character. Her writing gives the book the perfect amount of personality and flare.




    Kristin, Thank You! for this wonderful story and the characters that will now reside in my heart, joining the other characters from my other favorite books. I received an ARC for my honest review, and this is my honest to goodness, straight from the heart review!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Sexy fun romp!  There is something fun about romances that i

    Sexy fun romp! 




    There is something fun about romances that involve humans that can change into animals! I really liked this one… Truly there isn't a lot to say about it other than that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    **I received a copy of this book for an honest review** I loved


    **I received a copy of this book for an honest review**
    I loved it! I would have finished it in one sitting, but with things like kids that’s always unlikely lol however, I was able to finish it the day I started it. 
    Emelia has a personal vendetta against the evil and conniving CEO of Wilder Financial so she starts working at the firm so she can confront the man that she believes to be an evil, money and power hungry, scoundrel. When she finally is able to meet and confront him though, the man she believes he is, is so contradictory to the man she comes to know. Drake, which I couldn’t help but picture Joe Maganiello the ENTIRE time I was reading this lol, is a smart, sexy, Alpha business man who finally finds his true mate, but when his twin gets wind of what’s happening, he tries to prevent it at costs.
    Emelia and Drake couldn’t be any more opposite, she’s an on whim does and says whatever she wants kind of woman. While Drake is a strategic, logical, and  plans out everything kind of man. The fact that he is a super sexy hot Alpha werewolf is a HUGE plus lol, at least for me. But like I always say, opposites attract, I always love reading stories and seeing people in RL who are nothing like each other, but can get along and have a connection like no other and when the sex is hot, that’s just the huge cherry on top of the awesome pie. Gone with the Wolf was a great read, it had everything I love in the story, hot steamy sex, some action, and romance. I definitely recommend it, and this is actually my first Kristin Miller read so I will definitely be adding her books to my growing by the minute TBR lol. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Take one Alpha male werewolf toss in a free-spirited bartender m

    Take one Alpha male werewolf toss in a free-spirited bartender mix in some attraction and chemistry add a side of disgruntled sibling and you have one great story with Gone with the Wolf.




    Drake is hot, sexy and smart but he has this thing about control. Emelia is the perfect blend of spunk, independence and softness. I think it's great how Emelia stands up to him about what is important to her...no swooning heroine here. Also important is how Drake doesn't treat her like a mindless female. Despite Drake being an Alpha he didn't have this pretense of chest thumping "Me Tarzan, you Jane" attitude. Drake was masculine with the "Mine" but still respectful to her decisions. They are two characters that are a perfect balance for each other. BTW...is it wrong of me to think it's funny Drake didn't get Emelia's slang? In all honesty, Drake reaction and not getting Emelia's sarcasm is exactly what I expect of someone that has a few centuries under the belt, but it's still funny.




    You know what I really liked about this book? Despite the hot sexual content, the Drake and Emelia waited to have sex. No hopping into the sack in the first two chapters. There is an actual getting to know each other development between the two characters that I find refreshing. ***Little SPOILER alert! Even though the title of the book is Gone with the Wolf, I think author Kristin Miller made an excellent choice in having them watch Sabrina. One of my favorite movies and a great double meaning tie in (Read the book to find out why!). Okay, done with my spoiler***




    I will admit I particularly didn't care for the book cover. I would have given this book a 4-star rating if it wasn't for the cover. Drake and Emelia are two strong characters and the cover seems a bit...soft. Don't get me wrong, it's a great cover just not necessarily a great representation of this story. It conveyed a different storyline than what I expected and since to me a book is the whole package, I can only give it 3-stars.




    Cover aside, Gone with the Wolf is a fast paced, easy read full of twist and turns that will keep the reader pleasantly surprised. An all-around great book to past the afternoon away with.




