Customer Reviews for

Goodbye MR Chips

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Goodbye, Mr. Chips

    I thought Goodbye, Mr. Chips was a very well-written novel. It is not meant to be exciting or fast-paced, and focuses only on Mr. Chips' memories, but it allows the reader an emotional connection to Mr. Chips. I agree that it's a bit like The Dead Poet Society, but it also reminded me of Tuesdays with Morrie and A Separate Peace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    outstanding and very heartfelt

    This book is a wounderful book. It's very well writen in many ways. I found this book to be Inspiring. Mr. chips lost his wife and child and still found that he was not going to give up on his teaching. Loved it. Excellent and Magnificent and very well done. Anyone would love this book and they will find they loved it to. You got to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Not Recommended

    I expected a full book not a 40 page summary.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    So VERY good

    This book was made into a terrific movie in 1939, with the late great Robert Donat playing Chips, and is a delightful book to read. Some might think it's slow, but it's not. Granted the earlier movie version expanded upon this book, but it's just nice to read it.

    Oh, please, skip the AWFUL musical version that came out in the late 1960's. It did NOT do the book justice, and Mr. Hilton must spin in his grave everytime it's shown anywhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    How is this a classic?

    I don't understand how this book became a classic. It has no plot, the story is extended through hours of pointless details, and no matter how long you keep waiting, nothing interesting ever happens. The only good thing that the author does is explain the character thoroughly, but that's not all that hard when you have 100 pages to do it. The book takes place in London, England for about 73 years as it follows Mr. Chip's life. Mr. Chip's life however, is extremely boring and extremely long. It was written decently but there was an awful plot and a very low entertainment level. I hope to never read another book like this again. If i were to sum this whole book up in just one sentence it would be the following. Well written, but the author has no apparent reason to be writing it and the plot (if you can find one) just spins in circles. Boring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    Goodbye, Mr. Chips

    Goodbye, Mr. Chips BantamStarfire,1983,115pages, $0.20 James Hilton ISBN 0553273273213 It is not surprising that Mr. Chips, a teacher, is the main character of this book. As time goes on he becomes more amusing; however, throughout the book he has problems. Fortunately, Mr. Chips always thinks of a way to solve his problems. The person who changes Mr. Chip¿s life is Katherine, his wife. She makes his life easier for him by bringing more humor into his life. This book is funny, adventurous, and even though it is such an old book, it keeps you going. My favorite chapter in the book is the chapter with Ralston. Some parts of the book are hard to understand, but, if you are a really good reader, I would recommend this book to sixth graders and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Loved it!

    Good-bye Mr. Chips is a good book about a man reliving his life. It reminds me of The Dead Poet Society. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Very sweet book

    I found the book though slow paced, very beautiful. Very simply it describes the story. But if you think over it, it just shows the greatness simplicity has..Beautiful is the apt word to describe it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    Heartwarming story

    If you're tired of a fast-paced, me first world, take an afternoon off with Mr. Chips and the other characters of this story. If you've come to a place in life where you can appreciate life's joys and treasure them, you'll love this book. Even if you haven't traveled the path of life very long, you can still enjoy the book if you let it show you how to value life's joys and live well, as a person of character and generosity, while you are still young. Also, I recommend the film of this novel starring Greer Garson and Robert Donat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    an okay book

    Good-bye Mr. Chips was o.k. It wasn't very interesting, and all it talked about was this teacher and his life living at an all boys school. A child might like it, but it is not for high school kids or older.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    This book was great!

    I liked this book because it has a lot of surprises. If you like adventure stories, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Beautiful Novel

    This was one of the best books I have read over the summer. It takes us back to the school days. Mr. Chips was an interesting character in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Very Slow

    This book was very boring to me. Its about an old man that used to teach school and has memories of his school teaching. Its supposed to be funny I think. I like books that have more action. The reason I read it was for a book report.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2000

    If You Can't Beat Them, Join Them, or READ THIS BOOK!

    A great novel that takes you back to the turning of the century. In this fun-filled, romantic, and enjoyable novel, you will find yourself unable to stop. Read this book for a report or for pleasure. You'll be glad-umph-that you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    Bitt

    This book was so boring that it took me ten days to read. I mean talk about boring! This book was so boring that when I had trouble sleeping i just started reading this to put me to sleep! I swear I was asleep in 2 min. flat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    A Splendid and Heart Warming Classic

    This classic novel, penned by the incomparable James Hilton, takes the reader back to a simpler time. The story of Mr. Chips is a pleasant and most enjoyable experience. Truly, this will touch the heart of every reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1