Customer Reviews for

Gonzo: The Life of Hunter S. Thompson

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Hst book review

    Big fan if hst and have read all his books. If you like this check out ancient gonzo wisdom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Superior reading for lovers of offbeat personalities!

    Nothing gives you a more well rounded perspective of an individual more than the people who dealt with them on a constant personal basis. This book is chalk full of stories and antidotes by those who loved, admired and were exasperated by Hunter Thompson. My only complaint is that the book ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    His was Stream of Consciousness

    Decent fare, Gonzo was a mainstay for me in college inn the early 70's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    "One hell of a trip!"

    I was pleasantly surprised to find this book on the bargain rack for 8 dollars at my local B&N store. I couldn't believe it! Hard cover! What a find.
    I had previously read/watched/enjoyed thoroughly Fear and Loathing and the Interviews book that I can't seem to remember the name of right now. Just recently I've started to delve into the magical, wisdom encrusted words of Hunter S. Thompson and he never fails to grab me by the proverbial balls.
    In all honesty when I read the introduction penned by Depp I was almost moved to tears. I'm almost ashamed to admit it. That's not coming from someone who is easily sapped. Nor is that coming from someone who praises/worships Depp any time I can because he's some hotshot, good looking Hollywood actor. The guy can write. He dug deep and spewed his guts onto the page. A few people involved in this book did.
    Right off the bat you can tell the kind of remarkable impact Mr. Thompson had on those around him. The personal, uncensored accounts of his life really piece together his personality and nature, I felt like I sat with him BSing for hours by the end of the book. The writing was very vivid and detailed. Only furthered is my admiration and understanding of Gonzo journalism and the monster behind it. In my eyes he can really do no wrong. Sure he has his faults and made mistakes but after all, he's only a human.
    Gonzo did a great job of making Mr. Thompson relatable and in turn extremely inspirational. Maybe it isn't completely impossible obtaining what you really want out of life. Mr. Thompson fulfilled his dreams while being uncompromising, truthful and at times completely nuts. The man had audacity of sharp steel and broken glass. I could go on for hours but I won't.
    I agree with many reviewers here that Jann Wenner came off as bitter and even judgmental. As if the score was never really settled between him and Mr. Thompson. Sure this book is supposed to offer you a view of every aspect including the damning but Wenner took that ball and ran with it. I think he was milking for reaction/money at times. But if you take a look at what Rolling Stone magazine has become you can't blame Wenner for being a little frustrated and resentful. Maybe Mr. Thompson's career is a source of envy for him.
    At any rate, pick this book up. I couldn't put the book down and spent many a late night reading only to wake up early and drag my ass to work. Well worth it though.
    Long live the words of Hunter S. Thompson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2