    I received this book from JeepDiva in exchange for my honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    This is my first read from Kristin Miller and I am so glad I fo

    This is my first read from Kristin Miller and I am so glad I found her. This is the first book in her Seattle Wolf Series and I will be making sure that I keep an eye out for the next book so I can follow Drake and Emelia on this journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Flew through this book at record speed. Super fun, fast-paced, a

    Flew through this book at record speed. Super fun, fast-paced, and sexy. Emelia's a spirited, care-free, witty, strong heroine and I couldn't wait for her to get her man. What can I say about Drake? Hot, wild, and alpha...but nothing Emelia couldn't handle. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a new series

    Gone with the Wolf, by Kristin Miller is the first novel in her new series, Seattle Wolf Pack. Free-spirited and brash bartender Emelia Hudson wants nothing more than to make her Seattle-based bar succeed. She has poured her heart, soul and bank account into it, thinking she was the owner of the building, but she was the victim of a scam. The building belonged to the mega corporation Wilder Financial, whose CEO is alpha werewolf Drake Wilder. With a plan in her head to force a confrontation with Mr. Wilder, and win her building back, Emelia takes a temp job at the Wilder business. They meet under rather comical circumstances and the fur flies from there, because she is Drake’s Luminary, or soulmate. She’s also only human. Meanwhile Drake’s evil twin is plotting to take it all, the business, the pack and will stop at nothing to have it. Can Emelia allow herself to trust in Drake? Will Emelia live through the sibling rivalry?

    Kristin Miller did a great job creating humorous situations, and some of the banter between the characters was very appealing. She even turned up the heat as the romantic tension between Drake and Emelia grew! Still, I felt I was missing something, a deep connection to the characters that made them totally likeable and believable for me! Drake, well, he was a typical over-bearing alpha, but wore his blinders too often. Talk about clueless in Seattle! As for Emelia, she was over the top, um, too blue collar, overly crass, overly snarky when it wasn’t called for, just too much for me! A reverse snob! The redeeming character for me, you ask? Logan, with only a couple of appearances, he completely held my interest! Dark, mysterious and strong, with some attitude/resentment alluded to!

    This edition was provided by NetGalley and Entangled Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller is a scorching fun paranorm

    Gone With the Wolf by Kristin Miller is a scorching fun paranormal read. Emelia and Drake burn right off of the page with their heat.
    Emelia takes a temp job at Drake’s company after finding out that his company bought the building her bar, the Knight Owl, resides in after she had already purchased the building. Until she  can get to meet with him, she tries her best to undermine him but what she didn’t count on was the sizzling attraction they share upon meeting.
    Werewolf Drake is stunned to discover his Luminary  hiding out in his wine cellar during a company Halloween party. In addition to the addictive pull he feels toward Emelia, he can only become the ruler of his pack if he bonds with his Luminary. The alternative is horrifying for control of the pack would go to his insane twin brother Silas.
    The conflicts are believable as they work through Emelia’s stubbornness, a lie Drake’s father told him and the ever present violent threat that Silas represents. Gone With the Wolf came to a satisfying conclusion with a well-matched couple declaring their love for one another.
    I received this ARC in exchange for an honest  review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Great story

    Great story, fast paced with both fun and suspense. I enjoyed it so much I ordered book two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Emh

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I still search

    I will find my wolf with amber eyes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    T.N.E

    Waits(post!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Wolf

    He pads in and sits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    new series

    I enjoyed this book, read it in one day it was a fun read and I laughed out loud a few times good werewolf story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    You got to read this book!!

    A bang from start to finish. I have never read this author before. I am now putting her down as one of my favroites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book made me laugh and cry but in a good way. I loved this

    This book made me laugh and cry but in a good way. I loved this book! I read it straight through without stopping!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Good 1st bk to start a series.

    Good character development. Started great, got a little so so but ended great. This is the first book from this author. Depending on who bk2 is I would follow this series. But I doubt I'd start a diff series. I'd like to see Trixie have a wolf find her. She was great. Or maybe Logan. They would be good together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Gone with the Wolf is the story of CEO Drake Wilder who moonligh

    Gone with the Wolf is the story of CEO Drake Wilder who moonlights as a 300 year old Alpha werewolf and feisty bar owner, Emelia Hudson. Drake had given up the search for his perfect match until he met Emelia. For her part, Emelia is only working as Drake's secretary to figure out how his company claims to have bought her bar. Neither of them expected to find love and to further complicate matters, Drake's brother is out to keep the two apart & Drake from inheriting his father's pack. 
    I truly enjoyed Gone with the Wolf, it was a fast paced, deftly plotted novel and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a great paranormal romance.  
    Note: I received my e-book copy from Entangled with the promise for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3